See Also: 1993 Mercedes-Benz 300

1993 Mercedes-Benz 400

Change Vehicle
1993 Mercedes-Benz 400
Available in 2 styles:  400E4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

14–18 city / 18–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

The 2.5 diesel is the best car they ever made

by hog wild from Norfolk,VA | March 10, 2013

My first 2.5 diesel had over 350,000 miles on it when ib was totaled...I have been looking for another and just bought a 1992 diesel with 176,000 miles that is just getting broken in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Disapointed

by X Mercedes Lover from | October 8, 2012

I purchased this vehicle a year ago and have put under 3oo miles on it. $3000.00 in repairs and it sits in my driveway still not running.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Fabulous car

by Benz Enthusiast from Colorado | July 20, 2012

I've owned my 300CE for 7 years, purchased with 125,000 miles and now has 254,000 miles. Car is still as solid as the day she was purchased. Fun car to drive, silky smooth engine and tranny with incredible torque for car of this age. Love the classic Benz styling and old school lines. THIS WAS THE REAL MERCEDES-BENZ ERA!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Incredibly solid ride and high comfort w/excellent

by straussdss,current owner and prior owner same car from bocaRaton,boston | June 5, 2011

Have owned two; both remarkably reliable, excellent road handling quality; good torque at low speeds with strong 6 cyliner straightinline engine; very smooth a powerful at speeds over 50 up to 100mph, top keeps road noise to a minimum (as compared to several other cars owned);leather seats and fine traveling vehicle; suggest water repelling tire treads, slightly oversized also good,always use high test, never pinging,find a good mechanic for maintenance and they are available!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A True Classic

by LoveClassics from LA | November 8, 2008

in 25 years I've had as many cars, but this one I've had since 2001 - bought used with 80k miles. First year I put a lot of money in it - typical for cars with those miles. At 110k mile the car has been incredibly dependable, very solid and a beautiful car to drive - and I'm VERY particular. But that's why I bought it. It's the first true performance sedan and it's a Mercedes - old school - their great straight 6 engine which is smooth as silk, torquey from idle to redline, quiet and indestructible. THe suspension is sublime as with all Benzes - but again this is old school with more weight, more windings on the coil springs, no electronic aids that spoil the driving experience like in the latest model. Everyone who love Benz should own one of these at some point in their lives. After 7 years I ready to move on, but I've savored every mile and gotten much more than I paid for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Nice Car

by Car Enthusiast from Kansas City, KS | November 25, 2007

I drove a 300E and it drives very nice and handles great. The features are good for such an old car and it's fairly reliable but never left stranded in the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Red Benz

by RDE2710 from Richmond, VA. | July 14, 2006

I have driven this vehicle over 110,000 miles and the ride is still very smooth and quite reliable. However, I have replaced the condenser (over $3000), wiring harness (over $1500), resonator ($500) along with all the normal maintanence and wear and tear. The car has been garaged but the paint has faded materially. I do not believe that the Benz is worth the premium you pay for the vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz 400

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.