1999 Mercury Cougar

Change Vehicle
1999 Mercury Cougar

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Cougar 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$628–$5,872
Estimated MPG

19–24 city / 28–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Great sports coupe

by SpanishCougar from Benidorm, Spain | September 29, 2013

I've bought this car second hand aout a year ago. So far it has only brought me joy. It's fun to drive, very comfortable, has plenty of power once you go above 3000rpm and looks good. Mechanically it is very reliable if you take care of it (I work at a garage). It's a nice car for long distance and more of a cruiser than an outright sportscar. You should always overfill oil slightly on the V6 to avoid engine problems. Check the rear axle when buying one, many seem to rust away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Has electrical issues

by Duke Girl Forever from Raleigh NC | September 21, 2013

I, like another reveiwer, am on my 3rd alternator in 6 years. There is an electrical issue somewhere that no one seems to be able to pinpoint. The car belonged to my son, and he hated it from the beginning because the headlights (and dash lights) would "pulse" and it can be annoying. I drive it now and it doesn't bother me BUT the underlying cause does. No one can figure out why but having gone through 3 alternators I'm sorry to say it's time to move on. The car is stylish and comfortable but obviously has major issues. It also has some slippage in the transmission but so far, knock on wood, it's doing ok. I really wanted to keep it for a few more years but that last alternater was the breaking point for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best Car I Could Imagine

by Cat from Ann Arbor, MI | January 18, 2013

I love this car. I own a 1999, and it's been in the family since it was new. First off--the exterior. The design is pretty sleek, and the front is completely unique. It's a fairly compact car, and it looks like it wouldn't hold much. However, the back seats fold down, and it's spacious enough to hold several bikes. The car drives very tight, much like more expensive cars. It sits low to the ground, so you really "feel" the road, which some don't like. The one recurring issue I've had is the alternator. I believe that its location causes it to get wet, and, well, I'm on my third. As far as repairs go, though, that's pretty reasonable for 14 years. All in all, I want to drive this car forever. If it dies, though, I may just have to buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


found what I wanted

by okie from the mile high city | September 11, 2012

for a 13 year old car exceptional and found right in my back yard.not new england sporty and functional

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


CRAZY

by wts43 from Madison, WI | February 23, 2012

Proud owner for 5 years. SLEEK STYLISH AND RELIABLE. I cant believe how well this car performs for a low priced coupe. Slap some lowering springs on and you have a car that can KILL corners!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


BLAST OFF

by Car Nut from MICH | February 3, 2011

Blows away the rice-burners and most domestics. Actually rides, turns and stops better too. Low insurance rates a bonus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Cougar

by College Student from | January 24, 2011

I had problems with this car right off the bat and kept having them. Would never buy this car again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Came back to bite me in the butt

by kolidge kid from AR | October 30, 2010

I always had a problem with my starter that was undefinable, so i had to deal with it. It is a fairly rough riding car. Now that I am 13 hours away from home at college, the transmission is done for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


My First Car

by Sal from New York | October 5, 2010

All in all this car was a lot of fun for me, there are a lot of custom options for the exterior of the car to make it look even nicer. I did a few performance upgrades. Intake and Exhaust gave the car alot more power combined with an underdrive pulley. I put lowering springs on it and also replaced the shocks/struts and to keep it even stiffer i put in front and rear strut braces, once the suspension was done this car cornered very very well at crusing speeds :) Small, Quick, and very comfortable ride made me very happy with my kitty. My only problem was the transmission. Got the original rebuilt and then got the rebuilt replaced. Car had low miles and although I didn't baby it, I also didn't abuse the the car so for the transmission to be replaced 2-3 times was very frustrating. If you buy this car I would have to say that you should get it in MANUAL because it is just way too fun to drive a small, quick, very manuverable car in automatic. I think that's where I went wrong. I'm 5'8" and the driver seat of this car was like a cockpit, everything easily viewable and reachable. Seat was very comfortable, and the moonroof and leather interior was great. The rear seats always got compliments from passengers for comfort.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Owned one for 6 yrs & loved it!

by Christie from Townsend, DE | October 31, 2009

I owned my '99 Cougar for 6 yrs. It was an awesome 1st car. Very reliable. Car is good on gas for a V6.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Cougar

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.