2006 Mercury Mariner

Change Vehicle
2006 Mercury Mariner
Available in 6 styles:  2006 Mercury Mariner 4dr FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$4,689–$12,821
Estimated MPG

19–22 city / 23–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Hybrids are fun

by Katlakat from Wylie, TX | March 23, 2013

For my first Hybrid, this model was exceptional to learn on. I was afraid the 4Cyl would not perform well on the freeways, but I love the electric battery charging when I'm idling. This car gets GREAT gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Functionality is key

by Practical from Springfield, IL | September 7, 2011

Vehicle handles well; however, it has a pretty rough ride. Realize this is a small SUV and the V6 doesn't get very good gas mileage...I was hoping for a little better since it's such small vehicle. Overall though, it's a decent car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Pleasntly Suprised

by . from East Hanover NJ | May 2, 2011

I bought this 2006 Mariner 6cyl in 2009 with 28k miles on it. In May 2011 it now has 60k. I have had no mechanical problems with this vehicle and have found it to be extremely capable in the snow. It's fit and finish it above average and feels comfortable to drive. It has an above average amount of road noise but let's face it, the Mariner is not a luxury sedan. It is NOT an economy car and averages less than 20 mpg but you have to expect to use more fuel with all wheel drive. I like this Mariner and I'm a little surprised as this is the first American made vehicle I've owned in 20 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Would buy again

by Margo from Liverpool, NY | November 18, 2009

Overall, I love this vehicle and would buy another one. Only complaints are: passenger side heated leather seat turns on by itself, and the buttons are arranged so you cannot see while driving, strange "gurgling" noise from the engine, right off the showroom floor that I've asked about repeatedly and am told it's normal because of "the way it's geared", overhead sunglass compartment is cheap & falls off often. She handles great in the rain & snow and I LOVE the candy apple red color. I would definitely buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Compact-SUV for the Price

by Great Compact SUV from | June 15, 2009

Owned and driven my 06 Mariner for 3 years. Great all around vehicle and worth the slightly higher price tag than a Ford Escape. Perfect size for moving cargo or people. I have not had any problems mechanically speaking and and the interior has held up well after 50k miles. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a compact SUV, although after driving a Wrangler and a Porsche, I don't really consider the Mariner compact. It is really just a SUV to me. The black '06 model rivals the looks of the early 2000's Toyota 4Runner, only with a cheaper price tag and better gas mileage (and slightly smaller). You can't exactly expect great performance or handling from any SUV. But the V6 allows for ample acceleration when needed. I also usually take off ramps and turns a little too fast and have never had problem or felt like I was going to roll. My only complaints are: Mercury Dealerships - no thank you, for anything important I go to a Ford dealership, but usually just go to local shops; the driver's seat can be uncomfortable on my back after long trips (as in 3+ hours); the location of the seat heater buttons makes it inconvenient to know whether or not they are on or not. All minor problems for everyday driving. I'm not really sure how you can beat this vehicle for the money in this class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very well made crossover

by Outdoorsy Guy from Manchester, New Hampshire | February 9, 2007

Came out of a Volkswagen Touareg to the Mercury. Very impressed and living in New Hampshire, it does great in the snow, slush and ice. Driving off road is very easy and has great off road manners. Gets very very good gas mileage and it takes regular fuel. Easy to maintain and can be serviced at Ford Dealerships as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Mercury Mariner Hybrid 2006

by livegreen from upstate, ny | June 21, 2006

so far, i love this car - lots of comfort - wish a few of the features were a little more thought out - but all in all, it's a great hybrid

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Mariner

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.