2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Change Vehicle
2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Available in 7 styles:  2009 Mazda MX-5 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$10,704–$20,260
Estimated MPG

21–22 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

2009 Miata

by Blue Miata from El Paso, Texas | July 27, 2013

I am very happy with my new Miata. A found a great deal at Cars.com. Randy (sales person) was great!!! He picked me up at the airport and the cars was ready for me. They also found a great interest rate for me (2.99 APR). Thanks Honda of Covington, LA.... HB

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Quality vehicle

by sports driver from Florida | April 23, 2013

Even with 39,000 miles the MX-5 I purchased drove like a new car, rattle free and tight in all aspects. I am 6' 2" and have plenty of leg room on the driver's side however the passenger side room is not long enough. The top can be taken down and put up from the driver's seat. It handles as a sports car should with excellent road feel, easy shifting and great exhaust note. I like the simplicity of the 4-cylinder in-line engine as well as the rear wheel drive. Seats are very comfortable and even with air conditioning the vehicle is nimble and quick......so far it feels like a winner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Service is great

by Zoom zoom .... from Baton Rouge! LA | October 4, 2012

Always treated me with great respect and work is always as expected. Will be coming back for another Mazda

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My second Miata- Love it so much

by Donna from Omaha, NE | August 25, 2012

Had an 99' Miata and upgraded to an 09 with automatic roof, love, love , love the car. The guy who bought my 99 stopped by the other day, 1 month after purchase to tell me how much he loves it. If you buy a Miata you will be hooked. Everyone tells me how beautiful the car is. It does make a little rattle noise with the hard top up, but it's not annoying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Bang-for-the-Buck

by gsp1946 from Shaker Heights, OH | April 26, 2011

I've wanted a Miata for years. Now that the kids are gone and I'm not so sure I want to keep riding my motorcycle, it was the perfect vehicle for me. It's a sensible car for both fun and transportation. It is quick, nimble, agile and responsive. It's well-made and solid-feeling. It's a sports car, so its suspension is stiff. And you won't want to roll up to the supermarket and try to stuff a week's worth of groceries in the trunk. But nothing beats it for a jaunty ride in the country--both biway lanes and highway--during non-snow weather. Love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love This Car

by Charles from St. Louis, MO | May 24, 2010

Remember, "Is it a Breath Mint, or is it a Candy Mint?" Well with the The Retractable Hard Top Convertible, the question is, "Is it a Convertible, or is it a Hard Top?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A true sports car for the masses.

by Jim M. from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada | February 20, 2010

I am a long time auto enthusiast and have owned over 50 cars to date. Last fall we bought an MX5 Retractable Hardtop 6 speed and enjoyed every moment of driving before putting it away the winter. The car is solidly built and an exceptional handler with a great motor and the 6 speed is one of the best made. The top is water tight with no squeeks or rattles, just like the rest of the car. I looked at everything else on the market in this price range and nothing gave the same amount of smiles per gallon as this car. Only regret is that we could not find one with the leather package. We love the car and plan to keep it for many years to come, and with such a stong aftermarket out there, I expect I will have fun upgrading the car over the next few years !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Telepathic Responses

by Stig Wannabe from Knoxville, TN | January 29, 2010

To those that believe that cars are mere conveyances, this car won't make much sense. To those that believe that some vehicles are capable of rising above being nothing more than an appliance, this car is worth serious consideration. The car was designed from the outset to put a smile on the driver's face, whether they are flinging it down a twisty road or running errands. The best way I can explain it to non-car people is this: Just like a good song on the radio, this car is capable of elevating your mood. For that, it is to be cherished.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fresh Air

by Shelby67 from CT | January 25, 2010

Started looking used but ended up new since price is not much different at year end. Great 2nd car for running errands and playing golf. Got car with few options under theory that what I don't have can't break and plan to keep for 10yrs. No need for hardtop since the softtop is so well engineered and sorted out. Simple car at it's best!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great little car that happens to be a convertible

by weekend driver from NJ | January 1, 2010

The 2009 MX-5 is a great looking car even if all the owners of past models say the front grill is silly. I think it just represents the silly grin you'll end up having after driving this car. It handles really well (as expected of a sports car) and is somewhat quick after 3-4K rpm. Its the most fun car I've ever driven and I am always sad when the trip comes to an end. The cons are that it is slow to go from a stop, with some reviews reporting 0-60 at 8 seconds or more, and no spare tire. If you're looking for a small car or roadster with Japanese quality and low maintenance, look no further. Since Honda is no longer making the more expensive S2000, Mazda is the only game in town with a low-cost sports roadster. A BMW Z4 or Porsche Boxster will cost you $20K+ more, a 370z roadster will cost $10-15k more. With those you get more performance for the price, but not necessarily more fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata.


Featured Services for this Mazda MX-5 Miata

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.