2006 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Change Vehicle
2006 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2006 Mercedes-Benz SLK350 2dr Roadster shown
Asking Price Range
$9,535–$29,211
Estimated MPG

16–19 city / 22–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Love this car

by Mike K. from Miami Beach, Fl | January 7, 2014

Love it!!! Comfortable and I enjoy driving it for fun and commuting!!! It looks hot! Got it for my bday!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


excellent service

by shawna from hesperia, ca | November 15, 2013

robert and partrick give excellent service. Honest and very helpful with picking out the vehicle of my dreams...I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a fun or affordable vehicle. 5 star service!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Nice car, but it'll cost you.

by SLK Owner from Louisiana | July 10, 2013

I purchased this vehicle a few years ago and am just getting around to writing the review. At the time, I was looking for a hard top convertible and a sporty look/feel. I'm 6ft 3in, and this was the "only" vehicle that I could actually fit into in a convertible, with room to spare actually. The car is loaded with the WOW factor, it will definitely feed the ego and impress those who gaze upon it. It's absolutely fun to drive even after all these years of owning. Now for the down side, I have concerns with the transmission, you really have to watch yourself when you put your foot down. The transmission will "slip" a bit to allow the engine to rev up before grabbing again for a sudden jump in speed. The problem is if you're already at highway speeds and you want to gitty-up-go, you can easily red-line the engine while it's "slipping". You'll have to ease back on the foot at just the right time so that it'll grab again and lurch you forward. It's not a cheap car to own and this baby loves it's maintenance. This is the first car I've owned where I haven't been able to do the maintenance myself. Changing the oil, cleaning the spark plugs, can do but to clear that nagging computer display you're going to have to take it in. I haven't spent less than $1000 per visit, actually averaging around $3000 per visit for my maintenance. The roof creaks annoying loudly over time and you'll have to take it in to get them to lube up the bushings and bearings to get it back under control. There are sensors EVERYWHERE, and they break easy. Try doing any work yourself or to any other mechanic and chances are they're going to break one of these sensors that'll cost you $500 and up to repair/replace. Benz was engineered to be maintained by Benz, so if you're going to get one, be prepared to spend the $$$$$ on maintenance, and not all Benz dealers have good mechanics. In summation, this car is the sexy model you always wanted to date, just be prepared for the high cost of ownership.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The Quality is Back

by Steven from Tennessee | December 24, 2012

This car is great - fun to drive, practical, comfortable, and reliable. Mine has over 100k miles and I've had ZERO problems. The Mercedes-Benz quality has definitely returned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2007 Slk

by JoeMac from Kingston, Pa | November 29, 2012

I grew up on muscle cars, near had everyone made at one time. Moved to a BMW Z3 handling was great but engine performance was so so and many electrical problems. Bought a 2004 SLk Limited Edition and was thrilled with everything but the horsepower so traded it up for 2008 SLK Edition witht the six, more horses then the 4 cyl but still not enough for a man used to raw horsepower. Last purchase was a 2007 SLK (amg) NOW we are talking !! Horsepower is superb but the torque is incrediable. The handling on the AMG edition is second to none I ever drove, compine this with the horses and torque and its the best car I ever drove. Including many Vetts, Cameros, Mustangs, BMW's etc. If your gonna spend the $$$ for a Benz Convertible and what the raw speed w such, dont waste your time on anything else but the AMG model, you wont be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


What's not to love?!

by Mercedes Girl from Torrance, CA | September 1, 2012

My black SLK 350 is such a fun car to drive. It handles wonderfully, has a surprising amount of trunk space, and loads of great features. The seats are comfortable, the Harman-Kardon sound system is phenomenal, and there are plenty of small storage spaces inside the car (door, armrest, behind the driver's seat). I test drove the 280 and the 350; while both are fun, if you can get the 350, go for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Seriously, Mercedes?

by Sports car fan from Tennessee | June 26, 2012

Let's start with the good stuff: This car is a rocket and it looks as good as any sports car on the road. OK, that was it for good stuff. The interior design is worse than any base car. The cup holder sticks precariously out over the radio, AC/heat and all the other controls. If your water bottle sweats, you're hosed. The AC/heat controls are hardly intuitive and the noise drowns out the radio. Which speaking of is embarrassing for a car as expensive as this one. The sound is worse than an old Honda I owned in the '70's. And we won't even talk about repairs and oil changes. The tires are over-priced and under-sized. Are the car designers in league with Michelin?? So it would seem. And if you hit a pothole, plan on it feeling like you're riding in a log wagon and that's with the suspension set on "comfort". I'm selling this car and will NEVER own another Mercedes. They should be embarrassed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Classy Enjoyable Unique

by Der Flieger from Ottawa Ontario Canada | May 11, 2011

The SLK 350 is a unique performance oriented sports car often overlooked. The engine is very smooth and has lots of power; it's very reliable and is used in the entire MB line of cars. The automatic transmission offers Comfort and Sport modes (adaptive learning of the driver's style) as well as tiptronic manual selection of the desired gear. There are a number of audio setups-COMAND offers the best combination including HarmonKardon speakers, 6 pack CD, SAT, AM/FM, and Weather bands; most also support connection to personal sound systems (MP3 or 4). The folding hardtop is fantastic giving couple like quiet and year round driveability with the fun of a convertible. With the top down you can easily carry to rollaboard bags, a shoulder bag, a suit bag and several pairs of shoes - we did! Very comfortable to drive over long distances for driver and passenger. We did several 400-500 mile days over a week without any discomfort. Mileage we experienced was over 30mpg at 75mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my SLK

by HappySLKOwner from Spring Hill, FL | November 30, 2010

I've had my SLK350 for a few months now and I have to say I love it! I really do not know what I will "upgrade" to when I need to get rid of this car. I drive it daily and the hard top is my favorite part! Almost all rattles and squeaks have a fix if you search on the net to find the solution. It has plenty of power and it is easily modded to do almost anything you want to it! The SLK community is great as well! Don't be surprised by all the compliments you'll get on your beautiful car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


benz in style

by marcy4a from | September 27, 2010

I LOVE this car, great value for the car. ppl def look and stare specially when top is down. lots of power

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class.


Featured Services for this Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.