2012 Mazda CX-9

Change Vehicle

2012 Mazda CX-9

Available in 6 styles:  2012 Mazda CX-9 4dr FWD shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$22,800–$27,400

Est. MPG

16–17 city / 22–24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

excellent SUV

by car enthusiast from vancouver, canada | November 13, 2013

i have had a BMW X3 and BMW X5. the X3 was more reliable than the X5 which needed front end suspension, tie rods, bushing by 150,000km and several sets of brake pads by 200,000km. bought a Mazda CX9 18 months ago and have clocked 70,000km(42,000m). travelling Canada to southern California twice a year , around Pacific Northwest and west Canada. this car is extremely comfortable for long rides. never gets tired. comfortable seats. suspension is outstanding for a large SUV. no bouncing because long wheel base, absorbs road imperfection good, corners well for such a large heavy SUV. mazda did great work on suspension. mechanically sounds , absolutely no problems. reported problems with differential and transfer case. i am not an engineer, but i believe the oil used by Mazda is not good enough, it changes viscosity, composition and transfer case and differential starts to heat up. i have ask Mazda to change all differential and transfer case oil at 40,000km(24,000m) and i will continue to do it every 40,000km. gas mileage is poor, not better than 22mpg on highways , sometimes 24-25 with flat highways but as soon as going up or loaded, down to 18-20mpg. not the best. engine is powerful enough for anything needed and yes, the transmission gears down to 4th going down hip or slowing down but it is fairly smooth and does not disturb my driving. interior components, plastic and other materials have stand good for now, no strange noise, no need to replace or adjust anything. exterior is great, standing sand, dust, snow and salt on highways. do not have the navigation system so cannot have any complain. bluetooth works good but not perfect. the original tires are mediocre so i put Michelin Lattitude and are only 70% used after 70,000km. excellent in rain and good in snow. overall, it is an excellent big SUV rate at 4.5

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Loudest Car I've Ever Owned!

by Spot Dog Cam from Atlanta, GA | April 24, 2013

The car was so loud, we took it in to see what was the matter! The mechanic said he'd heard several complaints about the cabin noise and that was just par for the course with the CX9. The suspension is terrible too. People in the back seat are thrown into each other just by taking a slow turn. And don't even think about writing or reading if you're prone to motion sickness - the passengers feel almost correction made by the driver. If you test drive one, you will want to take it on a rough road, a curvy road and the highway to make sure you don't have a loud one. My friend owns one that's not loud at all...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


MAZDA CX -9 GRAND TOURING

by SKYLINER from Reading, MA> | March 10, 2013

Resaearch suvs over a one year period. A great value for the investment. Pro: Techical features, comfort, bose stereo, lift gate, etc. Fit and finish. Overall quality. Con: Punishing ride with 20 " wheels. ( GT not available with 18". ) Gas mileage: 19 highway. Not acceptable in today's world. Bought new in January. 3000 miles. Was told would improve. Doubtful. Don't think I'll be owning long term

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Worse SUV I have owned

by CX9 from Lubbock, TX | February 13, 2013

CX9 drive is BAD. Wind noise is extremely BAD Suspension is HORRIBLE. I would not recommend this SUV to anyone. Gas mileage is not any good for an SUV this size.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Ok but not good

by CX9 Owner from Houston, TX | December 19, 2012

I bought CX-9 last week. Good and comfortable in on drivers seat but noisy cabin. You can hear engine and tire noise more then Honda Pilot or Toyota Highlander. Dust also pass through the filter whenever I am passing through construction site. Not gas friendly car, giving 12-15 mpg city mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great purchase for a family of five.

by Awesome from | September 28, 2012

I had a mazda mpv for 9 years and I was ready to move away from the minivan style. But, I was nervous to lose such great space. The Mazda CX9 is a great replacement.... we love the style and the performance!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car I have ever owned!!

by damesmeg from Walnut Creek, California | July 5, 2012

Recently traded in our 2010 Mazda cx7 for the larger cx9 due to our growing family. At first my wife argued that we did'nt need a bigger car but after 2 months of ownership she is loving all the extra space in the rear for strollers, shopping etc. I love driving the car when I get the chance! it really is a drivers car, holds the road well & very comfortable whether you are just going to the shops or taking the windy road to Glacier Point in Yosemite! Love the understated looks of the exterior, very stylish but not too flashy. Only draw back I can find is gas mileage, in this age of $4 plus a gallon of fuel it hurts a bit filling up but hey thats the price you pay for nearly 280bhp!! This is our 3rd Mazda in 5 years! started with MX5, CX7 & now CX9!! loving the Mazda brand for great drivers cars, good value for money and excellent customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BEST SUV

by Peter from justice,il | July 4, 2012

2010 Awd Grand Tuoring My mpg: city 15-17 hwy ~20 So for that heavy, powerful, awd, car its not bad. Lot of space inside, very nice ride, never have problem witch it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great all around, very BAD MPG

by Movado from Pembroke Pines, FL | May 21, 2012

I bot the CX-9 Grand Touring Trim model and the family loves it but Mazda advertizes the gas mileage as 24 highway 17 city but it is REALLY 17 highway and 13-14 city. It's a shame how automobile companys STILL get away with unrealistic calculations of MPG very year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very comfortable, good handling, BAD MPGs

by Family car needed from Boston , MA | April 24, 2012

This SUV is comfortable and handles well. I love the seat, stereo, way it drives. However it is delivering 13.5pg with mostly around the town driving (I generally drive it without gunning or sudden stops). It gets maybe 17 mpgs on the highway. This would not bother me as much if it was not far below the reported 16-22 it is supposed to get per Mazda. We have put about 1500 miles on the car do far in 2 months of driving. Rear seats are easy to put up and down but easier acces might be nice- say a removable middle seat in the second row allowing pass through. The doors for the second row are also long and very heavy meaning my kids have trouble opening and closing them without assistance and the doors are so long it makes getting out of the back seat in a parking lot quite a challenge without hitting the car beside you. All in all a lot funner to drive than a minivan but not sure it meets the needs of my family. Not sure about reliability yet- no problems so far but it's only been 2 months.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Mazda CX-9.


Featured Services for this Mazda CX-9

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.