2006 Mazda MazdaSpeed6

Change Vehicle

2006 Mazda MazdaSpeed6

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2006 Mazda MazdaSpeed6 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$6,262–$15,122

Estimated MPG

20 city / 26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

26 out of 29 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 29 reviews

Mazda speed6

by muscle car enthusiast from Salt Lake City Utah | June 3, 2014

I've been looking for a clean unmodified adult owned Mazda speed 6 for a couple of years now. I finally found one at a very reasonable price. These are great cars with excellent performance and handling. They also provide very good gas mileage and front and rear seat leg room.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best care I've ever owned

by clinger from Washington DC | February 21, 2014

This is more of a long term drive review. I am the original owner of a 2006 model. I bought this car for the value,the stealth aspect and the fact that it was assembled in Japan. The clutch takes some getting used to and you should never let the guys at the care wash steer this baby into the track. That said, it is my daily driver in suburban DC for the past 87,000 miles. The styling is tasteful, but change your wheels. This thing goes through everything including significant snow. It holds your line very well and remains stable horizontally. It does go through tires because-guess what--it is fun to drive. It runs like a scalded cat once off the line. It loves to cruise at 90 and make you feel like you are at 60. It is easy to get carried away, The brakes are fabulous but expensive to replace. The insurance is affordable. There is almost no turbo lag. Most of all, this car is reliable with a capital R. No problems at all in 7 years. Did not "take advantage" of the recall. Have never once regretted my investment and hope to go a long time further.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best bang for buck

by Mazda boy from Illinois | October 23, 2013

If you're looking for a sportier car that can be driven on a daily basis with decent insurance cost, than this is your vehicle. Iv owned 2 mazdaspeed 6's fully loaded. If your looking for something compaired to a lancer evolution or a wrx sti this is the cheaper alternative. Best thing is that you can get this car with awd, turbo, leather, and navi from the factory. Great year round car. Would love another

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car ive ever owned

by BlkCherry6 from Queens, NY | June 22, 2012

In the 2.5 yrs ive had it, the Mazdaspeed 6 has proven to be a very versatile vehicle. If you have to carry 5 ppl, it can hold them with a reasonable level of comfort, it has a big trunk for the groceries, it has a great sound system(Bose), it only comes manual(so nobody asks to borrow your car), and o yea... chances are youll be showing that guy next to you taillights. 274 hp turbo 4cyl... parts to upgrade(ive got an exhaust an intake and a few other bolt ons on mine)... she can be as gentle as a lamb for cruising, or she can run like a cheetah with a rocket strapped to its back (awd gives you a bit of an edge out of the gate when u use it correctly)... doesnt get stuck in snow(at all, ive literally driven around stuck suvs and i have all season tires).. overall its an amazing car and i love mine dearly

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The car I have the most fun driving!

by Speed6 owner from Arkansas | April 3, 2012

I have three cars, and this one is the most fun to drive. I don't get too upset when I have to play chauffeur to the kids, or it's raining and I dont want to ride my motorcycle. A good set of tires and the grip is limitless. Even in the rain, you can accelerate, corner, and brake with confidence. However in the dry, you can get a four tires spinning under you if you try aggressively. The car is simply a blast. Only released in limited numbers and for such a short production period ensures you will have one of the rarest cars on the road. Do a search for how many are for sale, then search something you think is pretty rare, you'll see. Mazda did something I wish all companies would do. That is all Mazdaspeed6's only come with a manual gearbox. It is a sportscar disguised as a "family car". This has worked to my advantage with the local police before as they don't profile this car. I do not see myself selling my car anytime in the future. My only complaint and my 4 star area was the interior design. With all the bells and whistles, you still don't have an auxiliary input. I don't like to change out the head unit, but I believe I will have to since I listen to my iPod or pandora over the radio. I would recommend this car to someone who, is interested in a great handling car, wants to feel "connected" to his vehicle, enjoys exclusivity. I will agree, it does sound dumb to say Mazda Mazdaspeed6.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my Speed6

by TXMaverick from Burleson, TX | October 3, 2011

One of the best cars I have ever owned. All the conveniences of a 4 door sedan with the cornering and acceleration of a BMW 3 series. Love the way this car handles. Just wish it had an Aux input for the Bose stereo but maybe I'll find an aftermarket add-on. In dash nav system is really cool too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Poor Man's Porsche

by Mark B from Colorado | August 16, 2011

275HP turboed 4 cylinder engine, AWD, 6-speed transmission, high performance suspension all make this car an absolute pleasure to drive in the mountains or on the flat, with a linear power band above 30 mph and great handling that make for lots of ZOOM! ZOOM! ZOOM! It is a bit n the small side for my 6'3", 245 lb. frame, but once I'm in it, I thoroughly enjoy zipping down the highway. The clutch is a little stiff and balky on starts, and the car, being a turboed 4-cylinder, is not a jackrabbit out of the chute. Once, however, you get up to any kind of speed, 30mph or over, it shifts smoothly, and will get you WAY over the speed limit REALLY fast. For $22,000 new, I got a four-door "family sedan" that handles and performs like a much more expensive sports car. It's also relatively economical. I get 20-22mpg in town, and 25-28mpg on the highway. I had no problems with the original clutch, with which people have had problems. I had mine replaced free of charge by the dealer, early on, when I read about the program they were offering to replace the clutch. Oil pressure sensor died, surprisingly, at 16,000 miles, replaced under warranty. These cars are not perfect (I would be very careful in buying a used one, given the demographic that bought them), but they are nonetheless head and shoulders above any other four-door you could buy for a comparable amount of money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good for what I paid

by Tem from Sacramento | April 26, 2011

It's not much to say when I own a Mazda 03' Sport 5spd V6. It's the same feel just different in a few ways. 1 is AWD 2 Its power as in Turbo which kicks in at 2500 rpm in all 6 gears. It's not worth the price if you paid regular price for when this car came out vs the Speed3 but as used that's in good condition it's worth 16-17k on 50k miles so make sure you get your money worth when buying this car. you will love it just as I do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Mazda's Shining Glory

by js from Denver, CO | February 13, 2011

I have always loved performance cars, and this is nothing close to an exception. The engine sounds alright, but its quiet, and that is good or bad depending on your target market. Ill start with the bad things- 1. The rims and wheels are simply too big for the car, and it can make the looks a little odd, but that is a relative statement. 2. It looks very tall. 3. It is very heavy (Nearly 3600 pounds when EMPTY, no fuel, passengers) and that gives it problems with handling and fuel economy. 4. The inside feels cheap, and it is very hard to clean, (for the cloth seats that i have, i have no clue for the leather models).5. The clutch is very tricky, and pushes more in some places than others, so you have to be very careful, and even then, it is difficult. Ok, now the good. 1. Quick, the weight once again gives it problems, but still rightly fast, and very easy to modify for big power gains. 2. looks great, especially from the front. 3. Power steering doesnt help you much, gives you a good feeling of the car. 4. back seats fold down easily (look it up online, most places say you cant but it is easy to figure out how. 5. with good tires, no amount of weather will stop you. 6. Never had any engine problems. 7. good with insurance. 8. no stupid gauges, only what you need, Speedo-Tach-Fuel-Engine Temp. 9. Simple controls for cruise control, radio, A/C, external temp, ex... 10. Great Fun

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Zoom-zoom w/ a compromise

by ToyBiz from San Francisco Bay Area | November 18, 2010

I have owned the Mazdaspeed6 since new. (04/2006) If you look on the web you WILL find owners that are unhappy with their purchase. There are owner forums plenty on the web. What is my point? . If you look for something negative about ANY car you WILL find there are owners that are unhappy with their purchase. When the Mazdaspeed6 is compared to the WRX or EVO (those cars are in a totally different catagory and the comments from those owners are misplaced BTW. The target should be more like the Subaru Legacy if really doing an Apples to Apples comparison.) the hardcore enthusiast will find something to complain about. . But lets take a look at why Mazda totally missed their target with this fairly unknown gem. . First the specs: AWD, Turbo/intercooled 2.3 4 cylinder producing 278 HP / 280 ft-lbs torque through a 6 speed manual transmission. (Mazda missed the mark with the transmission by not offering an automatic, I will get to that later) . Second the price: Starting at about $27000 you can get a somewhat up scale four door sedan with performance to back up its looks. Comparing that to the Subaru Legacy, you would have saved a few thousand dollars. . Third the exclusivity of the model: This is both good and bad With only 10,000 units sold here in the USA over the 2.5 year offering. You could own a fairly rare vehicle but the rarity in itself doesn't make the car worth more because Mazda was unclear as to who was their target market. The good, you have a somewhat unique vehicle. In four years I have only met 2 owners locally and seen only 5 while driving on the road. The bad, if you are an enthusiast that likes to tinker or modify your car, with limited number of vehicles to sell their product to, why would an aftermarket company spend money to produce products for it? No one really knows about the car because of unfocused marketing, no one really cares. (this can be good if you are thinking about being stealthy on the road and insurance rates) . So overall my opinion is this. Mazda messed up with promoting this car. The specs say, "I'm a race car for the street". The potential buyer says, "I don't want to drive a stick shift." The acutal buyers interested because of what the specs say, "This car can't compete with the WRX or EVO". (and they are correct from the potential performance stand point) . So if you want a sporty (read: not race ready type of car) four door sedan and don't mind driving a manual transmission, look and you can find one for a great price on the certified pre-owned or used market. Something the other offerings from BMW, Audi, or even VW can't say with similar performing cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 29 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MazdaSpeed6

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.