2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Change Vehicle

2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2004 Mercedes-Benz ML350 4dr AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,670–$12,850

Estimated MPG

14–15 city / 17–18 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

FIRST TIME BENZ OWNER

by JNOISE from westchester. new york | April 1, 2012

I BOUGHT MY BENZ WITH 65000 K OTHER THAN THE RADIO NOT WORKING AS WELL AS THE FOG LAMP....THE ENGINE IS A DELIGHT AS WELL.AS THE TRANNY....the key thing is regular maintenance..if you take of it..it takes care of you....ml 500 has ample.power and torque to.satisfy..yes it drinks gas as a v8 should be the ride is one of a kind..will trade for a later ml 550 down the rode .... :-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very classy, and comfortable suv!

by Soccer mom! from Whitesboro, texas | March 3, 2012

This car is very comfortable and pretty good on gas mileage! Runs great and very safe!Amazing features in this car, automatic everything, very roomy, an third row seating makes it a very convenient vehicle for my daughter and her friends! Also, Mercedes run a long time and for many, many miles! The beat car by far that I've ever owned!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


BEST VALUE

by DAVID from moraga ca | June 14, 2011

After looking at Bmw X5 and X3 the Volo and Vw Suv I found that the ML is the best deal, So I went and got one, !st of all this car stands in snow I go to tahoe Weekly....2 nd Very reliabe ,3rd Super safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great winter vehicle in Midwest

by Northern climate from Indiana | April 17, 2011

We had a 24 inch snowfall in one 24 hours timeframe back in January (on top of prior several other more modest 5 and 6 inch snowfalls). Was able to drive without much effort. Even when several other cars (Pontiac Grand Am and Mazda) were jackknifed and stuck in snow at an intersection up ahead and their passengers were trying to push them out of snow, I was able to drive ML around them or back out through the one plowed lane. Does drink gas. But when you want to go in snow this does moves you very nicely. Obviously, if you live in a more southern climate where you only receive one 4 or 8 inch snowfall per year, owning an AWD like this probably isn't as big a priority.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2004 ML500

by StainMan from Orlando, Florida | September 24, 2010

This vehicle is everything that Mercedes claims it to be, safe, reliable and trustworthy. Rides like a dream on the road, has plenty of power and room inside with all the Mercedes amenities and can pull just about anything. Off road, it has the best handling of any 4 wheel vehicle I have ever taken off road. I reccommend this vehicle (163 model, 2005 and below) to anyone who is looking for comfort and performance and can afford the gas money, it is not cheap!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Solid automobile

by Jimmy from Indiana | April 15, 2010

Purchased automobile back in 2004 from dealer as service loaner with 7,000 miles and now has 115,000 miles. Overall, this has been a solid automobile with great utility. Regular service with any Mercedes-Benz is not for the faint of pocketbook and as another reviewer pointed out the dealer can really make a difference in the your perception. Pro's to the vehicle have been its solidness (you can tell when you shut the door), quality and durability of materials used, good handling in weather and emergency situations, as well as lots of safety features. Con's have been component replacement: brakes as another reviewer mentioned (although dealer replaced for free twice) and which stops great, but last about 25,000 miles; camshaft sensor; Oxygen sensors (all 4); alternator; and power steering pump. An impressive feature was the limp home mode when the alternator failed - it started shutting systems down to get the car home. Moved from an Expedition to the ML350. ML350 fuel economy was much better at overall 18 mpg and was a better value for about the same money. It has also been a better fit for our needs as it is roomy for a mid-size SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


How Can People Stand This Thing?

by Fuzzy from Irvine, CA and Flagstaff, AZ | November 14, 2009

My girlfriend got this car for her birthday about 2.5years ago. Since then it has gone in every 6months for another problem. Engine mounts, leaking power steering, fuel injector, headlights, seats, and at least three other leaks. It rides rougher than my 86 V**** (Swedish car maker), every bump jerks your head, it feels even heavier than it is. Whoever designed the brake and fuel pedal response deserves to be slapped. When matched with the transmission the gas will either do nothing or overreach. The brakes require way too much force to stay stopped at a light. There is so little space in the back that we took a Honda Civic on a road trip - not because of fuel but because it had more usable space. Oh and my favorite is that it averages 13mpg, 21 on a road trip across nearly flat land. It is the second worst car I have ever had the misfortune of driving/riding in. The worst was one that had just rolled down a 20ft hill ending up on the roof. I love cars, I read 4 car magazines a month, and I have driven dozens of cars. This is a terrible car: design, build, mechanics, and running cost. I have been kicking myself for selling my 86 V**** (Swedish car maker) station wagon - I would rather be driving a car without traction control or airbags. The old thing got much better mileage, had more space, rode better, and was more comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great car

by Joe Mercedes from New York | August 13, 2009

I've got a 2004 ML350 with several upgrades. It's got a wood interior, phone, navigation, multi-CD. I love the power. The only complaint I've got is the brakes. I've had to replace them a couple of times, but it's a minor thing. No major complaints even after 86k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


cannot ask for more

by mercedes lover from minneapolis, mn | November 24, 2008

completely satisfied. a great mercedes benz. luxury with great performance. i am sure you'll like it too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great SUV

by Mercedes Enthusiast from Columbus, Ohio | May 30, 2008

I purchased this SUV used with only 42k and have had nothing but high praise for the dealerships, and the quality itself. This SUV came from the South and I moved to the "rust belt" and fell in love with the handling and off road that I never had in the Southern States! Never will I be stuck in the snow or worry about bad weather...great heated seats, leather, and general quality. Many people say that it has a bad quality reputation - I can say that Mercedes came through and created a very nice quality SUV. Perfect buy on the used SUV market at half the price of a new one! This is my 3rd used Mercedes and many more in the future!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class.


Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz M-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.