2008 Mazda CX-9

Change Vehicle

2008 Mazda CX-9

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2008 Mazda CX-9 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$10,818–$19,770

Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 21–22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Best car I ever owed!

by Formeracuralover from Seattle, WA | May 28, 2012

There isn't one thing I'd change about this car. It's the perfect size, inside and out, good value, good quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


so far so good

by Mazdamom from westchester, ny | February 22, 2012

I purchased a used Mazda CX9 with just over 40,000 miles. So far so good. Nice features and drives very smoothly. Very easy to transition from regular car to this sized vehicle. Also the 4 wheel drive has done pretty well in the snow. Lots of room as expected. Also, as expected, gas mileage is not so great (but none of these cars are good on mileage).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Plenty of room for the family

by Grandma's Taxi from Central Florida | January 24, 2012

Purchased vehicle to seat at least 7 people...5 kids, 6 grandkids and the family is still growing. Not interested in minivan, wanted an SUV. CX-9 was great value for the money. Ranked well in various consumer magazines. Gas mileage is good. Plenty of room and loved the heated seats on cold winter nights. Overall, very satisfied with our choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I love my CX9!

by Becky from Vermont | November 28, 2011

This was such a sporty step up from my mini van and I can still seat 7 passangers. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2008 CX9

by Jerry from denver, co | October 24, 2011

just purchased the Grand Touring model. This car is very nice to drive, heated seats, bose sound, 20" wheels and pretty quick. shop around to get a good price and low miles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Alternative to a minivan

by Nominivan Mom from TN | August 24, 2011

I love my Mazda CX9- I wanted a 3rd seat car with good gas milage that was roomy but not huge. The CX9 is perfect, the 3rd seat is very roomy and easily accesible and also easy to put up or down as needed. (one hand to pull up or put down 3rd row seats). Also- 3rd row seats fold completely flat so tons of room when they are down, and a good amount when they are up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Ties with Accord as most favorite car owned

by Directpb from Dallas, tx | July 14, 2011

Love this car! I have had it for 6 months and there is NO buyers remorse at all. Still excited that I get to drive it. Was looking at Acadia, Enclave and Traverse. It just drove the best of all those choices and had the biggest bang for the buck! Lots of nice extras. We call it Zoom Zoom because it is very responsive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very Sporty 3-Row SUV

by Richmond Car Lover from Richmond | January 18, 2011

We bought our 2008 Mazda CX-9 new in Dec. 2007. My wife loved her Lexus RX330, but wanted a 3-row SUV and did NOT a minivan. She insisted on leather, navigation and an automatic rear-door. The CX-9 had everything she wanted in the Grand Touring trim level plus keyless entry, Sirius Radio and we added DVD players in the headrests. It compared feature-wise to much more expensive Lexus & Mercedes models. After owning it for 3+ years I can tell you this is one great SUV. It handles like a sports car and the transmission always seems to find the right gear. In our Lexus we used to have to downshift with the +/- shifter in order to pass people on the highway. In fact be careful you don't get speeding tickets because you don't feel how fast you're really going. It could benefit from better cup holders and door storage and the gas mileage is worse than its competitors (we average 18 mpg in the city), but overall it's a great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


CX-9 Greatness

by Very very picky car owner from Mansfield, TX | March 25, 2010

I have to say without a doubt the best crossover SUV out there for the price and quality you receive from the vehicle. I have three kids and they love this car. My daughter love climbing into the the 3 row seating and hooking up there Nintendo DS systems to the AC power unit and they say sitting back there is like camping out because it's their own space back there with everythign the need. They can still use the headphones to watch the DVD overhead. The SUV has alot of power in the engine, it gets up and goes and sounds so smooth inside the car when driving around. I bought mine as a 2008 model Grand Touring in WHITE, no other color would do. With the white exterior and black accent from the trim and 20" tires, what a great looking car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2008 Mazda CX9

by Silk from Chicago area | February 3, 2010

We dorve over 20,000 miles in the first twelve months. No major problems. It is everything we read about. My only complaints are cheap carpeting, cheap plastics on the door handles & console (scratched easily, but were replace at no charge), no MPG monitor, only one seat heater setting, poor mileage, navigation not great compared to Honda and screen hard to read at times. Have received many compliments on exterior & interior. My wife says very easy to drive compared to Enclave she tested. All-wheel-drive is awesome, although 2009 & 2010 performance tires not as good as 2008 (per friends). Blind spot monitoring worth every penny.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Mazda CX-9.


Featured Services for this Mazda CX-9

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.