2003 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Change Vehicle

2003 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2003 Mercedes-Benz SL500 2dr Roadster shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$12,526–$33,306

Estimated MPG

14–15 city / 20–22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Very Nice

by luvtheride from Colorado Springs | April 2, 2014

I have the 2003 SL 55 AMG with just over 50k miles. Its funny how some reviews of the SL 55 AMG have numerous problems and some seem to have very few or no problems. I'm one of the lads who has had nothing but a great experience after my first 15 months in. This car is a joy to drive. It gets a ton of heads turning. The only issue I have had was changing the tires and rims and the TPMS had an issue resetting. The Mercedes Dealer wanted $1,500 for new sensors installed. So, I purchased a manual gauge at O'Reillys and take career of it that way. Although, I check every week, I have never lost any pressure. The best way is to do a visual of your tires anyway. Great fun. Wonderful ride for short jaunts and long drives.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Experimenting with a 2003 SL500

by Fitfunny from Dallas,TX | March 26, 2014

Bought an eleven year old low mileage 2003 SL500, so far only two malfunctioned lights have come on (brakes and electricity off line, and the a/c does not seem to work.)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Mercedes sl55

by Carman from | April 28, 2013

Excellent car to drive, fun and exciting. Must see and test drive the car to feel the responsiveness and control of this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


benz 2003 sl55

by singman from san antonio,tx | January 22, 2013

first of all, this site is so ez to use! very friendly! and this car is in great shape. i am going to hovey's to test drive it. now i know what to expect! thanx cars.com. rob

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


a dream

by Alex22 from Alamogordo, NM | October 10, 2012

wunderfull car for people with money in backround. every ride you have a big smile. enjoy it! The engine is perfect, handling perfect. My next car will be also a SL.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


All I can ever say is WOW!

by SL500 Owner and I lover it! from Long Island NY | July 21, 2012

This is such an amazing piece of auto engineering. If you want a sports car feel in the ultimate luxury then this is the car for you. Yes, you will pay a steep price but it is worth every penny and then some. You have to drive it to know for sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BEST CAR EVER

by scorpion from staten island, ny | June 27, 2012

Never owned a nicer, cooler, most comfortable car ever. The convertible option works great. Drives amazingly. Best handling. Looks gorgeous.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Biggest waste of money

by SoCal EX Sl500 owner from LA | April 1, 2012

Where do I begin .. the 2003 has plagued with issues, ABC Leaks, Gas tank baffle comes loose, Trunk pump bad.. I paid 28k for this and getting 13k in trade because of the $5000 repairs I am not willing to make to it for the KNOWN issues with the ABC system. At some point I need to stop putting money into something that has not held its value! This was my first and LAST mercedes... Come on Mercedes this was a 90k car new, 8 years later a toyota ford festiva is more reliable!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


A great car buy!

by cool car guy from Houston, TX. | February 1, 2012

After months of looking cars.com got me in touch with a seller in Fortworth TX. On the internet it was a beauty. When I got to see and drive it it was everything I had hoped. The body was flawless. It drove well and it had every option you could want in a luxury sports car. The leather was in good shape and the mileage was low (54,000)for the age. Car.com you came through for me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love the Ride and the Look

by Benz Gal from Joplin,Mo | December 19, 2011

This is the second Mercedes Benz SL500 that I have owned. My first one got crunched in the Joplin tornado, but I knew I had to have another. The performance, reliability and ride are like no other. Big thumbs up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.