2003 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Change Vehicle

2003 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2003 Mercedes-Benz E500 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,170–$15,098

Estimated MPG

14–20 city / 21–27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Nice looking car but not reliable

by Malab43 from NJ | February 1, 2014

I owned 2003 e320 since 2005. Bought with 29k miles on it. My first 3 years was great, no problem at all and runs great, but after approximately 3 years with 70k miles, the nightmare begun. Replaced the air suspension unit, ball joint, lower/upper arm, some parts for heating system, then recently while driving in really cold weather Abs/bas/esp/brakes lights came on and started making squicking noise and then all of sudden the rear window shattered in a million pieces. Brought to shop and it cost me several thousands to replace all kinds of modules, rear window, brake system, etc. I researched on line for any recalls and found out that there are recalls back in 2005 about brake hydraulics and electrical system. I reported it to MB corporate but they said the recalls are not legit. With this multiple problems occurred happened all at the same time I strongly believe that there are some issue with electrical system but MB is no help at all. Please think twice before buying MB.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


reliable

by Mason H from Opa Loca, Fl | January 8, 2014

E320 is very roomy, very reliable, very smooth in driving. My wife and kids love this car. This car is very reliable, fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Greatest E320 ever

by Mr Mr from texas from dallas fortworth,TX | November 5, 2012

Great car ,runs very strong ,excellent handling and performance, all i had to do is keep up with the recommended maintenance . I will buy another E320 any time .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Lucked out on this one!

by Geno from Indiana | March 20, 2012

Was browsing Cars.com one Saturday morning and came across a one owner 2003 E500 with 54K miles for $17,000 at a local Nissan dealership. As I could not believe that this vehicle had such low miles and was flawless per the pictures, I immediately raced to dealership to check it out. In short, I purchased the vehicle after the test drive. Priced to move as the dealers pre-owned section was overflowing and of course due to V8 engine. Use vehicle primiarily for highway driving/road trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


horsepower a plenty

by fast eddie from houston, tx | March 5, 2012

This E55 is beyond expectation, with 469 horsepower and 516 ft/lbs of torque, the car gives any 911 a run for the money, and you can bring 4 of your friends with you in total luxury and comfort. Try to stuff the in a Porsche or even an Audi, and leave any BMW in the dust.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Bad Deal

by Car Researcher from alexandra, va | September 3, 2011

Excellent drive - sounds good; however has missing parts on the inside. price has increased 700 dollars since Sept 2

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


This is an elegant car

by Elclaro from Santa cruz, CA | June 12, 2011

Its a beutiful car lot of power. this car is better that a bmw and of course Parts are cheaper that volvo audi an even bmw This car is your best option.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Safety First

by New MB Driver from Rockland NY | November 22, 2010

We bought a 2003 E320 4matic because we needed a used family car (as an alternative to driving our SUV all the time). My most important factor was safety as we were putting three kids in car seats in back seat. The E320 accomodates the 3 seats and doesn't feel completely cramped. Also, has head and side curtain as wll as the typical front airbags. What we also got in an 8 year old model year is incredible styling, handling, power (ours has v6 but, make no mistake, it goes). Since we have had it we've had some warning lights come on and then goe off appears to be sensor on the way out. But mechanically sound. My suggestion, if you want a great used car, find older MB with lower mileage, have it checked by mechanic for obvious major flaws, and then if no problems, buy it. Put some money aside for repairs if needed, that way you won't get scared away when people say - ohh - those are so expensive to fix. Because, I hate to say this, but our 8 year old Mercedes drives better than any brand new American or Japanese car I've driven, and it was half the price since it is 8 years old. Remember, when you buy a used quality car like this, you could replace practically the entire drive train and still be better off than buying a brand new basic car. And, you've purchased one of the safest cars out there, and one that holds the record for most miles on original engine (Volvo holds most total - but engine has been rebuilt twice)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


This was my car!

by Mr. B from St. Paul, MN | July 9, 2010

I am the guy who just traded this car for an Odyssey. $67,000 buys a lot of car today. Imagine what it bought in 2003. There is not another one like it within 500 miles. The keyless go is sweet. You never have to take the key out of your pocket. The car unlocks itself when you get to it and then you push a button to start the car. It is also equipped with distronic which is a radar controlled cruise control. I will miss this feature the most. You set the cruise and if someone pulls in front of you it will slow down on its own and then return to speed when they get out of the way. It will also alert you if you are about to hit someone. Finally, it is really fast/quick. It is after all a 5 liter V8. My wife will miss that part. -B

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2003 E500 Great Performance and Reliable

by Mercedes E500 from San Francisco, CA | January 16, 2010

I owned my E500 for a few years, and I'm very satisfied with it. It has a great performance, and lots of luggage space (especially if you have the fold down rear seat option).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz E-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.