2007 Mazda Mazda3

Change Vehicle
2007 Mazda Mazda3
Available in 8 styles:  2007 Mazda Mazda3 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,574–$12,318
Estimated MPG

26–28 city / 33–35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

40 out of 46 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 46 reviews

Reliable, fun, fast

by Doug from California | September 1, 2014

I bought my 2007 Mazda3 2.3 Hatchback new. It has 106,000 miles on it. I have never replaced the clutch, and it feels like it will go another 100K miles. I get 27 mpg average, and on the freeway, if I work for it, I can get 35 mpg. It is a manual; I usually accelerate slowly until I get up to 3000 rpm. I shift as smoothly as possible. I get all fluids replaced ( and then some ) on schedule. I live on the coast in Calif, so no snow, ice, low temperature, nor salt problems. The paint is as good as new. I have had a wheel bearing problem (one). No fluid leaks. Had the timing belt replaced on schedule. It accelerates like a snail until 3000 rpm, and then the car comes alive. I figure keeping it below 3000 as much as possible, without lugging it, will give it a longer life span. Maybe $3000 in actual repair since 2007. The interior looks brand new; no faded colors; no wear nor tear in the seats. I love my car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


High milage High prices.

by oulaf from Atlanta | February 23, 2014

Most of the cars on this dealership are 150k+ miles, and charge over price, his price tags are totally not negotiable, not really friendly behaviour, would not recommend it, also he owns a workshop right next to his dealership where he polish the cars to deceive the customers as the cars are in good shape, yeh for now, wait till couple month you buy it and it starts showing issues .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


First Year First Car Owned

by Chef Tucker from North Vancouver, BC, Canada | August 2, 2013

Coming up to my first car's one year ownership, gas mileage is amazing, driven over 500k on a tank of gas. This vehicle seems light compared to the engine which has some muscle behind and i love to drive to and from work, I just updated the cd player so i can use my usb sticks and ipod to play my mp3 collection. Road handling is amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


a step up from corolla/civic

by I love rice from Frederick, MD | July 10, 2013

Mazda seems to include more features than your standard econobox. For example, 4-wheel disk brakes, much nicer radio with steering wheel controls. Seats are more comfortable, and it drives nicer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


trouble after 3 weeks

by Elle from Southern CT | April 7, 2013

I bought this "mint condition" 2007 Mazda3 s GT 2.3L 5-speed automatic (with manual shift as well). After 3 weeks of driving this car, it kept jerking me into 3rd gear at 70mph on the highway. Turned out it needed a new turbine sensor control, a new engine mount, and a new transmission control module, all totaling l of $1487 in repairs, just 3 weeks after purchase. The car now runs great and has great performance, but I am finding it literally sucks down the gasoline. I appear to have an 11.5 gallon tank and get only about 230-250 miles per tank. Seems like I live at the gas station. Once I got all these repairs, I love the car but wish the gas mileage was better (way better) and hope I don;t have to put any more money into my so-called "mint condition" car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


5th Mazda I have owned for great reasons

by Mazda 3 S 2.3L 4 door from Raleigh, NC | December 19, 2011

Great on gas, stylish, modern, fun to drive, smooth transmission, quiet motor, dependable, reliable, attractive looking car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2007 Mazda 3 GT breaks

by Adam from Rocky hill ct | December 16, 2011

I bought a 2007 Mazda 3 brand new in 07 and loved it for the first 36kmiles. Then the clutch blew at 36100 miles when the warrantee ended. I was driving it normally, and not abusing it. I did regular maintenance on it. After the clutch it still drove great, but was absolutely horrendous in the snow. At 64k the connecting rod in the engine let go and forced me to replace the entire engine. Again, I did not abuse this car and did regular maintanance on it. Shortly after that, the starter blew. And to top it all off, the 5spd trans blew 3000 miles after I replaced the engine. I would say that the suspension sort of loosened up and was sloppy after about 40k, even with scheduled maintainance. I might say I had a lemon, but I think it's just really poor quality, the reason why it only has a 36k mile warrantee. For the amount of money in repairs I spent, I could have bought a better vehicle. I just traded it in yesterday for a 2009 Subaru legacy, and what a difference, I was just stupid not to buy a Subaru before. I will never buy another Mazda, or a ford for that matter after my experience. I will never recommend a Mazda to anyone. My girlfriend has a 04 Mazda 3 and even she has high maintainance. This car is just not worth the money and is not reliable. If you still buy this car you should start saving up for repairs and make sure you have another means of getting to work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


fun to drive

by nan1960 from rochester ny | December 2, 2011

fun to drive, sport car handling, nice interior and decent mpg (26) local driving, cons, eats tires and too much road noise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sporty and Reliable

by Chris from Washington, DC | November 14, 2011

This car is so much fun that when it was time to trade it I decided to purchase a 2010 model. Unmatched equipment levels for a compact and fun to drive factor cemented my reasons for sticking with the Mazda3.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not a bad car

by BobbyBob from Amityville, NY | November 10, 2011

Had the Mazda3 for 3.5 years. Fun car to drive, I really get the "Zoom-Zoom" feeling. I average 27mpg overall (mostly highway miles). It is a comfortable car up front, in the back, not so much. The engine had to be replaced at 86xxx, the clutch needed to be replaced at the same time, shocks went after 50k. The brakes had to be replaced at 40 and 80k. Overal reliability not great. Maybe I had a bad car or enjoyed the "zoom-zoom" too much.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 46 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda Mazda3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.