2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Change Vehicle

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2009 Mercedes-Benz SL600 2dr Roadster shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$15,301–$99,085

Estimated MPG

11–13 city / 18–21 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Neat car

by Old guy who always wanted and SL from North Carolina | November 24, 2013

Love the SL's looks and great handling. Love the covertable hard top feature. Getting but didn't expect 25mpg on the road with a V-8 550. Classy car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great car, low miles

by Paolo36 from Scottsdale, Az | November 18, 2013

This car has been an absolute pleasure to drive. The top retracts effortlessly, allowing an additional setting for climate control. It accelerates well, the twin turbos coming online without the feeling of downshifting that some turbos have. The extra wide tires give excellent traction, and make cornering quite easy even at higher speeds. I love the sound of the pipes when accelerating. The only qualm I have is the difficulty getting in and out with a lowered suspension.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great car!!!!

by Blondie from Las Vegas | August 21, 2013

The car is immaculate and better than advertised! Great ride and has all the options. It's a real head turner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Car Review

by White Cars Only Guy from Austin, TX | May 29, 2013

I looked on cars.com and found 2 SL-63's for sale, on ion NY and the other in Houston, TX. I choose the one in Houston, because it was a closer deal to where I live. I not sure if it was the right choice, but here I am now. The first day after the sale the top has a piece fall off it, and there is a funny noise coming from the back wheel of the car. I called the dealer, Gannett Motorcars in Houston and he said the part that dell off is not under warranty, it is cosmetic, but it is a $500.00 part. I ask him about the piece and he said sorry. I have been traveling the last couple of weeks and have not had time to find out what this noise issue is, I hope the extended warranty that Ryan sold me covers this part. I am planning on running it by the dealer this week and see if they know this issue. I noise as my 8 year old daughter says "Sounds like theres as person in there"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2009 Mercedes-Benz SL550 Great Car

by Bear fan from Raleigh,NC | July 9, 2012

This is my third Mercedes SL and the Best one so far. The Mercedes corporation keeps improving on the SL class each and ever year that's why I keep buying them. This is my first pre-owned Sl that I've purchased and the CPO (customer pre owned) Program that Mercedes stands behind is outstanding. The Mercedes Dealership goes over a 120 points of inspection. If any mechanical part is worn out or needs replacing the dealership replaces it. The car is also Corvered by a one year or 12000 mile warranty, with a option of purchasing an Extended Warranty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best car yet

by picky driver from New York | June 5, 2012

I struggled for a long time with whether I could go for a two-seater as my main driver. But my kids both have cars now, and once I drove this SL 550, there was no question. It is absolutely the finest driving machine I have ever owned. I would gladly drive it around the world. The comfort of the cabin is stunning, the visibility is breathtaking. Mine has a panorama roof, so even when the top's not down, it's light and airy inside. I can't imagine what would ever induce me to change cars again. I got the 2009 because I like the design better than the new ones, but also because it is whisper quiet. There's none of the porsche growl to interfere with conversations or books on tape or music. I love this car like none I have ever known.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


As Fast as the Wind

by golf pro from Rockwall, TX | March 19, 2012

This SL63 is really a supercar. Its 518 HP makes it a pleasure to drive on any street or highway. Entering freeways and highway speeds are unbelievable. Comfort is completely covered in every way. The seats and electronics are incredible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


not worths its money

by aaa from | May 29, 2011

Admittedly, there are abundant vents to help keep this powerhouse cool and on the road - all of them functional. So it's natural to feel every sensation associated with sitting on 500+ horses. No regrets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Car - a rocket on the road

by L.A. AMG AFFECTIONADO from Los Angeles, CA | March 29, 2011

I traded in my 2004 SL 500 AMG for the 2009 SL 63 AMG. I had been researching for quite some time and definitely wanted some of the upgrades - the panoramic roof, the paddle shifters, the neck scarf feature. Furthermore, I also wanted the AMG transmission options (four settings plus race start) and the other sport traction and suspension features. I wasn't disappointed. This car really moves, perhaps having a bit more power than one can really use here in Los Angeles. Still, when you're merging onto the freeway and some special person is attempting to cut you off, it's very sweet to put the petal to the metal and watch them disappear quickly into your rearview mirror. The hard part is backing off to 80MPH which will (usually) save you from a pull-over. This car really just wants to GO. The sound is sweet. Even with the windows up, the growl is unmistakable. With the top down, and the throttle wide open, it sounds like a couple of (slightly-tamed) harleys taking off in tandem. The more you push it, the sweeter it sounds. And all if this comes in wrap-around luxury. I opted for the wood-trim, black leather with the air conditioned, massaging seats. This is the car I've waited for. It's a racing coupe, a sports coupe and a touring coupe. The top easily opens and stores in less time than it takes for a red light to turn green and the rear wind block flips up in a second. The anti-roll bar adds a special touch. There are a couple of cons - which I can live with since true automotive perfection is a myth at whatever price. The command center is outdated - especially compared to some less-expensive competition - and doesn't interact well with the steering-wheel instrument cluster menu. Many times there is a delay (at best) or a simple freeze-up of the screen. It almost seems like it is trying to process too much information. This does not affect the menus related to engive performance however; the glitch affects only the nav, telephone and audio displays in the instrument cluster. I took the car in to service and, despite the three weeks+ it took to install an entirely new command system, the problem was never resolved. I can live with it, but I can't go another three weeks without my daily AMG therapy. The only other issue is, with the top down or only the driver's side window open, one can smell and feel the engine's heat. Admittedly, there are abundant vents to help keep this powerhouse cool and on the road - all of them functional. So it's natural to feel every sensation associated with sitting on 500+ horses. No regrets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


its a good car

by SL65AMG from Hanford ca | February 2, 2011

its a Good car and a fun car you just have to have the money too back it up is all good car fun sexy and very safe have owned 10 SL now in my life time

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class.


Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.