1998 Mazda MPV

Change Vehicle

1998 Mazda MPV

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  MPV shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$65–$5,957

Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 19–21 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

one of the most reliable cars i've ever had

by gonzalez team from San Diego, CA | June 26, 2012

This is a great car for a big family. It is comfortable and it runs great. I bought itt used and it had very minimal issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by CAR REVIEWER from Charlotte, NC | December 18, 2011

BEST CAR EVER HAD MINE FOR 10 YEARS STRAIGHT WITHOUT A REPAIR. YOU SHOULD TRY THIS CAR FOR YOURSELF TODAY.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great and classy in appearance

by ken from SoCal | April 5, 2010

This is a fantastic vehicle in the 4wd/allsport configuration. Bought it used with 129,000 mi drives great. The high driving visibility is really nice especially here in SoCal traffic. Milage is ok 16 in town 23.9 hiway with care. Note the new vehicles don't do any better and are half the vehicle. The comfort factor on a long trip is great. seating position couldn't be better. So folk, if you find one in good shape go for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


LIKE IT

by ME from | January 29, 2010

WIFE AND KIDS ENJOY THIS CAR. SET UP LIKE A MINI VAN BUT LOOKS LIKE AN SUV...........................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This is a smokin' car!

by MPV specialist from Chicago, IL | April 17, 2008

I work for a company that owns eight of these cars. We bought eleven of them two years ago and have scrapped three because the bolt that holds the tensioner for the timing belt has an odd problem.... it snaps in half. Also, all of the cars came standard with oil leaks from the back of the engine, where the pcv valve hose comes out of the block, and we had to use RTV to fix it, because the seal that mazda uses doesn't fit. other than that, the starter will cost you over three hours of labor, the alternator goes out faster than a full tank of gas, and we've had multiple 4WD problems, because people bump the very poorly placed diff lock button. In two years, we've spent well over a grand in parts alone on each of these cars. Do not buy them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


4x4 version is a Fantastic used car buy

by Irish Pavee from Wisconsin | November 19, 2007

They can last 250,000 mile plus. They have true center differential lock (try to find that elsewhere in a 4x4). A very reliable vehicle with great interior comfort and room. I've owed a 1993 and a 1998 All Sport. If you find one in good shape...Buy It!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


THE MOST FANTASTIC MULTI USE VEHICLE -EVER!

by Roman from Del-mar-pa-va Every Where ,allways on the move | November 7, 2007

Worth twice the value ,seven pass,all wheel drive and true 4wheel lock.The vehicle is great for the beach or the off roading on the hills and valleys.Whether it is massive rain or deep snow this vehicle delivers .I pull my boat off a steep ramp or Four Wheeler of the Dirt Track with little to no effort.MPV takes my family along for the ride in all circumstances and looks good in the process with its hansom appearances with crome factory wheels,Mazda please build some more!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great deal

by Jennie le from westminster, CA | June 28, 2006

had it for some time now, and i think i have really got what i paid for. looks great for a van, and you can still haul around a good sized family to the mall or wherever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MPV

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.