2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Change Vehicle
2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2003 Mercury Grand Marquis 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,906–$9,442
Estimated MPG

17 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Great car! Comfortable and reliable.

by Ben Dover from New Mexico | July 26, 2014

I bought my 2003 model a few months ago, and am quite happy with it. It has almost 150,000 miles, and runs as smooth as any brand new car I've driven. It has a powerful engine, yet it gets decent fuel economy. Only issue is the paint peeling off. Apparently, Ford did shoddy work on the paint for a lot of these cars, so I'm going to have to get that redone, but otherwise, this car is awesome!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


NEVER BUY THIS YEAR

by kevnval from Chicagoland | May 7, 2014

This is my 6th Gr Marquis/Cr. Vic. Loved the car. Currently have 2 of them. Lighting control modules - I'm on my 4th :D Ford definately has a problem with these, just had one rebuilt 2 weeks ago (on a replacement one that was guaranteed). NOW, I HAVE ALSO HAD A sudden accelleration problem, happened 2x before, both times "wet pavement" traction control was engaged, on. This time dry pavement, at high speed, and when shifting to neutral, engine was revving like it was going to shoot a piston through the roof. Finally shut car off and STOOD on brake (was doing about 60 when shut off). Called husband, happened to him once, only on mine. HIs 2003 (we have 2) never did it. Car now parked, Was going to take to ford to repair. I think I'm just replacing. This was my favorite car over 25 years. Not anymore. Safety is Job one, right? oh, I guess not, huh Ford.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Top pick for used car reliability & OK on MPG too!

by 2 ton of fun from NW | April 22, 2014

Bulletproof engine and drivetrain, quiet comfy and upscale, cheap to buy used now and probably driven by a senor. Go for an 2003 or newer, simpler GS model, run 5-20 synth oil and replace lighting module for headlight weakness. Car is 4000lbs-basically a F150 engine, tranny and frame with car body. 25 mpg at 70+.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Comfortable Car

by Comfort Enthusiast from Gilbert, AZ | February 8, 2014

This is the third car in this class that I have owned so I knew what I was buying. The car is excellent condition, both inside and out. It is a replacement for one we lost so it is everything we expected and more. It could not have been cared for better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


All positive, except defective rear axles this yr.

by Drewski from Charleston, SC | December 21, 2013

In 2013 got this 2003 car from mother-in-law (little old lady). Car had only 24K miles, and now has 35K Have only one complaint and that is the fact that the rear wheel axles/bearings started to fail soon after. My research found that Mercury and Ford installed defective (soft) axles in many of this year's production. This repair costs about $750 for bearings, seals and axles (that's a quality non-dealer shop price). Listen for a "wha wha wha" noise that changes with wheel speed. Best heard with windows up and no A/C or radio on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

by Mercury Fan from Ann Arbor, MI | August 2, 2013

Replaced my firmer 2003 MGM. Great car, great mileage. I still don't understand why Mercury quit making them!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Big Mercury fan

by Pastaguy from Grand Rapids, Mi | July 15, 2013

My family, our businesses and I have owned over 100 Mercurys over the years. I recently purchased a beautiful 2003 Grand Marquis LS with only 78,000 miles on it. This is my fifth in this series. Three were wagons. I have really been happy with all of them for reliability, comfort and value. Very sad to see Ford drop the Mercury line. Very similar to Lincolns, with better price points. My son also recently bought a 2000 Grand Marquis LS. It is also holding up well. We also had a Crown Vic in the past. The Mercurys are more comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


great car

by bbqman from new jersey | June 29, 2013

great car pretty much same as a towncar but alot cheaper.these cars get pretty good gas milage for what they are.4.6 engine is a proven engine that with the correct maint.goes 300,000 mile easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Reliabilty was this car's first name!

by past owner from nj | May 16, 2013

Ford made this most desirable of police and older drivers. Comfort on long trips, big big trunk space and room for a family of 5 . Why they stopped this American Dream is sheer stupidity.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


RELIABLE FOR LONG TRIPS

by I LIKE FULL SIZE CARS from LOS ANGELES CA. | March 1, 2013

I BOUGTH THIS CAR FOR MY WIFE, AND SHE'S VERY HAPPY WITH IT. THANKS TO CARS.COM I HAVE GOOD DEAL AND VERY GOOD FINANCE PLAN. THANKS GEORGE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Grand Marquis

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.