2010 Mazda RX-8

Change Vehicle

2010 Mazda RX-8

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2010 Mazda RX-8 4dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$9,390–$24,554

Estimated MPG

16 city / 22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Inspiring Handling, Well Built, and Fun

by John from Kalamazoo, MI | July 8, 2013

Found this model with only 10k miles and swooped up the R3 version with great financing. The car feels like a true sports car, very inspiring in the corners, begs to have a track, the rotary revs out great and sounds awesome. Very nice outer/inner styling and interior packaging. A truly fun car to drive and own. Sharply tuned suspension not recommended for long highway drives unless its a smooth highway you will feel every bump in the road and it may get old depending on your comfort needs. Quick acceleration despite a low torque motor as compared to other cars in its class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best handling car under 20k, that isn't a miata

by Mechanical Engineering Professional from Cleveland, OH | July 25, 2012

I love this car. The unique pistonless engine makes an awesome sound, as it happily revs up to 9k rpm. The manual transmission shifts as well as sports cars costing 2 to 3 times more (triple cone syncros help). The pedals give excellent control, which complements the responsive engine. The steering feels laser guided. The rear half doors & reasonably sized rear seats make it more practical than most sports cars. I especially like the styling of my "series II" model (2009-2011). To summarize, it's a nimble, responsive, well balanced, very fun to drive car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


ZoomZoom

by OGJYSHO from | April 24, 2012

Lets get to the point. People who have their engines replaced two or three times do not know how to drive rotary engines. Follow the steps. 1. Rev it up. You have got to make this car explode, this car was made to hit 9K RPM. This does not kill the engine it helps it release the gunk stored in its engine compartment. 2. Once you turn it on, you must keep it on. DO NOT TURN OFF the car once you turn it on. 3. Put premium gas ONLY. 4. Oil change every 2600 miles. IT IS A MUST 5. Replace spark plugs and wires every 10K miles. 6. Never let anyone use your rotary engine. THEY WONT CARE. If you follow these simple practices there is not chance you should put a new engine on. Other than that this car is awesome. I put reliability at one so you can read this. But if you know how to maintain or follow everything above the reliability is a 5. The manual gear box is like an AXE MURDERER. Really hard but if you know how to shift, its a beautiful thing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Change Engines Almost like Changing Oil

by Should have bought a Z from Temple, Tx | March 7, 2012

I liked the RX-8 had a backseat, small but useable. Handling is good but acceleration from a stop is faster on a bicycle. I had 3 engines replaced in 60,000 miles. I only met one owner who had never had an engine replaced. The question was bot, have you replaced an engine? but how many? I begged the dealer to tell me how to prevent engine failure. They couldn't tell me and denied it was a problem. The local rental agency pick-up girl knew. She asked, "What kind of car was in for work?" When I said, "RX-8". She said, "Engine replacement?" All the owners know. The dealers won't admit it. Buyer beware!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best Sports Car for under $100K

by Pete in Kansas from Eastern Kansas | October 21, 2011

Purchased a 2010 a year ago - about 12K miles on it. Fabulous car, handles like a dream, more than enough power if you rev the engine the way a Wankel is supposed to be driven - like it was stolen! Brilliant in blue, but now only available in red, the R3 is the verison to buy. Excelllent interior equipment, sport tires and 19 inch wheels, stiffened suspension, great looking side strakes and spoiler. We have owned many cars in hte last thirty plus years, started with a Triumph Spitfire, then a 1979 Rx-7. then a Toyota Supra and a bunch of Hondas and Subarus - this 2010 RX-8 is by far the best of the lot. Absolutely no problems to date, and expect none for a long time. Get one now before they run out of production!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


AMAZING HANDLING AND BRAKING

by BUILDMOREFARMS from Reading, PA | December 19, 2010

This is my second RX8, a 2010 sport. The car was voted 3rd best handling car in America for under $100,000 by car and driver. You can't believe how well this car handles the curves until you drive it. The braking is world class, 70mph-0mph in 158 feet...that is Ferrari territory folks. 0-60 is not bad ...but not great, I've read anywhere from 5.9 seconds to 7 seconds with manual trans. Im guessing its about 6.4 seconds. The look is like no other, it doesnt look like a bubblecar, like the 370Z. It has 4 doors to make getting to the rear seats easier. The gas MPG is bad at 16mpg but the horsepower to liter ratio is 188hp per liter, much more than any other car on the road, far more than even an M3. So the 1.3 gives up 232 horsepower and it's not even a turbo! It has a 9,000 rpm reline too and loves to go there! All in all a great car, I got mine new for $21,587 after rebate and discounts. Im happy so far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


bmw beater

by carnut from Colorado | October 12, 2010

I'll take it over 3 series! It is a lot sportier then the 3 series bmw. There are big discounts on leftover 2010 models.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Totally Awesome Car

by Loving a Mazda from Sparta, Missouri | May 25, 2010

We purchased our RX-8 used and have never regretted buying it. It handles smoothly, great on our hills and curves in Missouri. I love to watch peoples reaction when I pass, it will literally throw your head back while accelerating. My husband has very long legs, so that was the clincher to buying this one after having looked at several other sport cars. Our gas mileage has been surprisingly good. We average 20-25mpg back and forth to town, but got 27 in Utah when we set the cruise and no hills. The only drawback is the back seat, it's not kid friendly, but having the back passenger doors open separately really helps. We have owned it for almost three years, but need something different due to acquiring foster kids recently. We replaced a battery, but haven't had any other mechanical problems. I would keep this car until it wouldn't run anymore.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda RX-8

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.