2006 Mazda Mazda5

Change Vehicle
2006 Mazda Mazda5
Available in 2 styles:  2006 Mazda Mazda5 4dr Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$3,971–$10,647
Estimated MPG

22 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

26 out of 28 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 28 reviews

Rust! Rust

by Fan from Montreal, QC | September 28, 2014

It is a good car overall. It is a very practical family mini-van. The only thing I hate about this car is the rust. My rear-left wheel well is almost gone. There are a lot of rust at the bottom. The resale value is not good as other Japanese makes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


5 stars for the Mazda5

by Just a car guy from Manchester, CT | August 1, 2013

I bought my 2006 Mazda5 Sport with 5MT brand new. That was over 153,000 miles ago. I have had virtually no issues with this car whatsoever. I am reviewing now because a couple months ago I replaced the spark plugs but one was faulty and the tip blew off. The metal passed through my engine and it kept on ticking. The mechanic was impressed and so am I. In addition to the reliability, my daughters love the reclining second row seats and I love no door dings thanks to the sliding rear doors. The 5 handles well for a "minivan" and with good maintenance and driving habits I can hit over 29mpg with a highway cycle. I highly recommend this car for anyone looking for versatile, fun, and reliable transportation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Perfect car for people who don't want a minivan

by Family Man from Manteca, CA | April 16, 2012

The Mazda5 is an almost perfect compromise for people who want something a little bit more roomy and functional than a wagon, but don't want something wallowy and overly-heavy like a minivan. It offers three rows of seating, for a total of 6 passengers, and all of the back seats fold flat to make a very large, very usable cargo area. The 50/50 split of the third row is something I use all the time when we pick up Grandma from the airport and need to put her bags in the back, but still have room for her and the kids. I have a total of 2 gripes about this car, one of which is specific to the 2006 model year, and the other of which applies to the entire first generation. The 2006 model comes with an in-dash 6-CD changer, but no AUX input for my iPhone. Later model years include this standard, so that makes this a pretty annoying (though small) omission from the 2006. The entire first generation (2006-2011) has a pretty mushy automatic transmission. It often seems like it is searching for the right gear, and usually settles on the one that is just too high. It's a 4-speed auto, and I find myself wanting to switch it into manual-selection mode just to force it into 3rd or 2nd gear a LOT sooner than it will do it on its own. Luckily, though, you can also find these with manual transmissions. They are rare, but would probably make my only real gripe about the performance of this car null and void.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Crossover

by Japanese car enthusiast from Dallas, TX | October 29, 2011

I've owned vans before, and I've owned sedans before, but this is the best of both worlds. Mazda created a true crossover vehicle with the Mazda 5. It drives like a sports sedan, but is able to transport 6-7 people, or carry a van full of cargo. Granted it doesn't have the capacity of a full-size van, but it doesn't drive like a boat either. It's a fun vehicle to drive, and it gets 25-28 MPG. Test drive one, and you'll see.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by #%$#% from Rochester, NY | October 24, 2011

This car has performance tires and sits pretty low so it's a pleasure to drive, but bumpy. Seats aren't all that comfortable either, but there are six bucket seats so everyone gets their own seat. Back seats fold down for nice roomy trunk. Mileage is 28.3mpg consistently. No major problems so far; We bought it used 4 months ago. Annoying: no armrest for front passenger. Can't turn off A/C on auto set.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Car, not great for a large family

by mom of three from Pennsylvania | August 3, 2011

We bought the Mazda5 before we had our third child. We were looking for something with a third row of seats, but not quite as big as a minivan, and we loved the sporty look of the Mazda5. We love this car. It is small enough that you still feel like you're driving a car, but large enough to fit two adults and three small children. The only problem is that when we want to take vacations, it is not large enough to hold all of our suitcases, baby items, etc. In this case, we wish we would've gotten a car with more cargo room. We can only fit our large stroller in the back, with one of the third row seats folded down. If we didn't need the third row seating, this car would be perfect for us. I think this would be better for a family who only needed the third row as occasional seating.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


City Minivan Alternative

by The Family Guy from Washington, DC | July 22, 2010

An extremely flexible layout, that works for our 4 children between 11.5 and 3.5 years old. Easy in, and easy out. Very good handling, and decent enough acceleration to make it both safe and fun, especially in the city. Needs the roof container for long trips. Only average fuel economy in the city (read 20.0 mpg), but we get 31 on the highway. I'd buy it again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


May be the best car made for a college kid.

by College Dad from Upstate NY | June 29, 2010

Bought mine used after the family hit the time between the need for a van and getting away with a sedan. This was the great in between. One son took it to college. It seats six for when he takes his friends on road trips. The side air bags ease my mind. Good gas mileage. Best part is, with mid and rear seats down he can load his entire dorm room in the car...fridge, desktop computers, instruments and all. Only complaint...need the best snows you can get in winter. But, then you will have all the traction you need.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


so-so car

by family guy from Hartford, CT | November 16, 2009

I got this car used a couple years ago, cuz I was looking for something that could carry kids and stuff flexibly in a manual trans. It feels more like a mini-van than a car when driving and has been only somewhat reliable. Brakes and suspension are not durable. Engine sometimes hesitates or feels uneven. Some of the plastic bits inside the car around the bottom of the seats, etc, have broken easily with children's abuse. But it is smooth on the highway and fairly comfortable for a tall guy. Still I wouldn't recommend it highly. It has been a disappointment, overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Looks small but not and it has it all!

by Car Nook from Santa Fe,NM | March 18, 2009

This may look small but it is HUGE! and I got it for a HUGE discount!I would give it a HUGE recommendation! By and don't keep thinking about HUGE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 28 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda Mazda5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.