2004 Mazda RX-8

Change Vehicle

2004 Mazda RX-8

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2004 Mazda RX-8 4dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$4,796–$12,636

Estimated MPG

18 city / 24–25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

32 out of 40 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 40 reviews

Greatest Rotary Sports car for the practical type

by Rotary owner from Carson CA | April 19, 2014

Ive owned my rx8 for a year now and bought it with over 100,000 miles and havent had a problem with it at all. Still has the original rotary engine and has never been replaced. This car has the greatest cornering and handling ability for its class. Not so much torque but thats what your 9,500rpm redline is for, the car just loves to rev and its required you redline it daily, its not your average machine. It consumes gas and oil but creates a smile on your face. One of the funnest cars to drive out there on the market. The engine revs so smooth and it attacks corners without breaking a sweat. Seating is good enough to have a six footer such as i, in the back and front seat. I always get questions and compliment about my mazda and love the faces of the people who ask me how many miles im on with the original engine. This car is reliable to an owner who knows the cars functions. Its reccomended that anyone intrested in the car, should do research on it before they decide to purchase one. It differs from your average automobile and should be looked over alot. This car has never let me down and with the way it runs, i can imagine the same engine running strong even 150,000 miles later down the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Super fun car! Drive it hard

by Anthony from tulsa, ok | March 19, 2014

A lot of people complain about having to replace engines in these cars, most people don't know that it's because they baby it and don't drive it hard. that's actually bad for the car, you have to drive it hard for it to last longer. It's a rotary engine so the higher rpms are good for the engine, keeps it from having carbon build up around the rotary. if you baby it then it builds up inside the engine and eventually goes out. Drive it like you stole it and these last forever plus it sounds great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Grat sport car for much less money than Porshe

by RichRom from Clifton, NJ | September 16, 2013

Rotary Engine is fan to drive the most power you get when you reaching about 4 to 5K rpm,( the red line begining at 9K) car run like a bullet from 60 to 90 mph. Very nice interior design.Grat car for sports cars fans.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Great Car if Treated Right

by Rotorhead from FraNKLIN, TN | April 10, 2013

I love my 8. It's fast, very comfortable, and handles amazingly. I've maintained it very well, including redlining it once a day (supposed to do this for rotaries), and it's never let me down. The Mazda RX-8 isn't a normal car, in any sense. It has high maintenance costs, and requires quite a bit of maintenance and care. It's also quite expensive to modify because this car's market for performance parts is so small. It's an EXTREMELY fun car, and being so, you have to pay to play. It's not a car for people who do not have automotive knowlege...just buy a Camry. This car is for people who love rotaries and don't mind spending a little money keeping her going. If you don't maintain this car, it will bite you. Hard. But if you do maintain it, you'll love it like I do. If you don't have any extra money to put into it, don't buy it. But don't be an idiot like some people and give it a bad review just because you bought it and can't afford to keep it up. It's is designed to use some oil, and just because you don't like buying oil to top it off doesn't mean it's a bad car. It just means you didn't do your research.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


the car that never stops costing you

by jack from Vegas | March 23, 2013

the car is beautiful, fast, etc. mine has about 100,000 miles. the engine has been replaced twice, one within a year of purchase due to a recall. over the last four years it has cost me about $5000 in things that shouldn't have gone bad. mazda factory parts are rediculously over priced. one part which the service manager told me was some dinky little thing cost like $700. both door lock motors are gone, transmission reverse switch went so every time i put it in reverse it blew a fuse. i can go on and on. but i have a 100,000 mile care with an engine with about 12,000 miles on it that they paid for. would i ever buy a rotary engine or mazda again. NEVER

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Love my 8!

by Rotorin from Houston, TX | May 28, 2012

Buttery smooth power delivery. This car requires lots of TLC and careful maintenance and research. Not for grandmas. Only good for enthusiasts that do not mind higher total cost of ownership in order to drive a magnificent car. Superb handling and styling. A unique endangered species.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great toy

by rex8n from california | April 17, 2012

The car handles very well, it has 3 power bands 1-3000,3-7000,7-9600. Each with a noticeable difference in power.the gas mielage is truely low if you drive agressive but low rpm does well.it is a sports car and needs the maintnance of a sports car but the enjoyment of the engine revving and the handling are worth it this is not your girlfriends car.I was looking at the 04lexus is 300 this has similar style and comfort as well as 20+hp fully loaded leather/nav/bose stereo and 6spd trans it a fun car but will cost you...pay to play

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


GREAT CAR, TOO MANY MECHANICAL PROBLEMS

by Miata Lover from Las Vegas, NV | April 9, 2012

I purchased a brand-new 2006 in February 2007. Had a couple of recalls, nothing major. No problems until the manufacturer's warranty ran out, but thank goodness I purchased an extended warranty for 2 years. Two months after manufacturer's warranty expired, engine light came on; car needed fuel injectors cleaned at a cost of $1200.00. Three months later, engine light came on again, this time a problem with the intake manifold, at a cost of $1400.00. At 30,000 mile checkup (car only has 34,500 miles on it), was told both engine mounts were cracked, at a cost of $700.00. I gave up, traded it in, and purchased a 2011 Miata. I bought an MX5 before, and it was the greatest car I ever owned. Now, I am happy with my 2011 Miata. I love the way the RX8 looks and handles, but I would suggest purchasing an extended warranty, and hopefully you have some loose change lying around so that you can afford the upkeep and repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Awesome car

by A man from | November 3, 2011

Never had a problem since i purchased. has gotten me from point A to B perfectly fine within reasonable gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Fun

by Rx8 Owner from NOVA, VA | October 18, 2011

I've owned mine for almost 3 years now. Only had one issue since I bought the car (ignition coil). Other than that if you let the car warm up before you drive and NEVER EVER turn it off when it's cold, this thing will be flawless. This is one of the only cars you can rev at such high RPMs all day everyday and it's good for the car. I love this thing, just wish it was a little faster. If this had the speed3 motor in it, it'd be too perfect. High end is OK but definitely lacks torque at low RPM's. On the highway from a 55 roll, I keep up with my buddy's 05 wrx, but from a stop, he's gone. Still the most amazing handling ever, I'm keeping mine till it dies.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 40 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda RX-8

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.