2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Change Vehicle
2001 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class
Available in 5 styles:  CLK 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$2,548–$12,980
Estimated MPG

17–21 city / 24–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

/ ///AMG: True German mussel car

by Mercedes dream car from San Jose, CA | November 20, 2013

The 2001 CLK55 AMG (W208) is a very special car. Driving it today I get nothing but looks and thumbs up as it still holds its ascetic value. The car has a naturally aspirated 5.4L V8 That was hand built in the AMG factory located in Germany. It can produce 0-60 in less than 5 seconds and nothing beats the 20+ mpg (when driven respectively). The interior of the car seems almost factory new and all electronic features function normally. The ride is very sporty yet still comfortable. Practicality is not the cars main point as it only has 3 passenger seats and limited leg/ head room in the back. The engine is the cars most prominent feature and is notorious for being extremely reliable when maintained properly. I myself have never seen another CLK55 in my area so it's nice to know that the car stands out from all the BMW's and Audi's.The CLK55 is an everyday drive that competes directly with the e36 or e46 bmw m3. The CLK55 blows the m3 out of the water when it comes to ride quality and brute performance for a lot less of the cost.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Clk 430 one of a kind

by Dell from New Orleans | February 1, 2012

This car is so fun to drive make you feel like a kid again. When i put the top down feels like a whole nother car plus the price was reasonable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


satisfied

by eric b from louisiana | September 24, 2010

i found my car on cars .com and iam completely satified with the purchase of this vehicle(mecedes benz clk 320)at first i had my doults about purchasing a vehicle that i never seen nor test drove ,but i am very satisfied with my purchase!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Mercedes I ever owned

by convertible fan from Cape Cod Mass | February 25, 2010

I have owned 7 Mercedes over the years, including 450SL, 380SL, 240D, 280S, etc. Most were admission to the 'Mercedes Repair Club' (although I loved every one) This vehicle was purchased with 93K miles from original owner. It now has 155K miles, all trouble free. Routine maintenance, a minor issue with top ($300 at dealer), some pesky electric issues with interior, and now some rust from NE winters, but all in all a great car. Plus 29 MPG!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


StyleThat Last Forever

by cruzan from Houston,Texas | January 18, 2010

Owned this car for 5yrs and it still looks good and drives great, no oil leaks and no major problem. In 5 yrs to date: one battery,one brake job, two sets of tires and oil changes. Hard to beat this car overall, it has it all power,style and reliability. I would recommend this vehicle to a friend. Previous car BMW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


High Class for low cash

by Johnny Hurryup from Tafton Pa. | September 16, 2009

Bought an '01 mint condition for $17k. This is my fourth Benz starting with a '67 SL . Super solid and quiet, tighter than any convertible I've owned. Fast, and gets me 28 mpg average. I worry about the reliability of all its' electronics, brake assist,stability control,etc,because warning lights come on and go out. I'm not rich but you'de have to be to service it at the dealer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Nothing runs like the CLK55 AMG

by Stlbob4904 from St. Louis, MO | September 7, 2009

When you first get in to the CLK55 AMG with the two-tone leather and navi system you know you are in for something special. The air-filled seats and wood trim let you know it is a Mercedes Benz. Once you turn the key (fob) and slightly tap the accelerator everything changes! The entrance ramp never felt so short...the cars never seemed to be driving so slowly. It takes just about 5 seconds to get to the speed limit...then another 7 or so to the next exit a quarter mile up the freeway...this thing flies! It's not as gawdy as BMW's M3...and not as pricey as the M5...but it sure can keep up! You'll need to roll down the windows to enjoy the full effect of the roar of the hand-made AMG motor as it revs high quickly shifting gears at precisely the right moment. If you're looking for your father's Benz this isn't it...if you're looking for pure driving ecstasy in a luxurious motor car, then the Mercedes Benz CLK55 AMG is THE car for you to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best car I've owned in 40 years

by gerry from wickford ri | January 2, 2009

Awesome bought used in 07 with 82000 for 15500 now 86000 no problems. 22mpg. Super fast and handles great. Super brakes

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


CLK 55 AMG; Absolutely amazing

by ematz from Naperville, IL | July 27, 2007

I recently purchased this car. It came fully loaded with everything Mercedes offered that vear. Navigation, voice command, even a aux. input for an MP3 device. The first thing you will notice is how blindly fast this car is. All Mercedes seam to have a sweet spot @ around 3500-5000 RPM in 3rd gear. This car will melt your face in that range. When it hits... hold on you won't believe it. The car only has a few down sides. Since it an AMG the suspension is very stiff. It does take some time to get used to, but with performance like this you need it. There were also several electrical problems like seat motors, A/C system, etc. Don't forget, MB parts can be expensive and when yours says AMG add even more to the price. If you get the chance drive one, if you get a second chance buy it. That's if you can pry the car out the owners cold dead hands.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


POWER HOUSE !!!!!! CLK430

by Richard from Washington, DC | March 16, 2007

What can be said, this thing is powerful. Mercedes did a wonderful job at tuning this car for performance needs. This engine has the feel of a Chevy small-block and it is smooth is its operation. 0-60 will take only 6.8 seconds or less. Shifts are quick and faultless. Handiling is great and the steering wheel lets you know whats going on, and it lets you know that you have alot of steel to turn. Its kinda heavy. No tilting steering colum though !! This is a 2+2 , so dont expect alot of room. Front seats are very supportive and offera wide range of adjustability. Controls are legibly marked and are easy to manage. However, these cars are expensive for the avereage person, so beware of repair costs w, should you inwuire about purchasing one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.