2004 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Change Vehicle

2004 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Mercedes-Benz SL500 2dr Roadster shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$13,644–$36,144

Estimated MPG

13–16 city / 19–23 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Head turner overdrive

by Sl500 owner from Minneapolis | May 31, 2013

A great classy car with a sporty image. Handles like a sport car. Tight steering stif shocks corners well. I keep my car real clean and always love getting the heads to turn. Boost male ego. If you don't drive it everyday the 2md battery will get low. Get a battery charger and resolves this problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Wow! What a price!

by tina from chicago, IL | October 20, 2012

GREAT CAR! Reliable, beautiful and powerful. This car retails at over $110,000, so to get it for just $36,000 is an amazing deal. You can't even buy a regular mercedes C class for that price. I have this car in a 2004 model, and have enjoyed it thoroughly! Haven't had any problems at all. It's reliable and still runs smoothly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Like No Other...

by MB Lover from Scottsdale, AZ | March 21, 2011

Purchased used with 19K miles; driven 3k trouble-free miles thus far. A second vehicle, not a daily driver. From many friends who own 2003-2007 SLs as well as documented owner reviews, the car is either a dream or nightmare insofar as reliability is concerned. I'm convinced it all depends on the particular vehicle you purchase; used, multiple-owner cars seem to have the most problems whereas clean, well-maintained one-owner vehicles are relatively problem free. If you're fortunate enough to find and own the latter, it truly is like no other car. A dream to own and drive...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


most beautiful car I have ever owned or seen on th

by sl 500 from savannah,ga | February 2, 2011

Beautiful, sexy , fast ...People just rubber neck when you drive by.....Don't buy this car if you don't want attention because everyone looks at you as you .Glossy black with pale stone interior ,and in 15 seconds the top pops with the flick of a switch and folds up in the trunk. Drop dead stunning car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Design, Great look, Horrible Reliability

by Hoopster from Washington DC | January 15, 2011

Let me first say, this was my third mercedes. I got a 2004 SL500 loaded. Very attractive car, always got compliments.. Great for your ego.. However, after two years of ownership, the problems started. Mind you, the car costs over $90K new. Constant problems included 1. Sensors going bad: crankshaft, Oxygen 2. ABC Pump malfunctioning 3. Check Engine Light 4. Brake Failure (Brake By Wire), horrid technology 5. Trunk Seal leaking causing electrical issues 6. Pnemonic pump replacement In three of years of ownership, the repair costs were $20,400.00. thank God for warranty. Once the warranty expired i got rid of it. Be careful if you buy this car, MAKE sure u get a warranty, get a CarFax and check the Vehicle History report from MB dealer dealing all repairs. Do not buy this car without a Warranty. You have been advised..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Its a head turner

by Heavy C from New Paltz, NY | October 12, 2010

I have owned the s-class mbenz, Lexus models, and currently mbenz & audi. As far as reliability, performance and sporty the SL500 is bye far the best car I have owned. All my younger nephews call it a modern hot rod puts a smile on my face, driven American made convertibles and sports cars since 1987 ( 16 years old at the time ) I have to say Europeans do crank out a better car. Now that I can afford them, My suggestion is to get a pre-owned save lots of dough.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Worth the Money

by Car Lover from Birmingham, MI | October 25, 2009

The SL 500 is a gorgeous car inside and out. Rarely do you find a car with both a stunning exterior and a perfectly manicured interior. Overall, I love this car. It's a perfect combination of power and luxury. Very impressed with the steering and handle of the vehicle...it's perfect on the highway or on the city streets. If you are looking for a classic, super luxury / high performance 2-seater look no further.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Now What ?!!

by Herr automann from Miami, FL | January 16, 2009

I have owned 15 or more cars in my life. Six of which have been various MB models. The SL HAD always BEEN my dream car. But that dream quickly turned into a very expensive nightmare after purchasing one. Within one month of the factory warranty expiring, I spent almost three thousand dollars just to fix the ABC. TWENTY FOUR DAYS later, another $1,700 for a repair on the transmission. And the list goes on and on. Long story short; I have spent more money in repairs for this one car than I have for all of the other vehicles I've ever owned COMBINED! Don't get me wrong, I still have an affection for the MB badge. The car performs extremely well... When it's not in the shop. It looks great. It's an attention getter. It's also mechanically unpredictable. The phrase 'now what?!' continually crosses my mind whenever I hear a new noise or smell a new odor coming from under the hood. Maybe this model is like some wine, just a bad year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Repair shop star

by Disappointed owner from Portland OR | May 29, 2008

If it can go wrong, it will go wrong. The SL constantly requires dealer service. I bought the car intending to keep it for many years. I ran out of patience after a year and a half of monthly and sometimes weekly visits to the repair shop. The top froze in mid-air and would neither fully open nor close. The car cannot be driven that way, and the tow truck won't tow it that way..., the trunk would often not seal closed, the central locking system would not unlock, the electric consumers would often go offline..the list goes on and on. Buyer beware.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Beautiful Car

by carmandan from Aragon,Ga. | February 1, 2008

I have owned many cars in my life(over 50), this is the nicest and best overall. I have owned many that were faster, some that rode better, some that handled better, and 1 or 2 that looked better(66 Corvette comes to mind) But none that combine those things into one car like this one. Very luxurious, smooth, quiet, polished and nice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class.


Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.