2006 Mazda MPV

Change Vehicle

2006 Mazda MPV

Available in 3 styles:  2006 Mazda MPV FWD Passenger Van shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$9,200–$11,750

Est. MPG

18 city / 25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

4 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

don't buy this car ever

by mazda from New York | February 28, 2014

the transmission will fail for sure, it starts with slipping gears and then fail completely. cost around $3000. very poor mpg the engine is not bad Avoid this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good Used Car Value

by Ann BD from Dayton, OH | August 8, 2013

I had a specific reason for choosing the Mazda MPV: I was looking for the car with the largest interior space I could get that would still fit in my 1926-built garage. Minivans like the Odyssey and the Sienna won't fit, they are too long and wide. I want the space and usefulness of a minivan, but I also want to put the car in the garage so I don't have to burn up or scrape off snow and ice. The MPV meets the bill on usefulness although it doesn't have as much space as my old Toyota Previa. But then, none of the newer minivans are that spacious in that small a package anymore, new design standards seem to have eliminated size-for-space. The MPV is a fairly utilitarian car, which I appreciate, as I have no compunction about dumping dogs and storage boxes in it. The dogs like the car, as the sliding seat in the middle makes a bench for the aging collie and allows easy access to the back area for the others. A few sheets thrown over the seats help to preserve the cloth seats, which are firm and comfortable. I like having bucket seats/captain's chairs in the middle row. The back row is a bench that folds into the floor, and gives you a nice-sized cargo area, my most desired feature. Engines and power are not my thing, I just need the car to go and be reliable. Haven't had any complaints in that department. The only mechanical thing I've noticed is that the car is slow to respond when you accelerate, so you have to learn to work with that when getting on a short highway ramp. I like the dashboard layout and the storage bins and their locations. I especially appreciate having space on the floor for bags next to the driver's seat, being not at all fond of the design trend that fills up the space between driver and front passenger with bins, none of them big enough to put a purse in. The MPV doesn't feel as spacious as my old Previa, but it feels more spacious than many other models I considered, like the first-round Highlander and the Hyundai Santa Fe. All in all, I think this will be a car I will keep and enjoy for a while.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very reliable, useful and pleasing style

by Dennis R from Winter park, FL | April 22, 2013

This is our second MPV. The first one was a 2003 ES(leather seats). We liked our first one so much that when it was totalled by a friend who borrowed it, we looked for and found a used 2006 with only 17,000 miles and a year old. This one has been even more reliable than the first one! Performs like a sports car and carries 7 passengers and a lot of cargo. The styling is very pleasing as opposed to the majority of vehicles made these days which copy the same futuristic style.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best minivan iv owned

by Soccer Dad from Oregon | September 8, 2007

By far is easier to drive and is alot more comfortable than others i have owned. My business uses minivans for transportation and i want to buy more Mazdas after buying one for my wife. The roll down windows in the back are awesome!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


audi a3

by mya butreaks from topeka kansas | October 27, 2006

I have had the Mpv for 6 years, and it sucks. It broke down and the manafold cracked, which would have cost$750 to replace. My opinion:get a Chrysler Pacifica.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Probable reliability problems!

by drbane from Milwaukee,WI | October 6, 2006

This car is well known for it's "shift shock" (5 speed automatic) transmission problems which mazda/ford seems unwilling to fix. This is very likely the last year for this mini van as Mazda plans to make a cross over vehicle for 2007. There was also an annoying rattle comming from the steering wheel on the example I drove.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Initial quality questionable; good price for value

by etclin from San Jose, CA | September 30, 2006

Damaged fuel cap caused "check engine" light to go on within 24 hours of this MPV LX-SV delivery. I guess the sales damaged it while fueling. Mazda should use a stronger plastic for its fuel cap. The 3 Litter engine with 200 horse power is decent for this MPV. Acceleration is not as linear as I would like though. Fuel ecnonmy is poor. I get slightly less than 17 for my non-highway commute. It is fun to drive this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda MPV

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.