2005 Mercury Mariner

Change Vehicle
2005 Mercury Mariner
Available in 6 styles:  2005 Mercury Mariner 4dr FWD Sport Utility shown
Asking Price Range
$4,237–$11,325
Estimated MPG

18–22 city / 23–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Very Dependable

by EastIowa from Cedar Rapids, IA | July 9, 2014

I bought my 2005 Mariner Premier 4WD from my dad last year at 223,000 miles and it has been a great vehicle. I'm about to hit 230,000 miles and although I've had to take care of some issues due to lack of routine maintenance (Dad's kind of a cheapskate), it has been better than expected. Started every time this winter and this was a particularly cold winter. did very well on the snow even with not much tread left on these tires. handles very well on gravel. very nimble and handles like a car. gets about 16-17 City/23-24 Highway. Have gotten as good as 28 mpg consistently going roughly 57 mph on highway. I love the heated mirrors, they even work well with drying the rain off them in summer. Due to age and lots of use, the heated driver seat doesn't work nor do the parking sensors but both could be fixed. still had original brakes and axle seals (replaced since then) when I bought it. Power steering fluid had never been changed (was thicker than engine oil but taken care of now). Have read reviews of these going into the 300,000 mile range and I have no doubt mine can do it too. I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car ever! Why did Ford stop making these?

by akeehn from Indiana | May 27, 2014

I purchased a 2005 Mariner in 2007 and I still own it and drive it 60+ miles every day. I have almost 190,000 miles on it and it still works as good as the day I bought it. We have never had any significant maintenance problems. Every single button, lever, knob, etc works perfectly. I have maybe put $2,000 in replacement parts, etc in it over the 7 years that I have owned it, as well as just routine oil changes/tire rotation every 5,000 miles. You absolutely cannot beat this car! Nothing seems to stop it - at this point I am curious to see just how long it will last...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


One of the Best we have Owned

by Mariner Fan from Palm Bay, FL | August 10, 2010

We bout this as a used vehicle w/ minimal milage. Now w/ almost 90,000 miles I can say this has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned! I have had Hondas and Chevrolets in the past but this is hands down a GREAT SUV. Hopefully when the time comes to replace her there will be a 2010 w/ low miles! Hopefully!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Awesome you'll love it

by sportsgirl04 from | November 23, 2009

Silver with black leather... yes my first car the best car i have ever haddd:] I was so excited the day i walked outside and saw a beautiful Mariner in front of my house with a bow on it. All i know is that if you WILL love yours too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


LOVE MY MARINER

by BlueEyes43 from Clintondale, NY | June 24, 2009

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY BLACK MERCURY MARINER!!! IT'S VERY STYLISH, COMFORTABLE, HAS MANY GREAT FEATURES, HANDLES VERY WELL, WAS A GREAT DEAL, AND MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER LOVES IT TOO. I'M SOOO GLAD THAT I BOUGHT IT!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Car -- Don't know why no one knows!!

by Family Man Engineer from Washington DC | April 25, 2009

I bought a 2005 2WD Mariner for my wife for commuting and hauling Kids and Dogs. Big enough to haul it all, small enough that you can handle a mall parking lot. Very reliable and fun to drive. Bought 2008 4WD when my old car died. (My wife got the new car, I took hers!) AWD runs great in snow and on the beach. Hard to beat for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Oh yeah

by powersthatb from Hartford, WI | May 1, 2007

I just bought a 2005 Mariner Premier 2 weeks ago and im and just loving it. Excellent rating for consumer reports. Good Value for the money I got a super deal on it. Can't wait to take it up north.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This car is fantastic

by Mariner Fan from Chicago, IL | May 18, 2006

I upgraded to the Mariner because I was tired of not being able to see the road in my sports car, the Mariner is like driving around in a sun room. It is very comfortable for long distance driving, and gas mileage is great for this class of vehicle. Go for the extra options, they are cheap and worth it. This SUV is much cooler and more quality than the Escape.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Mariner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.