See Also: 1992 Mercedes-Benz 400 | 1992 Mercedes-Benz 300

1992 Mercedes-Benz 500

Change Vehicle

1992 Mercedes-Benz 500

Available in 3 styles:  500E 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
Get Value

Est. MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Still Going Strong

by the 11 year old kid who knows to much about cars from Hawthorn Woods, IL | November 25, 2010

"This car still runs well with a long lasting engine. Trying to find my way in the dark while it's raining is easy with the window washers for the front windshield and the headlights. This car helps get the job done especially at the airport, getting there with the roomy comfortable interior features for the long ride to packing all the luggage in the trunk. It goes faster than a new minivan with 160 mph and always get to the destination on time!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


very relaible

by diesel owner from Pa. | April 4, 2009

very very reliable excellent comfort better steering radius than a honda civic or any car i have ever owned excellent fuel mileage HWY avg. 38mpg also large fuel tank. i think 23 gal. definately would buy another. the bad: terrible in the snow!! better get strictly snow tires all the way around!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Looks Are Deceptive!

by Unsatisfied Driver from Roanoke, VA | February 18, 2008

This has to be the worst car I've ever owned. I bought the car used only to discover it frequently cut off while I was driving. I took it to at least 5 different mechanics 10 different times (including 2 Mercedes mechanics) and no one could figure out what was wrong. Any time I needed a part replaced, the cost was astronomical. The gas mileage was okay and it looked nice, but boy were looks deceptive! I will never buy from Mercedes again. Getting rid of this car was the best thing I ever did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Purchased car out of a quirk! Very nice indeed.

by Mick the click from Seattle, WA | January 29, 2008

1992 300E sedan, 2-wheel standard model. 145K-miles and smooth! Since age and no car is perfect, there were 2 things to watch for as the trunk lid is not perfect. Notice the wear on left support arm where a spring is mounted. Look-out! One other thing is to make sure that the front electric AC cooling fans have an inline fuse to protect from short circuit conditions. Otherwise, very nice car- to be sure. Can always impress the many who experience it. A keeper!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


BEAUTIFUL THEN, AND BEAUTIFUL NOW!

by Robert from perth amboy, nj | July 17, 2007

My family's first Mercedes was a 1992 300E sedan, that car was amazing in its day and still is now, we bought it in 93 when it was a year old for 32,000 and even though the value has decreased my love for the car and all my memories with it have not. Even though we dont drive it as much as our other cars we've had it for over 10 years and expect to have it for another 10. That car is what made us realize just how well German cars are made and built to last, i can guarantee any nissan or toyota would not last as long as this car. the only major problems we've ever had were the alternator and the ignition needed replacement. other than that NOTHING! this car led my family to buy a 2003 e320(used which is another German masterpiece , and a 2002 c230 kompressor sport coupe which is an amazing car with incredible pick up, i beleive all these cars will be with our family for a very long time. Keep on doing what your doing Mercedes!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


"It Is What it Is - A Good Value for the Moneyl"

by Sedan and Sports Car Lover from Lexington, KY | March 18, 2007

After 1 1/2 years, my 1992 300SE still runs fine. At 1/10th the original price and purchased with an odometer of 166,000 "it is what it is"; a good value for the money, 15 years later. I enjoy several types of vehicles; one is "the tank" commonly referred to as luxury sedan. Do I trust it? When purchased, this car was older and had more miles on it than any car I'd previously ever SOLD. Aside from a blown headlight and spark plug wires, this is still a vehicle I do trust. We regularly drive 1200 miles roundtrip to Florida and enjoy both a nice ride and power that is in keeping with the size. For the price, it has been an excellent choice. Does it have GPS, side air bags, and blinkers in the mirror? No. Does it require a little more TLC and regular maintenance. Sure. For the price, considering the age, this is an excellent ride. I will enjoy the upgrade to a newer, similar vehicle in a few years, after the "break in" period.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


nice mid size luxury car

by 400E driver from phoenix,Az | February 11, 2007

great drive.Handles well.Lots more power than 300E of same year.New owners should consider after market warrenty.I perchased one for 3 years unlimited miles for 1300.00.I bought car with 113000 miles.Still drives like new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Unhappy Buyer

by Unhappy Mercedes Buyer from Plano, TX | May 20, 2006

I purchased this car today. Gorgeous inside and out. Drove excellent on the test drives. Seemed to be a perfect car. Boy was I wrong! On the drive home the car was pouring out smoke and loudly knocking! This car was such a pretty car. In such great cosmetic shape. Too bad this car is such an unreliable drive. Had such possibilities. Unfortunately, you cannot judge a book by its cover! Don't waste your time purchasing this car. Chances are, you could be like me...own the car for less than twenty minutes, before you are faced with returning it or your very first repair bill! This car doesn't even deserve one star. Couldn't even last a little drive home. The only reliable thing about this car is that it will break down. Sooner rather than later. And you will be loving this car all right, FOLLOWING it in a tow truck! Beware of the older Mercedes!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz 500

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.