1991 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Change Vehicle

Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
Get Value

Est. MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

1991 Mercedes 420 SEL

by Papa Maury from Washington State | January 9, 2014

I have a large family (biggest is 6'-9") and need a LARGE car. The new cars just don't cut it. The '91 was the last of the biggies, and I love it. Aside from good looks, great ride and control, you had better not plan on a low-maintenance marriage. This car will go forever, and be envied by the Hoi-Poloi, but there is a reason for the terrifying drop in resale value. The cost of upkeep is horrendous, Better than my Rolls, but not by much. It is, however a very reliable runner with decent gas mileage, something that cannot be said of a Roller. I am thinking of buying a Smart Car to put in the trunk to replace the spare tire.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


420SEL

by kmars09 from Myrtle Beach, SC | January 27, 2012

I purchased this car in 2005...it was 14 years old. Other than regular maintenance, it has been trouble free. The A/C was converted by M-B and is not as cold as the old refrigerant. The overall quality is excellent. I love the interior, it's very comfortable and quiet. The trunk is huge. They styling turns heads, and I get compliments regularly. This is easily the best car I have ever owned. I highly recommend buying one...just make sure the one you get is not abused, as a well maintained S-Class will be a loyal and true friend that will last a long time..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Perfection to a "T"

by Mercedes Mama from Covington, Georgia | January 16, 2012

You may correctly guess that this was and will always be my perfect car. It was everything I ever wanted in a car - comfort, style, reliability. To me, it was my introduction to driving a car beyond the everyday experience. The only thing that separated us was someone running a red light and even that proved the safety factor in this car. It protected me from what could have been a deadly crash. It was built for safety and stability. I cannot say enough about the beauty of this vehicle. It truly was my perfect car! Never turn down the opportunity to own one of these fabulous cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I'll own this car a really really long time

by Missy from Southern California | August 26, 2011

Love this car--I bought it used 7 years ago and plan to drive it to 250K miles and beyond. Only complaint: The HVAC system is rather primitive. AC is adequate but the heater is pretty much on or off. Fortunately it' not much of an issue here in SoCal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Owned four of them...

by calbear from Newport Beach, CA | July 10, 2010

Exceptional match of engine and transmission. 5.6 Litre, big block V8, with 287 foot lbs. torque. Most nicely-sculpted MBZ ever?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Mercedes 350SDL

by gravytrain416 from Greensboro, NC | May 17, 2010

Mercedes built a long well-deserved history of building the best diesel-powered cars ever. They threw that out the window when the 3.5L diesel was built. Very seldom will you find a 350SD, 350SDL, S350D, or 1992-93 300SD (still a 3.5L) that hasn't had an engine replacement by 100K miles. Mercedes had a good thing going with the 3.0L 5-cyl. and 6-cyl. engines. My 1984 300SD 5-cyl. car has 676,700 miles, still going on the original engine with no overhaul. You'll never see that with a 3.5 engine. The car itself is a work of art, awesome quality, but the engine is junk. As an avid MB diesel enthusiast with many years experience, I wouldn't recommend a 3.5L MB diesel to my worst enemy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


1991 MB 560 SEC A classic in the showroom

by Mercedes Man from Sacramento, CA | March 18, 2009

What a wonderful driving machine! This car has heart and soul. It has rock solid reliability and is a pleasure to drive. The controls are clear concise and easy to reach. Visibility is tremendous. You can ride in it all day and not be beat up. It is a heavy well handling car that loves the open road. It has great acceleration cornering and braking. I will drive this car the rest of my days if it is up to me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Nice Ride

by German cars R' me from Chicago | July 11, 2006

Solid car,will run 250,000 miles easy.Very good on gas,average 20..MPG Only needed tires And brakes because I drove it, let's say tough.Mercedes built a premier car then.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned!

by Car guy from Cincinnati, OH | June 30, 2006

I've had quite a few...this one was awesome. Very reliable. Burned some oil but didn't leak a drop (of any fluid). Very reliable. Only downfall: poor milage! Not an economy car. Smooth ride. Much more reliable than newer Mercedes. They should have continued making these!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz S-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.