2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Change Vehicle
2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2001 Mercedes-Benz C240 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,785–$9,913
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 26–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

DO NOT PURCHASE

by Hate this car! from Ohio | November 27, 2013

I purchased this car 17 months ago - I have spent about $5,000 in repairs in the past 3 months! I'm afraid to get in this car everyday for fear that a new warning light will come on. Unless this is how you want to spend your money, look for another maker!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


2004 Tahoe Purchase

by Adam from Silver Spring, MD | July 27, 2012

They have a unique fast system to sell their cars, their prices are great, the customer service is great, I bought my car from them and am very happy with it. They truely take care of their customers and the cars that they sell their customers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good car at a good price

by Craig552 from Annapolis, MD | February 20, 2012

Bought a mint condition 2001 Mercedes C320 at local dealer for $10,900. So far, it has been a very good car. MPG is rated 20 city/24 highway, and I've been able to get 18 city/22 highway, so it is hard on gas even with a 3.2 V6. Very good acceleration and a quiet ride on city and highway streets. Standard stereo system is quite good. I got 194,000 trouble-free miles on a 1999 Mercedes C230 Kompressor and I'm hoping for the same reliability with this one. Repairs can be pricey, but few and far between.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car EVER

by MB Driver from Queens, NY | November 15, 2011

I drove a MB C320 for 11 years and only had one breakdown (alternator) outside of general maintenance. I found it incredibly reliable -- I was diligent about regular maintenance and oil changes and it paid off. It was a pleasure to drive. I loved it so much I bought a 2011 C300 4-matic, and wish I had not traded in the 2001!. It was pricey when I bought it in 2001.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Worst Car owned

by MB Driver from Florida | May 18, 2011

This model Mercedes is nothing but trouble. Expect to be in the shop once a month. Engine and transmission never had any issues but everthing else failed. How about you wake up one morning and your car does not recognize your key. Cost $1500 to replace the key module. Power Car seat does not move back and forward but works great up and down. Cost $700 to replace. Power Window Cost $300 to replace. CAM Sensor $ 600 to replace LCD screen goes blank in daytime heat- Not replaced PS: Don't expect to get great service from a dealer if you own low end MB. Stay away from this car and buy a Hundai instead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


most gorgeous car i ever owned C320

by rob from fayetteville, nc | October 29, 2010

this car is all looks. it will consistently breakdown but just before it breaks down it is a real head turner. performance is not great the engine is not great it has alot of luxury and no performance. it is just a for show car and to say you own a mercedes. the 3 point star is the only attraction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Not exactly reliable...

by Me from Illinois | July 22, 2010

I got this car at 160,000 miles, so I didn't really expect it to be perfect. But I also didn't expect it to stall in the middle of the road three times. The first and second time were because the computer was broken, and the third was because of a broken fuel pump. Other than these problems, which are probably just because of the high milage of the car, it drives great, even in the snow. The seats are comfortable and it's a pretty easy car to maintain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by samaritrey from Northern VA | December 19, 2009

Great car as long as you get c320 and not c240. very reliable (mine has 140k on it with no problems at all) make sure to maintain it properly and it will last forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car with style but expensive to maintain.

by Johnny from Hoffman Estates, IL | July 30, 2009

The best thing about this car is that the design stayed until 2008 before they came up with the new design in 2009. If you can get a warranty for this car it's well worth it. As at 50,000 my alternator had to be replaced, power windor motor on one door had to be replaced and the electronic that controls all the sensor had to be replaced. But then again who knows what the old owner did to this care when I bought it. They are not cheap either. I would recommended that you bring it to Mercedes dealer not to any small shop as one small mistake can cost you more money. But other than that performance is great!. Luxury looking that people look at you have money even though you are broke (haha). I would say mercedes are great car as I am always a fan of this car since I was young. Just make sure you maintain them and due your regular maintenance performance on it. By the way Hoffman Estates Illinois Mercedes dealer is highly recommended. They have well trained tech and talk about their service advisor very professional and friendly. For this car I would say go for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by car guy from rahway, nj | January 10, 2009

car is great this car never left me stranded, great respons and handeling and your friends will love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz C-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.