2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Change Vehicle

2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata 2dr Convertible shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$4,433–$11,677

Estimated MPG

23 city / 28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Just basic good clean FUN.....

by Silver Bullet from central PA | August 25, 2013

My 2002 Miata LS has everything I need to enjoy the drive and none of the boring, useless, unnecessary junk that most car manufacturers push. Cup holders, Bluetooth, backup cameras, and other expensive electronic gizmos are not my cup of tea! If you are interested in a reliable, fun, 2 seat, old school roadster the 2nd generation 99-05 Miata is your ride!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I Love my Miata!

by TheOlyGuy from Olympia, Wa | March 27, 2013

Overall the best bang for the buck! So upgradeable! I am always getting compliments on it. I am a die hard Miata fan now!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Ajoy to drive

by most interesting man on earth from Crossville Tn. | November 24, 2012

Special edtion manual 6 speed- Bose specker system -Mia yellow Black top convertable-beautiful exterior body design Bat wing headlights, chrome web wheels------Room to two and trunk space is addiquite

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most fun car

by Mazda 1 from Daytona Beach, FL | June 4, 2012

Reliable fun car for my pleasure. Top up or down its the coolest sports car, in my opinion. Have Fun

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun Race Car

by Racing Newbie from Fresno, Ca | April 3, 2012

Inexpensive way to enter the sport of racing. Easy to work on, lots of upgrades, good fun with the car club!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Mazda did a great job on this sportscar

by FastEddie from Loganville Ga | October 21, 2011

Great little car,I'm 5'8" tall and I don't have any problem with interior room,it may be an issue with some folks though.Very dependable ,strong running 4 cyl. engine.Mine is a 5 spd.Never had so much fun with a car.Only 4 cyl I ever drove that I liked.Handles great.No downside to the car for me.I can see why people might want to race/drift this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A bargain for the price

by Shiftee from South Carolina | May 12, 2011

I reecently purchased a 2002 model in vivid yellow (only 239 made) and could not be more pleased. As this is my second Miata, I knew what to expect but ended up getting more than expected. The ride may be firm for most people (mine has the suspension package), but I really wish it were even more firm. The 6-speed shifter action is akin to a toggle switch or the bolt of an expensive rifle. Skip the automatic or get another car-the Miata just isn't the same with an automatic. The steering, well, have you ever driven a go-kart? And when the top goes down after a hard day at work, there will be a smile on your face by the time you're home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The Yellow SE is beautiful, fun and reliable.

by Love the Yellow SE from Golden, CO | January 31, 2011

Even though Mazda only made 1000 Blazing Yellow Mica Miatas in 2001, they are one of the most desireable Miatas ever. We have owned 6 Miatas, and my wife loves the car and has no interest in getting rid of this one. It's a keeper.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A+++ OUTSTANDING

by Earl from Cincinnati | November 27, 2008

I have never had so much fun driving a car. The handeling is precise and the comfort and layout is supurb. Mazda really hit a home run with this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Addicting to Drive

by Trav from Des Moines, IA | September 28, 2008

No problems what so ever in the 9 months I've had it so far. It can handle a lead foot driver, but won't punish with bad gas mileage. Car has a lot of performance potential and handles like a go-kart, but I recommend not driving it during winter. Just an f.y.i. those who say this is a "girl" car have no room to speak when they have not driven one before.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MX-5 Miata

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.