2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Change Vehicle

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK350 2dr Roadster shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$9,770–$26,458

Estimated MPG

16–18 city / 22–25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Fun to Drive

by Head Turner from Dallas, TX | April 10, 2014

I have only had this car less that a month and don't have an issue with the car, but more so the dealer that sold me the car. Sold it to me with a defective tire and then has refused to make it right. Now the A/C has gone out. Not the car's fault. It is a used vehicle, after all. Car is absolutely gorgeous and so much fun to drive. Handles like a DREAM. It sits very low to the ground so you do feel every bump. Doesn't bother me at all but might bother some. I just got rid of a CLK so if you are wanting the ride of a CLK, you won't get that. It's definitely more sporty. It's definitely a head turner!! And quite a bit of trunk space which you wouldn't expect. This care is AWESOME!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


SLK head turner

by Chris from Scottsdale, AZ | January 7, 2014

Absolutely beautiful car...turns heads everywhere. The design is classy and ages well, this one won't ever look old and dated. Had my 350 for 6 months now with no problems at all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Classy sports car

by ghsport from Colorado Springs, CO | November 21, 2013

The SLK is a class act in every respect. It's extremely well-made, very reliable (even after 120k miles), and VERY fast. My 6-speed 350 is just as fast as my ML63 AMG. I would highly recommend this car to anyone, its particularly amazing value as a used purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Red rocket

by Rich from Florida | June 23, 2013

I can't really comment on reliability. Have only had it three weeks. All the other areas for rating live to my expectations and more. It is an amazing car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A Legendary MB Sports Car

by hinotes15 from Nashville, TN | October 22, 2011

The SLK350 is a truly fantastic sports car. Equipped with the AMG Sport Package (includes ground effects kit, sport suspension, brembo brakes) and the extremely rare 6-speed manual, this car is one of the best sports cars out there. Steering is IMMEDIATE and laser-precise, acceleration is neck-snapping, clutch is lightweight but with a mechanical feel, and the 6 speed is crisp and clean. The heating package (Airscarf neck-level heating, heated seats, automatic climate control ,and heated side mirrors) is a must-have. I have driven top-down in 40 degree weather, and with the heater blowing on my feet, Airscarf blowing on my neck, and heated seats turned up, it is perfectly comfortable. The "REST" feature is particularly neat. When the car is parked and turned off, the car will re-route residual engine heat through the cabin and maintain a set temperature for up to an hour. VERY USEFUL in truly cold weather, and will not drain the battery. The retractable hardtop is nothing short of amazing. The engineering and attention to detail that went into the design of the roof/trunk arrangement is truly incredible. When the roof is up, the car is as quiet, solid, and airtight as any other fixed-roof vehicle. Up/down operation takes a mere 22 seconds. The SmartTop module (available aftermarket) allows the roof to fully operate on the move, up to 35 mph, a real time-saver when driving through a parking lot and looking for a space to park. The car is perfectly reliable. I have over 92,000 miles on the clock, and the biggest problem I have had was a squeally belt, which was repaired quickly and easily. Maintenence can be expensive, but this needs to be understood prior to purchase. OWNING A MB WILL BE EXPENSIVE, but is definitely worth it. My only true complaint about the car is the ride. The AMG sport package is fantastic for cutting-edge performance, but the sport suspension is punishing on rough roads. "Touring" tires takes the edge off a bit, but if you live in an area with truly rough roads I would not recommend the sport package. Overall, a truly fantastic sports car. Looks GREAT, drives great, very practical, and very reliable. NOT CHEAP, but you get what you paid for, unlike some other brands. You won't regret the purchase of an SLK! PROS: styling hardtop performace heating Package w/ auto climate control exclusivity! CONS: ride quality w/ sport suspension maintenance costs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sporty SLK

by testjet from | October 3, 2011

Wow! If you want to have the fun of your life and turn heads doing it, get an SLK. Top down, airscarf up flying down the road at speeds you shouldnt be in one of the best looking cars on the road is one of the best feeling you can have in a car. I like the styling and performance, and its fun to have people rolling down there windows at stop light saying nice car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Actually is worth waht they advertise

by Dr. Ed from Memphis, TN | April 11, 2011

This has been a wonderful automobile. It is so well designed that the interior of the doors never get dirty from the road dust or even wet from rain or washing. Even the engine compartment stays pristine. Beyond that however, is the great running engine with smooth performance. It handles well and you can decide if you want it in regular or sport mode. The retractable top is marvelous.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love My Car

by Jade from Frisco, TX | March 22, 2011

I absolutely love my Capri Blue SLK350. It is gorgeous and runs like a dream. The car handles well and has great pick up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Power, power and more power

by Sports Car Enthusiast from IL | December 29, 2010

This V6 sports car has incredible power, and an incredible look! Press of a button and the top comes down in less than 30 seconds. Very comfortable, stylish and drives so nicely. Highly recommend!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The ride I've been waiting for...

by Mew Gull from Northern California | April 7, 2007

The 350 SLK deals with concerns about urban security very nicely with its retracting hard top. It takes only seconds and the fit is perfect. I ordered mine for factory delivery. All connections went smoothly & all was even better than expected. It was delivered Jan 2005; a silver 6 speed with sport suspension, navigation, heated seats and air-scarf. Euro models allow a menu of all the options, pick and choose only what you want. In the US market, if you choose the Nav system you also get the glove-box mounted CD changer. It already has an in-dash CD player and that's adequate for me, but I lost the glove-box; it's taken up with the unwanted changer. I've seen complaints about the interior space. What? I'm 6'2" and of substantial mass; for me the interior is roomy and comfortable. I was cautioned about the limtited luggage space but found it ample; two of us spent 3 weeks touring Europe. We did it mostly with the top up because it was January. Top up, the trunk nicely held two 'wheelie" cases, one heavily laden garment bag & a medium size duffle. Performance? WOW! This thing is amazing. The 350 offers 268 horses and the AMG V-8 antes up another 80+ horses. The 350's acceleration is very impressive and is clearly not limited by inadequate power. Who needs the extra HP? Despite fat sticky Pirelli P-Zeros that come stock, the traction control is the limiting factor. With Traction Control disabled I find that wheel spin is always on tap and therefore it is clear there is abundant torque. Handling is equally impressive. The car corners with such confidence that the driver never feels close to losing control, even on the really rough, poorly maintained, road surfaces we now find on Northern California back roads. I love the way it handles. I have Auto-crossed with it about a dozen times and I find that my times are usually in the top two or three in my class. Of course it depends on the course, but usually the only cars faster are running race tires. It's all about getting the power to the ground so with race tires I believe the SLK could be a contender for top time of day. The six-speed is crisp and clean with no ambiguity about the gates. I don't know about the 7-speed auto box but it sounds wonderful too. This is a great car at a much better price than I could imagine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class.


Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.