2008 Mazda MX-5

Change Vehicle

2008 Mazda MX-5

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 8 styles:  2008 Mazda MX-5 2dr Convertible shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$11,312–$20,468

Estimated MPG

21–22 city / 27–28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

25 out of 26 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 26 reviews

How to find the best car for your money:

by Goodart Too from Austin, TX | February 14, 2014

I researched all models of Mazda Miata RX-7's via web sources (including cars.com), before deciding I wanted a used, generation 3 model (2006 to 2014) but only looked at two actual cars, a 2008 with amazing low mileage and attractive price offered by a broker and a 2007 with higher mileage and higher price offered by the original owner, a classic "little old lady." Though it looked and drove great, the 2008 had obviously been wrecked and there were no records; the 2007 had never been wrecked and both the seller and the dealer had complete maintenance records dating from original drive out. The car I purchased is in the best possible condition for a 7 year old vehicle. A beautiful & dependable car that is fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A really fun car

by Satisfied buyer from | January 13, 2014

This was the fun little car I was looking for. The 6-speed manual is really "hands on". The car goes where I want it to instantaneously. The downside is that my 6'3" frame barely settles into the cockpit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Runs like a top

by janebob from Vancouver, WA | November 13, 2013

Reliable and runs like a top. Maintenance is reasonable too. A bit small for large guys. A super fun car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Quintessential Sports Car

by Loves to Drive from New Jersey Shore | October 6, 2013

Bought a used 2008 and compromised on the autostick transmission but after driving it for awhile am having just as much fun as the manual transmission. The slightly larger chassis that came in in 2006 makes this a much better road car with a squish more elbow room than older Miatas. Otherwise, everything that's been written about how great this car drives is true - I've owned Corvettes, Mustangs and an old Porsche 912 and think the Miata & old Porsche are the only ones that feel like they're part of you when you drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Lots of fun in a small package

by Mymiata from Stamford, CT | July 27, 2013

I wasn't sure I'd like this car, especially after owning a series of Lexus ES 300, 330, 350, but it's a lot of fun in a very small package. For a used car, it was in exceptional condition and my Firestone service rep checked it out and said the Miata traditionally is an excellent car and this 2008 was in exceptional condition. For now, I'm really enjoying it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


not sure i want one

by palisades mazada from rockland county ,ny | July 9, 2013

i checked the vehicle out after it rained for several days , quite hard on a few days notice a good amount of water not wetness but water were my whole hand was wet never took car for a drive that was enough for me . beware thats all i have to say .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best little commuter & run-a-round machine

by LeeFromDelaware from dover,de | May 14, 2013

Bought my '08 used, 20 months & 15k miles ago. No spare tire, premium gas, & noise when cruising above 50 mph, are downsides that are off-set by revving thru the 6-speed and listening to the MGB-tuned exhaust on a 70-degree day with the top down. winding, curvy roads are also a treat - even when driving off to the mines every day. she's still putting a smile on my face & my passengers. the engine-lite came on once; was reset & i haven't had any other electro-mechanical issues. top flips down in seconds - with one hand. goes up in 15-20 seconds - but, at 60, i usually need 2 hands. top hasn't leaked a drop yet. you only live once; maybe twice if ur lucky. go ahead & make ur day. i love this car. i heard this is the car clint eastwood drives around.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Silver bullet

by Dh12 gauge from Michigan | December 7, 2012

The Mazda mx-5 is an extremely fun car to drive, quick an nimble, handles great, execellent performance and gas mileage, it's perfect for the back road touring

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Zooooom!

by Car Chick from NJ | April 3, 2012

I have always wanted a cute little convertible sports car, so I decided to get one in my "golden years". If not now, when? With the help of Cars.com, I found the perfect car. It was exactly as the description read and the pictures were great! This little car handles great and just zips around...and parking is a breeze. Now every time I just want to get away from it all, I just hop in and clear my head and enjoy the scenery. The weather should be getting warm enough soon, so the convertible top will go down and my spirits will go up!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Miata Hardtop

by Carrot from Seattle | March 28, 2012

This is my third Miata, they are the most fun to drive, wouldn't have anything else, I have never done anything except the regular maintenance, and they have been the most trouble-free cars I have owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 26 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Mazda MX-5.


Featured Services for this Mazda MX-5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.