2004 Mazda MPV

Change Vehicle
2004 Mazda MPV

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2004 Mazda MPV FWD Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$2,772–$9,568
Estimated MPG

18 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Fantastic, reliable small minivan

by Dog lover from Oregon | August 2, 2014

We bought our 2004 MPV new. It has over 150K miles and the only major work we had was replacement of the radiator. We have loved this car for its comfort, the windows rolling down in the passenger area (essential because we haul around 2-3 dogs), maneuverability, and reliability. I use the car for commuting, plus tooling around town on weekends, and several road trips (4-5 hours each way). Unfortunately, we just totaled it so are looking for a similar one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Able to write 5 star reviews on all points

by W.McCue RN/BSN from Venice, FL | February 11, 2014

Finally!!! a mid sized VAN for families of 4. Super quality! Only problems I encountered at 125K was replacing radiator/condenser fan ( found cheap at Rock Auto.com) and super easy to install. Dealer wanted 1,800. USD, spent $89.00 online/installed/two hours later, good to go! My wife and I have an '09 Mazda 5, and we are much more satisfied with the MPV. My advise is to find one with/less than 100K. You will be extremely pleased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Buying our first vehicle

by Dustin & Rebecca from Fort Collins,Co | July 7, 2013

As we pulled into the delaership, we were apporached by Cassie. She was very knowledgable about the vehicle and answered all of our questions. We took it on a test drive and it drove wonderful. The finance representive was also a great help in getting us into out dream vehicle. Thank you both so much for helping us get inro our first ever buying vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Drives like a car

by Minivan Clan from Sacramento, CA | October 29, 2012

We bought the 2004 MPV 60,000 miles ago. My wife wanted a minivan with a smaller footprint so she could parallel park in the city. I hated the car at first, because it had a transmission that shifted and made the car jerk. When it first happened I thought someone had bumped us from behind. An online search showed that this was a problem Mazda had. It took 2 or 3 computer adjustments by the dealer to get it right (and a day of letting them drive it themselves to see what I was talking about). It also seemed to pause before accelerating, which is bad on the short on ramps here in California. Again, I think it was the computer. Once it was adjusted the van drives very nicely, more like a car than most minivans. It is about 6 inches narrower and a bit shorter (Mazda 6 size) than our other minivan. My wife drives it, but the front legroom is annoyingly short for my 6'3" frame, so I avoid driving it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Very good option for a 7 pass van....Good MPGs

by Chris from Grapevine, TX | April 4, 2009

This is the best small van and still holds 7 passengers. Has rear windows that roll down and auto doors.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Sharp looks, terrible engine/transmission

by disappointed former MPV owner from upstate NY | January 3, 2009

Purchased a former lease with 34,000 miles. Within 1,000 miles, engine coil burnt out. Three more failed in the next 4 months. Hesitant to drive because of such poor reliability. Stranded in Canada on a weekend trip. Traded in vehicle shortly after. AVOID THIS MODEL LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Love, Love, Love

by Mazda MPVer from Southeastern US | June 16, 2007

We just love this vehicle! Great value for the dollar! Good gas mileage too! We get 20 in town, and 26 or so highway. We love the comfort of this vehicle, the convenience of the third row folding down, and the overall great performance. We purchased used and have had for a year with no problems, just a tune up and normal maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Fabulous Minivan Value

by Love to drive from Falls Church, VA | March 24, 2007

We purchased our MPV used with 15,000 miles on the odometer. It has been a real pleasure to drive. The engine and transmission have both been very smooth and quite reliable. We love the layout of the car and ours has the factory DVD player which the children have really enjoyed. Thus far with 50,000 miles, we have had not even a minor repair, nor any problems to express. The car has held its value very well and we would not hesitate to purchase another MPV in the future. We also really love the fold down 3rd row seat and the fact that the 2nd row seats can slide together. We don't like the shifter for the automatic transmission placement as when it is in drive it obscures the radio/cd controls.... however we have overcome that by using the radio volume controls that are built-into the steering wheel. We would strongly reccomend purchase of this very versitile, yet not too huge minivan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Not as Good as earlier models

by Jack from Allentown Pa | August 26, 2006

We owned a 2000 MPV and absolutely loved it. When it was time to buy a new car the 2004 MPV was an obvious choice. For 2004 they changed the Engine/Transmission package which we thought was a good thing since the 2000 model was unpowered. It turns out to be the opposite. We have had nothing but problems with this MPV's Engine and Transmission. It bucks and surges horribly especially with the air conditioner on. We had it back to the dealer several times and the response we get is "it's your driving style" or "it's the gas your using". We have owned many cars over the years. As a matter of fact I drive over 40,000 miles a year for my job. Our driving styles haven't changed. We are totally disatisfied with this vehicle and would not recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MPV

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.