2000 Mercury Cougar

Change Vehicle
2000 Mercury Cougar
Available in 2 styles:  2000 Mercury Cougar 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$691–$6,127
Estimated MPG

20–24 city / 29–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Horrible do not buy

by Peta from | March 9, 2014

Horrible car do not buy. Spend hundreds on it. Not worth at all wasted over 1k on it in less then 2 months all needed repair!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great car

by John from New Jersey | July 3, 2012

After 12 years, I still own my 2000 Cougar. I bought it new off the dealer showroom floor and I just hit 200,000 miles. I've only had to perform basic maintenace - tires, brakes, fluids. At 150,000 miles I replaced the suspension which was costly, but the parts greatly outlived their lifespan. I'm a big guy and this car is very comfortable and it has a really good amount of cargo space considering its a sport coupe. The cougar has also handled very well in all weather conditions to include snow, with its front wheel drive. I financed the car for 3 years at 0.9% and ended up spending about $300 in interest. This has been a great car. Reliable, comfortable, stylish, multi-functional, and well worth the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Worst Car Ever

by annoyed car owner from Jonesboro, AR | April 20, 2012

I've had this car for 4 years. I've put so much money into for repairs. Your worth getting something more expensive. The car is not worth the money at all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


2000 Mercury Cougar V6 - Worst Car Ever

by Annoyed car owner from NY | January 3, 2012

Do NOT buy this car or even waste your time. All you will end up doing is putting more and more money into repair bills. I bought this car used and it had 150,000 miles on it and was a cheap buy because my Mercury Tracer's transmission went and I needed something cheap. The guy who sold it to us failed to mention to us the amount of repairs and problems the car had, which I wish I would've known about it because I would've never have bought it. The main problem is that this car is LOADED with electrical and wiring problems. I had 5 alternators blow out due to this problem. I ended up taking it to a dealer to get it properly fixed which I ended spending 3 times the amount of what I paid for the car just getting the electrical problems fixed. This solved the alternator problem, but then other issues came up including: -Coolant light comes on all the time when the levels are fine -Engine light comes on with everything is fine -Headlights and interior lights flicker and are horrible for night use -Power steering fluid line constantly leaks even though it has been replaced 3 times now -It rusts on both doors right where the handle/locks are so now I can't lock doors. Electrical problems also caused the power locks to not work either. -Electrical problems have cause the trunk button to not work, even though it was re-wired so the only way I can open the trunk is to crawl over the seats in the back and pull the emergency line. I now can't even get this car to pass inspection because the engine light won't come off even though the mechanics have done everything to fix it. Do not waste your time with this car. You'll be paying through the nose in repair bills, for something else to break down a week later.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


horrible car DO NOT WASTE YOUR BREATH!!!!!!!

by annoyed from Ohio | December 13, 2010

I have 2000 mercury cougar...this car has so many things wrong with...after getting new brakes put on i had to replace them with-in 3 months...The car is in the shop now getting a new CV joint replaced for the second time.....the sunroof is very small...The radio is stinks....very uncomfortable to ride in for a long period of time...my steering wheel locks up when it rains...i have replaced the fuel tank strap several times.....car makes a very loud humming noise when the car is going straight or when the car turn to the left....at highway speeds the car will start to shake...cruise control locked up and would NOT turn off while i was going down the highway..…..one thing that is a plus on this car is that it does have a lot of get up and go.....AS SOON WINTER IS OVER THIS CAR WILL BE HISTORY!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


A prime example of a great Sport Compact

by an anonymous street racer from Indianapolis, IN | June 1, 2010

I own a 2000 Mercury Cougar V6 and have since I bought it used with 46,000 miles, 4 years ago. I have since made many aftermarket customizations and additions to it for racing. The vehicle has proven to adapt well to parts that weren't necessarily made for it. For a sport compact, it has a lot of free space under the hood which makes customization a breeze. I have had to put in only a few hundred dollars for expected repairs. Considering the car is now a decade old, it has been very cheap to maintain the few parts that are stock. For the sports car enthusiast or racer, this is a great car to start with and has many aftermarket parts available for it. Even for a casual commuter who's just looking for a little sportiness, the Cougar is great. With good fuel efficiency and an amazing stock body, this is an excellent sport compact car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2000 Mercury Cougar

by Ash from | November 23, 2009

I have had my Cougar for 2 years and I havn't had any problems with it at all. It is a VERY good and VERY reliable vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My Nightmarish Experience

by Sev from | September 1, 2009

I purchased a 2000 Cougar with V6 engine with 70,000 miles. After the first 3 months everything went perfectly fine then slowly everything went down hill from there. I a nutshell I purchased new struts, break shoes, wheel cylinders, an alternator as well as new oil pan. The items I refused to purchase were a power steering pump, waterpump & extensive work on the transmission.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


It is definitely a great car!

by CougarMan from FL | July 13, 2009

I just sold my 2000 Mercury cougar. I had it for 2 years and that car was very loyal and it did took me everywhere with absolutely no problems. The body of the car is really y nice and the interior too. It was worth every penny!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Love It

by rosey the red cougar from New Jersey | April 14, 2009

I bought the car used and while driving home I got an engine light for the intake manifold, when I reseached the car in forums this seemed to be a common problem in the cougar but i was able to fix it with used parts from a salavage yard for under 200 dollars. I drive it hard and it still performs excellently, had few transmission problems that were easy to fix and normal for a high milage car, but cheaper because they are domestic parts. I love the cougar because I seldom see any others on road and it turns heads as a stock inexpensive car. The only downside I don't like is the styling differences between the 2000 and 2002, such as the custom leather seats with the emblem on the headrest, and the emblems elsewhere in the interior. Overall I love the handling and the power you get from this very small but classy car. It especially turns heads when I can out perform high horse power cars with only a 170hp v6. Excellent gas milage for a v6, when I cruse on the highway I can reach up to 34! I also love the computer which tells how many miles till empty so when I don't drive my cougar I feel weird with not having that knowledge. This review is also written while my car has been in the shop for a month because of a deer collision and I have been driving a 2006 Jetta and now greatly appreciate and miss my cougar. When she gets back from the shop I will definetly pamper her with some highend detailing and make sure I keep her looking her best from now on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Cougar

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.