2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Change Vehicle
2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Available in 8 styles:  2004 Mercedes-Benz E320 4dr AWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,330–$17,098
Estimated MPG

14–19 city / 20–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Good Quality Car

by Northern VA Purchaser from Northern, VA | June 25, 2014

In general, good quality car. interior controls are better laid out than our previous 1999 E320 Wagon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Its an ok deal but....

by M from | October 13, 2013

This car is ok but the price should be lower. It has some scratches in the paint. The interior is a little worn but ok. The cd player doesn't work and there is a bubble in the passenger side front tire. Other wise its an ok vehicle. Because its priced as is the dealer refused to repair the cd player which could be very costly to repair. The sales staff is very nice though and will work with you the best way possible, just make sure that the vehicle you purchase is completely detailed and everything works before your purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Mercedes E-320 Wagon

by ET from North Carolina | October 4, 2011

I absolultey LOVE my car, it is roomy, classy and luxurious at the same time. It is my 5th Mercedes and a perfect fit for my family...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Pride of Ownership

by Crazy for Mercedes-Benz from Fort Wayne, IN | April 13, 2011

When I purchased my E-Class just 2 months ago as a used vehicle, little apprehensive if it was a good buy or not. In just 2 months, I have had $2,370 in repairs. Fearful of the next big repair. Module in dashboard had to be replaced ($1,500), auxilary battery ($250), lower ball joint ($300), some interior trim ($200) --- diagnostic charges to discover malfunctions ($300). Lots of dependable power under the hood (E-500). Rides smoothly. Interior design is creative and sporty with 2-tone trim and wood accents; leather seats. Roomy enough to transport 3 additional passengers in comfort. Overall exterior design is classy with interesting lines. Stylish rims. Great factory sound system. This is the 5th Benz I have owned! Believe that Mercedes-Benz is one of the most beautiful machines on the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I would buy another anytime

by DrPete from Raleigh, NC | November 20, 2010

The performance and styling are flawless. For this particular model there were 3 areas of improvement: (i) location of the navigation/radio system, (ii) a/c and (iii) privacy shades. MB product managers catched-up with those improvements in the later models. This is one of the best cars I have driven over the past 30 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Over prize car I owed

by Punchie from Maryland | July 20, 2010

Not reliable and very expensive to maintain. It falls apart after 100K. Dealers over charge for any and all repair. Will not recommend to friend

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


The most expensive car I've owned

by Lumpy from Florida | March 13, 2010

How can a car that costs $55,000+ be built so terribly? Just for starters the four plastic door locks all broke, I had to replace the cup holder ($100) twice, vanity mirror plastic cover broke ($90), two batteries ($1,00+), power steering pump ($1,000+)and on and on. The electronic system goes out and then miraculously repairs itself and finally, the gas line canister and filter are bad causing my garage to reek of gas when I fill up the car. I just got rid of this lemon and purchased a new Japanese car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Killer looks for a wagon and yet seats seven.

by Car Nut from Baltimore, MD | August 24, 2008

This Benz is not slouch. If you can get one of these babies in lieu of those gas hog SUV models you are in luck. Good looks, power, comfort and still room for seven. Oh yes, did I forget the great MB safety history. Mine has the keyless power liftgate too. A handy feature when your hands are full of groceries or picking up the little ones. Dump the mine van and get something of value like a used Mercedes Benz Wagon 4Matic

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Everything I every expected and more

by Loving the Benz from Sarasota, FL | January 31, 2007

I love my car, the size, comfort, handling, piece of mind from the reliablility and all the airbags. I will buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


E500 4matic- great car, a few catches...

by Anycar Expert from Philadelphia, PA | June 27, 2006

We bought the E500 in the middle of 2004 as a new car. Compared to our former car, a 1997 E320, it dominated it in every comparison. Maybe it's not completely right to compare them, as the old one had only front wheel drive and a smaller 3.2 liter V6 engine compared to all wheel drive and a 5.0 liter V8 with 302 horses, and about a $7,500 price difference, but when compared, the stats aren't the only thing in a completely different league. As for the E500, the performance is very good, particularly the handling, and even more the handling in..."close encounters." The one, major, downside of this handling, which Mercedes realized and corrected for the 2006 model year, was that the E500 was only available with the otherwise optional 19 inch wheels. They're great for driving on tracks, but one pot hole and bang! not only a popped tire but a broken wheel, $2500 to replace, which, after the fifth one, can become a bit of an inonvienence. The interior is great, as with most Mercedes, a real improvement over the older car, with Burl Walnut wood, fantastically comfortable leather seats, and it all fit together splendidly. Electronically, this was before Mercedes began installing the Command system, so it was nice and simple to control everything from the radio the the suspension mode. Taking all this into account, one can't forget that this a product of the Chrysler-owned Mercedes brand, otherwise meaning that reliability isn't exactly te strongest point, particulary electronic...errors. I'm not to sure about how the safety features really hold up as the handling is so good that I haven't needed it, not to mention the four wheel drive that is a real improvement compared to only two wheel drive. The level of prestige that comes with this car, combined with the many appealing features, and the SOS button for those not so appealing, combine to make this car a great bet, new as we bought it in '04, or used for and prospective buyers now. I hope this review helps and good luck finding a car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz E-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.