2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Change Vehicle
2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$3,946–$12,722
Estimated MPG

23 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

2003 Miata

by GRT-WHLS from Plantation, Florida | April 6, 2014

Had one new back in 99 and loved it. Put over a hundred thousand miles on it.Should have kept it.Finally got another one and like the first also love it. Miatas are cars that you can have fun driving,great to look at, are dependable and price wise are affordable. They have what I always thought was enough power to really enjoy a great fun driving experiance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great wonderful little car

by tmd123 from MD | February 14, 2013

Love this car. Learned how to drive a manual on it and it was really easy. I can't wait until it gets warm and I can put the top down! I am small, so the size doesn't bother me a bit. The only complaint i have is the way it handles in the ice/snow. Even in the lightest snow or the smallest ice patch it is VERY VERY slippery! But that is to be expected with a rear wheel drive car, just be very cautious.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love it

by NB4ME from | January 2, 2012

Had an MGB back in the day. This car blows it away. Will keep it as long as I can drive. If it gets in an accident, I'll replace it. Won't be miataless.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


fun

by Jerry from | June 12, 2011

The car is fun to drive, but hard to get into and out of. I wish there was more room for my feet. The hanling is great and economy better than normal for a sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Get this done or youll be sorry

by Wrench from California | March 1, 2011

These cars are excellent machines and will typically last to around 400K miles before needing rebuilding. That being said there is a absolute necessity and that is around 60K miles the Timing belt (which cannot be inspected without disassembling of the engine front) must be replaced. This is a known problem on these engines check miata.net and youtube miata timing belt. While you have it apart it is wise to change the water pump, all the gaskets and crankshaft seal. Mazda will charge you $575 for this job. Be Aware or you will be walking!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Toy

by 430will from Vermont | October 26, 2010

Bought this car for just cruising around on nice days. I can't complain about anything other than the cup holders with cups are in the way when trying to shift. My elbow can knock over the cup. Rear axle seals went at 38k. Mileage has been around 30-32 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


Reliable Fun Car that holds its value

by Ragtop Roadster from Jackson, TN | May 10, 2010

The actual car listed here is one owner, driven by one middleaged person; white with beige top, always garaged; driven avg. 2200 miles/yr. Oil changed every six months. Near pristine condition inside and out. Interior shows no wear. Fuel 28 mpg. Comes with bra and 4 mud guards (not installed). A wrench has never been turned on this vehicle except to change the oil and filter. New battery. Not a good fit for the very tall or portly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very reliable with very impressive handling.

by Long Island Driver from ny | November 13, 2008

Bought it with 18000 on odometer. got 34,000 on her now. The best car for commuting 20 miles each way on the snake turn Southern State Parkway. 30 mpg , easy top down (3 seconds) 6 speed works well, brakes work well, goes wherever I direct the steering wheel. Never a mechanical problem. The car just keeps on going.Once owned a MGBGT. the MX5 is a much better sporty car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love this car!!!

by Miata Boy from Orlando, FL | September 26, 2008

This is my first miata and my mother had one when they first came out and I have to say this is one very tight car! I love the feel and I love the gas mileage!!!! I have a LS 5sp and it is a thrill to drive if you want a great dependable running sports car then this is it!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Favorite of any car I have owned!

by Top down Driver from Fort Worth, TX | January 15, 2007

Great "fun" value. I can't picture myself "not" owning a Miata anytime in the forseeable future. Drove it to the Grand Canyon, and it was plenty comfortable for my wife and I. Averaged 30 miles a gallon for the 1600 mile round trip. Can't wait for our next driving vacation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MX-5 Miata

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.