2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Change Vehicle
2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Available in 8 styles:  2006 Mercedes-Benz S430 4dr AWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$5,016–$27,556
Estimated MPG

12–17 city / 19–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

its awsome

by Paula from Miami, Fl | January 2, 2014

Drving this car is absolutely awesome. I love it!!! It runs great and its ortable! Thank you, Best Price Car Dealer!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Reliable

by Car Enthusiast from The Woodlands Texas | December 28, 2011

Drive the vehicle before reviewing it.............. The comfort is Unbelieveable & a Mercedes that must be driven to value it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Decent vehicle. I'm somewhat satisfied...

by Maurice from Ohio | May 21, 2011

Overall, I'm happy I purchased the car. Feel like I may have paid slightly too much. Had leaking gas tank issues and tire sensors are inoperative. Didn't know these things when I purchased the vehicle but they are now my responsibility : ( Of course the extended warranty I purchased didn't cover these items! I've had the car for a year. No other complaints. Rides smooth and the AMG package looks nice. Unfortunately I scratched both rear rims parallel parking and hitting a curb. My next tire purchase will have rim protectors. My wife loves the car and drives it mostly : )

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Mercedes "S"

by Eng256 from Exton, PA | May 11, 2011

Bought this car 3 months ago, and other than having to change my driving style to compensate for the bulk and weight of the car, it is working out great. Economy is not its best suit - Round town I get 16-18 mpg, but on highways (any run over 50 miles) I am getting 24+ mpg. I hope the 4Matic is as good as claimed to be, we will check it out next winter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Fits like a glove

by Boss-S55 from Boston | December 3, 2010

You have to have your expectations in the right place. If you buy a used car, Mercedes or otherwise, you'll likely have some issues creep up. Key to buying a used Mercedes is to know the owner so as to the know the car. Stereotypes hold true which is why they are stereotypes. AMGs are owned by a certain crowd so I walk into buying my car knowing (and expecting) a lot of issues. That said, it's the only large car that fits like a glove. You know the feeling you have when you put on your favorite pair of jeans/shoes/gloves or that power suit which always gets you the deal? Yes, that is this car. Other cars (except current BMW 7) are almost stand-off-ish by how far away all the panels are. With this car, the seat and dash wrap around you and no control is ever far away. Ride is exceptional and power is just plain stupid. Engineering? How about this: there are as many brake pistons on ONE front caliper on this car as ALL 4 in a police car. As near as makes no difference, 500 hp, 500 lb/ft, 185 mph top speed, 14.2" 8-pot brakes and every luxury conceivable. It's utterly stupid. Gripes: it is very costly to own. Budget $5k for suspension @ 70k, lots of electrical niggles, $2k to replace a failed COMAND (most likely in my case because of an aftermarket car-audio place mucked it up), $100 per oil change, coupes will eat the wires that go to the doors @ the hinge, fuses and heaven help you if you hit something. Bumpers are $1500 unpainted and AMG parts are double that. Driving it: God Himself wonders why this car exists, but while He's doing that, any owner will tell you, it's utterly intoxicating to drive. No one needs more than 300 hp, but while you have nigh-on double that, why not enjoy: highway passing is effortless and instantaneous, 0-60 is unimaginably fast and despite a severely nose-heavy understeer, late braking is met with a touch of power-on oversteer in severe corners. it's a true gentlemen's uberluxury super-sport sedan. And, it makes the twice-as-costly S65 irrelevant.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The best car I have owned

by Enthusiast for high quality & exotic cars from Petaluma, CA | October 6, 2010

These cars are above everything else and on the German Autobahn the S500 is still considered the "Boss". When it comes to quality these cars are the best in the business, period.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Wonderful car

by 2006 S500 from Bay Area, California | April 26, 2009

What a gorgeous car. It's the best ride and it makes me feel like a million bucks. Very high expectations by non-Mercedes owners is the reason why you read bad Mercedes reviews. But it takes a real Mercedes owner to appreciate a Mercedes. The engineering and designs are all with careful thought. Owners need to read their owner's manual and become familiar with the features and engineering intended for driving pleasure. Originally, my car was $89,000. You can get a 2006 (3-years-old) for S500 with wood steering wheel and other features for less than $29,000. What a great value for a wonderful car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


very nice

by autobuff from Ca | December 8, 2008

all you would expect from the top of the MB line. Classic good looks, no interior noise, smooth handling. A very good car for the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Mercedes fanatic

by Benz Fan from Chicago, IL | November 8, 2008

Mercedes S-Class is advertised as the flagship of the brand however the W220 (production 1999 through 2006) version is a HUGE disapointment. Mercedes drivers expect some outdated technologies in their car as well as "pay for play" options but the technology in this car is sub-par with every other luxury car in this market. Chevy and Ford offer better technology in their mid-range vehicles. The W220 was an attempt by Mercedes to listen to the critics an the car is plagued with malfunctions and frumpy asthetics. Do not buy this car, you will be much more satisfied with either a W140 (90's version) or a competitors car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz S-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.