2002 Mazda MPV

Change Vehicle
2002 Mazda MPV

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  MPV Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$1,286–$8,162
Estimated MPG

18 city / 24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Practical and reliable

by Mr. Practicality from Queens, NY | April 10, 2012

Bought this mini van(second hand) for its small size, yet its clever interior design can still fit 7 adults. Drives like a sedan and its very reliable. Over all great value for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


VERY Disappointed.

by Minivan Mom from Cleveland, OH | April 9, 2012

I purchased my 2002 Mazda Mpv after researching for months. I was sold on the good consumer reviews, clean car fax and the safety and reliability it was supposed to have. I am uncertain if I purchased a "lemon" but my van has been nothing but a headache. I purchased it with 85.000 miles in 2011. Within one week my check engine light came on with 6 (yes 6) different alerts. 2 for 2 bad catalytic converters, 1 for a bad solenoid in the transmission, 2 for injector misfires and I honestly can't remember what the sixth was for. I took it to my mechanic to assess how much it would cost to fix the issues and found that my frame had already begun to rot. I would of paid more to fix the car than I paid for it originally. I will not purchase a Mazda again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


150 K miles and still going strong

by Mazda Mom from Washington DC | March 21, 2011

I love, love, love my MPV. I bought it with 4K miles on it. We only had one minor ($500) repair at 50K miles, and since then, smooth sailing. My kids love that the middle seat windows go down, I love the rear air and heat (so no complaints from those in the rear) and we all love that it is incredibly reliable. It still has the zoom zoom. I have never had a car make it to 120K miles, much less 150K, but I believe my MPV will go to 200K miles easy. I wish they still made them, I would definitely buy another.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good mini van but

by FormerMPVowner from Washington DC | September 22, 2010

The Mpv is good for it's just right size, versitility, ride and handling, but at 90,000 miles the coverters went bad. They are a dealer only item, and very expensive. I traded mine in, but I miss it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive minivan

by Fast Driver from Raleigh, NC | September 14, 2010

I have enjoyed my minivan that doesn't drive like a minivan. Can pile in the kids but still fit in compact car places. I think this is about as small as a minivan gets. Recently bought a new small suv and now I miss my V6 MPV. Only drawback was that the check engine light was sensitive but maybe that is why it has lasted so long since I was forced to pay attention to repair needs that were usually minor. Sliding doors were sensitive but always worked. With some TLC this van runs forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Worst car I've ever owned? Heck,worst I'veheard of

by 'As You Know' Bob from Albany | July 18, 2010

My previous car was a 1990 Mazda Miata - which *continues* to be the best car I've ever owned. On the strength of the Miata's quality, when it was time to get a minivan, I bought a 2002 MPV. And it's been a non-stop nightmare to own. Leaking oil, leaking GAS, failed hatch struts, the "Check engine" light that comes back on only a week AFTER $2500 "repairs", bad suspension, bad coils, $600 to change the sparkplugs(!). Just a nightmare.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Solid Van

by carguy from | July 26, 2009

Great looking minivan that is very functional with some different options that others don't have. The windows in the second row go down. It is in the smaller class for a minivan so it is goes in the garage easily. Dual powered sliding doors are reliable after 7 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


versatile and reliable

by Maximom from Washington DC | June 17, 2009

I LOVE my MPV, so sorry they are no longer producing it. Bought it used with 5K miles and it now has 128,000 miles on it, and has given me very little trouble. Handles great, cold AC, acceleration is fine and you just can't beat the reliability factor. I can open the sliding doors or lock the car from REALLY far away, that always amazed me. I think it will go to 200K miles, no question.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I put 144000 miles in 4 years Never let me down

by Jim in Cincy from Cincinnati, OH | August 18, 2006

I ran this van just about every day hard. Mosty freeway driving. It has held up great. I liked the rear heat and air. It seemed to keep the temp. even though out the van. I towed a small trailer once from Ohio to Florida with out a problem. Mialage dropped a bit but that was expected. the interior heald up with all the use but does show the wear. I'm considering an MPV to replace this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MPV

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.