2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Change Vehicle
2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Available in 6 styles:  2005 Mercedes-Benz S430 4dr AWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$5,463–$22,639
Estimated MPG

12–17 city / 19–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great Experience

by Tdog from Portland Oregon | September 29, 2013

Found the car online contacted the owner and set it an appointment for a pre purchase inspection. The car passed with flying colors. We set a price and I purchased the car. Thanks to cars.com I found the car I was looking for. Thank you!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car.

by James from Richmond, TX | February 27, 2013

Just a great car, well designed and performance is wonderfully. I will recommend this car to my.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Value

by AS from Greater Chicago | February 13, 2013

I'm a long time Mercedes owner, and my old S320 (95) finally decided to ride off into the sunset. I found a replacement in a '05 S500 4Matic that is sensational. The all wheel drive works well in the snow (albeit with a 1-2 mpg decrease in fuel efficiency). While the outside is slightly smaller, the interior room is exactly the same as my old '95, and the leather detail is extraordinary. Moving up to the 5L v8, the acceleration is sports-car like. For the price, this was a great deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


bang for the buck

by value from boston | April 16, 2012

best car i have ever owned!!! I paid 75000.00 it was a bargain 126000 miles are on the car and it rides and performes like new

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car I've Purchased out of Many!

by Big Pat from Long Island, NY | June 16, 2011

Simply the best highway ride you can have for the money. The torque is phenomenal and handling is superb!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


GREATEST CAR EVER!!!!

by The car enthusiast from New York, NY | October 9, 2010

I bought a used 2005 S55 AMG for 50 grand, and let me tell you!!!! This car is absolutley amazing. This car is considered a "super-sedan" Any one, and every one who knows something about cars knows that greatness of this car!!!! Has incredably fast pick-up, and head-turning sound and looks. 500 horsepower is more than anyone will ever want....and its pretty fuel efficient too!!! It is also very reliable too! My friends has over 100,000 miles on it, and its only been in the shop for routine check-ups! NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS!!! And he drives it pretty insanely! The interior ergonomics are great, and the design is even better. The transmission's tiptronic mode is great, being able to switch gears via paddle-shifters, or the stick......but NO CLUTCH!!! I am pretty sure every single car I buy for now on will be this one!! NOW DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR, AND GO AND BUY ONE!!!!(that is if you can even find one, considering how rare they are).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


EXCELLENT Like new condition!

by Matt from Palo Alto CA | August 14, 2010

This car looks like it just rolled off of the production line! No dust, no smust, no dings, nicks or scrapes. Only thing missing is the new car smell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


'05 MB S430

by cltgpc from charlotte nc | January 29, 2010

Great car in many respects, but lots of problems with the electronics in the center console: CD, Nav, radio, etc etc. Fortunately, all covered in warranty up to this point, but the warrabty just expired, so it's time to sell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz S-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.