2002 Mazda Tribute

Change Vehicle
2002 Mazda Tribute

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2002 Mazda Tribute 4dr FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$2,576–$8,464
Estimated MPG

18–23 city / 24–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Amazing road tripper, gas tank too small.

by Lakeside from Vancouver, BC | January 21, 2014

I have own this car only a year and only driven it about 4 months of that, and I've already put 11,000km on it and done 3 long-haul road trips. The interior comfort is far beyond what other cars its age provide. Leg room in the back seat is amazing. Interior design incorporates the slightly unattractive materials common to the day, but the actual layout is extremely modern and satisfying. Highly enjoy having a truck-style shifter rather than a stick-style shifter in the middle. This little beauty's only downside is the size of the gas tank - It's pretty good on gas for its size, power and age, but the gas tank is just too darned small. Couldn't even go 6 hours of mountain highway driving on one tank. Really kills a road trip when your tank runs out. Big enough to sleep in the back, big enough to fit furniture into, and super comfy, this car will not let you down. Buy it if you're looking for something that drives like a car but has the suspension of a 4x4.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Reliable and convenient for all seasons

by commuting car from Hyattsville,Maryland | November 19, 2013

I have to commute 16 Miles back and forth to go to work and I want to trade this car while it still in good shape.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Value for the Money

by Mazda Owner from Maryland | March 22, 2013

I bought my 2002 Tribute ES V6 new fully loaded. Had it for 8 years until a 90 year old lady totaled it while parked at 77k miles. It was a great SUV. The things I replaced: Brake booster, front Brake pads, idle control unit, one recall of Accelarator cable and that was all. It had great handling, very nice engine. Had good pickup on the highway. I think it is the best midsize SUV for the money,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


even so, glad I got it

by AK LC from Anchorage, AK | March 2, 2013

I bought this off craigslist from someone who told me it was a safe vehicle when it was not. I got a buyer's inspection after i bought and found numerous problems, some of which make it unsafe to drive. this vehicle was obviously mechanically not taken care of. but even with the abuse, it is still an amazing vehicle. the body is in good shape, the interior has seen better days but is still comfortable and mostly decent. even with bad & mismatched tires on a 4x4, has still handled the Alaskan winter driving just fine. i currently take the bus instead of driving as much as possible due to the unsafe mechanical condition, but hope to get it fixed soon, one way or another. this has 178000 and still has plenty of life left after it gets fixed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good bang for the buck

by AZdriver from Arizona | July 30, 2010

I bought this car(LX v6 4x4 white/tan) after I sold my bmw 330ci. I needed a car with more room and more off road capabilities. Originally looking for a ford escape but then came across a good deal on a tribute which i found out was pretty much the same car. Interior is not the prettiest but its functional and has a lot of use. Like the largge storage compartment in between the front seats and all the cupholders. Also like all the power outlets and the one in the back is useful. Exterior is descent looking. I love the way the car drives around town. You drive it more like a car than an suv and parking is an ease compared to those who have driven full size trucks and SUVs. Dont have to worry about all the potholes and bumps in the road as with the bmw. Not the best on the freeway at high speeds because has quite a lot of wind noise so i just turn up the stereo. Stock speakers are great with an upgraded alpine ipod deck. Took the car off roading and it handled just as great as my dads f150. Gas mileage is ok. About the same as the i6 in the bmw around town but hightway is not nearly as good as the bmw. Overall great suv for those who like the outdoors but dont see the need of having a gas guzzling huge waste of space suv or large truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice SUV for little $

by Zoe from Ocean City, MD | July 30, 2009

I've had my Tribute since 2003. It was 1 year old when I got it. My mazda now is 7 years and has 210,000 miles on it. And still gives me good gas mileage. I traveled along east coast many times and this little SUV got me from point to point. Very reliable and spacious for the size. However, very sensitive on bumps; drivers side door handle broke about a year ago, I had to replace it; airbag light when on about half of a year ago; thermostat started to leak. Car served me extremely well over this 7 years. Now it is times to say "Goodbye". I would definitely suggest this car to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


great small SUV

by zoom-zoomer from Rochester, NY | December 30, 2008

If you want an SUV that won't gobble up the gas, this is a great, sporty fun to drive option. Handles like a car, 18/24 mpg can't be beat in this category. You get a lot for the money as a loaded up version can be had for under 30k new. I have owner one for 8 years with little repair issues. Lots of room for two kids and two dogs in the back! only complaint is a little wind noise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


My First Car

by MikeG from Davenport IA | September 3, 2008

Great car. It gets me around where I need to go and gets okay gas mileage as it does it. Its the little quirks about this car that can get frustrating. The DOOR handles are the biggest problem with this car and the shifter thing gets in the way of the stereo controls and can be a bit annoying but other than that this is a fun great car to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A Nice light SUV

by B-Squared from Chanhassen, MN | February 17, 2007

I've owned the LX V6 model now for about a year and a half and in that time have had no problems. The engine puts out a surprizing amount of power, but doesn't get very good fuel economy. I've expirienced about 16 mpg in the city and about 21 mpg highway. All in all it's a good car and I enjoy driving it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great 4 cyl economy, plenty of power

by Fuel Economist from Michigan | May 28, 2006

This is a great family car. The 4 cylinder manual 4WD model provides plenty of power for on or off-road use. It rides high enough to provide protection for wife and kids. Automatic switching from 2wd to 4wd is handy when weather conditions change or if driver is not familiar with changing to 4wd.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda Tribute

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.