2011 Mazda Mazda2

Change Vehicle
2011 Mazda Mazda2
Available in 2 styles:  2011 Mazda Mazda2 4dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$5,864–$11,524
Estimated MPG

29 city / 35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

22 out of 24 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 24 reviews

I Hate This Car

by APersonWhoMissesCivicHatchback from Los Angeles, CA | April 16, 2016

I bought this car brand new in the fall of 2010 right after it came available on the market. I have driven it just over 86,000 miles. I previously owned a 2000 Honda Civic hatchback that was totaled in an accident. I needed a new, low-priced, Japanese-made car and this was the best there was for the price. So, why do I hate it? It gets poor gas mileage; I usually average 25 MPG doing short distance freeway travel with some street mixed in. It does a lot better over long distances- close to 35 MPG. Mine has had a lot of problems. The entire front steering rack was replaced under warranty due to clunking noise and thunking in the steering wheel when turning. The problem came back almost immediately. There's burning rubber smell coming from under the hood that no one can find the source of. It's also had three oil leaks. I think the engine sounds terrible (very tinny) compared to my Honda. Also, the OEM parts are all cheaply made and wear out very fast. I put ONE set of brake pads on my Civic over 148,000 miles while this one needed new ones at 60,000. Well before I replaced them, there was a warped, wobbly feeling whenever I had to brake suddenly. I also never needed shocks/struts for my Civic. This one needed them at 85,000. It's also very slow to respond when accelerating suddenly. It is a much heavier car and I am sure much safer than my Civic. It's never abandoned me anywhere and I did pay an excellent price for it. I will drive it until something very serious happens to it because I don't want a car payment, but this will be my last Mazda. I'm going back to Honda after this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Love the MPG

by John - Ontario from Toronto, Canada | November 23, 2015

I have had this car for 4 years and average 5.6l/100km (or 42 mpg US) with the 5-speed. I drive some city but mostly stop and go on the highway. The mileage is poor if I drive more than 60mph but I don't usually and it is above 50 mpg US at 50mph. I love the light feel and performance is good enough. It heats up quick in the winter. With snow tires on the traction is pretty good for a light car. Drawbacks? The clutch is a bit tempermental and I have stalled a few time if I don't pay attention.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


disappointed with MPG

by lucnova from Ketchum,ID | January 2, 2015

I have been driving my little zoomie little over 1 month. Bought it just at the beginning of winter. The car handles OK (not great) in the snow, but that was to be expected as it is not built for snowdrive. What was the biggest disappointment though is the gas milage. Sticker says 27 in the city 33 on the highway. I am not getting anywhere near. I average 26 (combine city/highway) on my first tank and about 24-25 (mostly city) on my second tank. I have to fill every 200 miles. As gas mileage was my No. 1 criteria for the car this is a deal breaker and I might trade it in sooner than I intend to. I wanted to love it...it is comfortable, simple, has everything I would need, but with this gas milage I could have gotten small SUV :(.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Average Mini

by Shakoor from Lethbridge AB | October 3, 2014

I picked this car up for cheap and been driving it for a few weeks now. I would say its an average vehicle to get from A to B. The pros include good gas mileage and price. Handling is ok but not what I'm used to considering I use to own a 2006 Mazda3 GS luxury package with aftermarket KYB struts/shocks which are night and day difference from OEM garbage. Also the sport model seems basic without cruise, fog lights, ambient temp/trip comp., audio controls on steering wheel, rain sensing wipers, auto lights, nicer seat fabric ( I had leather in my 3), not to mention sunroof which isn't available as an option. However, power windows, mirrors, locks and a/c are nice features considering its a base model. Overall I got a screaming deal for a practically new car. Not complaining its doing its job perfectly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great little car

by Mazda Fan! from Des Moines, IA | November 17, 2012

I've had my Mazda 2 for almost two years now. I've always liked Mazdas (I had an '04 Mazda3 before this) because they're fun cars. Yes, the Mazda2 doesn't have a lot of power, but it is very nimble and fun to toss around corners. It does keep up with (or pass) other cars if you're willing to wring everything out of the tiny motor. I'm a big guy (6' 250 lbs), but am very comfortable in this car. I added an after-market Mazda center armrest (not an option on my car) and that increased the comfort. I find that the armrest and window sill are at the perfect height and allow me to sit very comfortably. The interior is very sparse, but functional. You have everything you need w/o a lot of things that can break. I wouldn't recommend this car for holding four (and definitely not five) people on a regular basis, but it is possible. I once had two kids in car seats and an adult in the back along with me and a front seat passenger. I had the steering wheel in my chest, but luckily, it was just for a short while and we made it. If you're looking for a fun little economical car, I'd really recommend the Mazda2 (:

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


very cute ar

by mazda man from minneapolis mn | February 26, 2012

My wife and I test drove a mazda 2 one Saturday and were more impressed with it then the Honda Fit. I'm an Audio Recording Engineer and engine and road noise are something I really notice. The Fit was very responsive but also very buzzy and not what I expected. The Mazda 2 was a bit quieter and the engine not as noisy. It's hard to find a quiet car in the small size market but the mazda wins out by maybe 30%. Very cute in the Bright dragonfly green color.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best and safest car I owned...

by Happiest Car Alive from Dayton, OHIO | February 5, 2012

I bought my car on 3 December 2011. It zoom zoomed everywhere I could go. Gas mileage was just was close to 37MPG on my first 4 tanks of gas! My insurance went DOWN by $20/mo for adding this to our policy. After about 6 months of data collecting this car came out as the least expensive commuter car I could find (cost, maintenance, up keep, fuel, gas, insurance). We have another Mazda - for 7 years now - with no issues, so I felt the MAZDA-2 came from a good pedigree. Fun to drive, responsive - awesome practical commuter car. The 4 cylinder made seemed to wine at higher highway speeds - but the radio automatically can adjust the volume to over come. Other cars will beat you off the line - but if you want to drag race - you probably are not gonna get a car with this kind of gas mileage. Sadly on 17 Jan 2012 I totaled my little car. All 6 airbags went off - when the car collided with a Chevy Equinox. The Chevy was totaled as well. To go up against a mid sized SUV and me able to walk away with a scabbed up knee - tells accolades about the safety engineering that must have gone into this car! Got my insurance check and already looking to buy another. Knowing a head on collision, and I can walk away - there is no price for that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I Love This Little Car

by Mazda Lover from Western NY | December 13, 2011

We bought our Mazda2 in October after owning a 1999 Mazda 626 LX. The Mazda2 is a great little car. I have to admit I do miss some of the "luxury" of the larger Mazda, but for the price, it's a great little car. Gas mileage is excellent; about 30 mpg running around to do errands. I wish it were slightly bigger (not much back seat room), and that it had cruise control, but on a fixed income, we did the best we were able. For us it HAS to be a Mazda!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


FUN, FUN, FUN to drive

by Mazda Lover from Richmond, VA | November 26, 2011

I'm a 63 year old male and went from a 1992 Mazda MX3 to a new Mazda2 and like the 2 better. Was going to get the automatic because of my age but decided I was old not dead and I'm glad I do. Love going through the gears and find that 100 hp and gear ratio gets the car up to 60 in a flash and have no problem on the highway. Can't imagine having an automatic. I bought the Sport and the only negative I find is it doesn't have cruise control. Don't understand why Mazda isn't advertising it on TV. For the price I think it beats all the other subcompact cars out there. It's my third Mazda. Had a Mazda MX6 also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Just got it, but impressed

by beetleboy from Toronto, Canada | November 15, 2011

I chose the 2 after owning a 1998 New Beetle for 13 years and test driving the Fiesta, Veloster and 500. Picked up the car last week and have been using it primarily for highway commuting and running errands. I have been very satisfied with my choice thus far. A short test drive only does so much, so real world use has been a pleasant experience. The car has plenty of acceleration for getting around. I have had no trouble keeping up with either street or highway traffic. The sound dampening very good. The car is poised and stable up to the 75mph I have been cruising at. So far the only issue has been with some vibration experienced while braking. Will be going back to the dealer to have inspected/corrected. I'll update again after more time with the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 24 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda Mazda2

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.