2008 Mazda Tribute

Change Vehicle

2008 Mazda Tribute

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2008 Mazda Tribute 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$6,985–$15,261

Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 22–28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

The Perfect Vehicle

by Mazda723 from Fort Worth | January 18, 2013

The Mazda Tribute is one on the best vehicles I have ever owned. It gives a great ride and has great performance. I would recommend the Mazda Tribute to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good 1st SUV

by North of Boston from Andover, MA | May 13, 2011

I traded my Mazda3 in for the Mazda Tribute and I'm glad I did. I live in the rural-ish burbs and I felt safe driving the local roads and highway this winter. Potholes, snow and ice are handled well with the traction control. It has responsive highway handling and good passing speed. I use the overdrive disengage while on side roads and city roads and get about 21.5 MPG. Leather heated seats, sliding moon roof, auto lights etc are all nice touches. I good choice for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice looking small SUV that is no longer available

by Mazda Man from Seattle | April 30, 2011

Fun to drive but it is a bit of a gas hog. No real problems but the tranny is clunky. Has a bunch of road noise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Great car for everyone

by Ginger my SUV from Louisville, KY | May 19, 2010

I am a woman. I havn't had a truck in the past. I wasn't sure if I would like it or not. The storage is great. I bought all of my landscaping at one time everything fit. I took it home without help. I've taken a major road trip of 13 hours, two women, very comfortable and fit all our luggage and what we bought there. I couldn't of had a better time. I love my truck and would not trade it. One small thing about, they say a labtop will fit in the center storage I don't think so. maybe they meant an Ipad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


pretty good car

by desert dog from utah | January 21, 2010

I bought a used '08 Tribute with the 2.3. I am surpised how zippy it is. Most of my driving is highway, but I will tow my atv occasionally and head for the hills. Some reviewers complained about the boxy style, but this is the classic suv look that I prefer. This gives you more headroom and cargo space. Rounded edges and sloping rooflines minimize the utility capability of an suv. I also like the design of the interior except it is slightly lacking in footroom for the front passenger. (Big feet run in our family!) I like the agility of this suv. It maneuvers through traffic and curves efficiently. The ride is not as smooth as the heavier suvs, so I only gave it three stars for handling. Overall, this is one of the few well priced suvs that is roomy enough for a taller person, with space enough for gear, and still gets pretty good gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My lil toy

by Jimbo from Revere,Mass | January 1, 2009

I bought this vehicle because of the rising gas prices. I owned a full size GMC Sierra. The 2 vehicles have nothing in common, but I needed something with 4WD and something a lil more city friendly! This SUV brand new off of the showroom with almost no option was 18,900! How can u beat that! The only thing I would change is the drivetrain. MORE horsepower is desparately needed for HWY driving. But adequate for city driving and it's decent on gas,not great! The interior is kinda plain but it's also a commuter vehicle,The exterior is a lil boxy, wish it was a lil more aerodynamic! But Over all ....pretty good no problems yet,have owned it for 7 months and very reliable. The sound system is decent as well with a ipod hookup..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A knock out!

by Tribor from Ashland, OR | November 8, 2007

Now have over 7k miles on this 5 spd 2.3L Tribute and love it. Good looks, handling, ride, economy, sound system, and excellent value. The economy is what makes it a knockout. Have--in 22 fill ups--averaged 28.4 mpg (high 33.1 and low 25.5) with only the addition of a K&N filter and syn oil. These numbers indicate that one would have to drive a Mazda/Ford hybrid of this model 500,000 miles to recovery the additional $7k paid for the hybrid (tax credit excluded).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


I Love This Car

by Alan from Tucson, AZ | October 27, 2007

Best investment of my life. Great car would not have it any other way. Did a lot of shopping prior to my purchase of the Tribute and am glad to know I have made the right choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Solid SUV

by SUV guy from Vermont | September 29, 2007

We replaced our 04 Rodeo with this 08 Tribute, and we've been pleased so far. The Tribute is a lot of car for the money. You get a good looking SUV with decent interior space, numerous features, quality materials and construction, and plenty of safety features. Cons - Not so great tires and brakes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mazda Tribute

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.