2005 Mercury Montego

Change Vehicle
2005 Mercury Montego
Available in 4 styles:  2005 Mercury Montego 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,550–$10,834
Estimated MPG

20–21 city / 27–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

2005 Mercury Montego Premier

by Kathie from Lewiston, Maine | October 27, 2013

We loved the vehicle the moment we saw it and liked it even better when we test drove the car,. The vehicle had everything we were looking for, heated seats, power seats, driver and passenger and sunroof as well as many other features. The car drives like a new vehicle and is smooth riding and quiet. The side mirrors are larger which makes it easy to see both sides. I like the back up sensor that tells me I am getting too close. Overall we are extremely happy with this purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fantastic!

by Dependable Man from Gilbert, AZ | June 21, 2012

Great fuel economy! Extremely dependable, Great leather luxury interior. Met everyone of my needs! I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone! If I didn't have to move for school there is no way I would sell it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Montego is a very reliable car.

by I love fast cars from Nashville, Tn | June 12, 2012

I have owned this car since 05 and I have never had a problem with the car. AWD comes in handy during the winter time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned...Paul in Napa

by drhealth from Napa, CA | August 21, 2011

No problems with this car. Excellent fuel economy. Huge interior with clever seats; swallows up up to a 14 ft. ladder by folding rear and front passenger seat backs. All wheel drive is awesome yet unobtrusive; weighs only 140 lb more than the front wheel drive.. Fantastic breaks. Very quiet. Good audio system standard. Transmission has infinite gears; makes so much sense. Amazing number of air bags for safety. Ford is a pioneer in crash technology and continues the tradition by crashing more cars than any other company. Standard features such as high intensity headlights and LED tail lights that never burn out and light up almost a full second sooner than incandescant bulbs (Prevents rear -end collisions) are much appreciated. As my beloved father said "Son you should buy one...they are giving them away!" I did and am so glad!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Would purchase again!

by Sedan Lover from Southern Maine | May 7, 2011

I've owned this vehicle for almost a year and I am still very satisfied. I have had no problems whatsoever, and the only money I've spent on upkeep has been a couple oil changes. Very comfortable, classy interior and attractive exterior especially for price. I have read some reviews complaining about the acceleration. Although I'd be happier with the 3.5L V6 I had in my old Taurus GL, I merge into fast moving traffic with ease and find it more than sufficient in the pep department. I am actually looking forward to an upcoming 1300 mile drive in my Mercury.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car for the money

by mercury1 from | April 27, 2011

So far the Montego is an great value for the money. Lots of room on the front, rear and the trunk area. Easy to drive despite the large configuration. Engine is nice if driven normal. Lots of standard features. High intensity lights (HID) with auto headlights, LED tail lamps, information center and an A/C with dual controls for the driver and front passenger are pluses.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Practical, non sporty

by 17skiskate from Ridgefield, CT | February 2, 2011

One thing to note, this is a car is a carbon copy of the Ford-500, what ever the reviews on that car are, apply to this car as well. The ride is smooth, interior for an American made car is pretty good, brakes are smooth and effective. As far as interior room is concerned, its a cave with unfortunately small openings, but it can still fit a bike. Sound system is pretty good although it lacks the all important auxiliary jack. The dash is easy to read and gives an accurate readout of the miles-to-empty status, it get good mpg too. Steering is firm and cranking the wheel all the way doesn't hurt the car that bad (still a challenge to learn to park on). As far as how tough it is, it is a Ford and can take a rough road or hard brake or even a run on a field. However it is a luxury family sedan and therefore was not designed for anything more than that. Dirt and damage are not as flattering on it as an F-150, but clean and crisp, it looks pretty good. Now for the cons. As a 17 year old who is more oriented towards extreme sports, I find driving my mom's montego a little dull and even embarrassing. It lacks the performance and power I want from a car. According to the specs it has a 3.0 liter V-6 engine good for 203 brake-horsepower, six speed transmission, and a euro style chassis. You may think this thing is a power house, putting out enough torcs from its beefy engine to uproot a tree, and able to take on windy twisty roads with the ease of its German competitors, you'd be wrong. For a family saloon, its not half bad, but not half bad won't make it fun. The engine, to start, is way too small for the car, when you open up the hood you see an engine the size of one in a lawnmower, makes you wonder if its really is 3.0 or 0.3 liter. It consistently over-revs. The suspension may be european INSPIRED, but inspired is one thing, equivalent is another, I can negotiate a turn well but not as well as an Audi or VW. I'd never street race, but on a two mile straight away I've tested its speed capabilities. At higher speeds, its engine is capable and you can feel its power more and more as the speedometer climbs up, at 115 the power suddenly drops, as if it shifted to neutral and gave up, good thing too because the thing is so hot you feel it in your feet. At lower speeds its slow to respond, you simply don't have the power when you need it, if you need to have burst of speed, say to avoid an accident, well your better off trusting its crash test safety ratings. When you've almost put your foot through the floor it suddenly downshifts and you are overcome with massive torc steer that could pull you into oncoming traffic. However the brakes are decent. In snow, don't even think about it. The FWD is good, and in low gear you can feel power which otherwise you'd miss, but you can't stop the thing, it hardly has any grip, and you find yourself risking a fishtailing situation unless you stay at 10mph. Traction control fights you all the time, when I need to make an unprotected left turn, I end up almost stopping in the middle of the road because my wheels are locked. Its an annoying safety feature, an you can never truly turn it off when you want to drift around an empty parking lot. The bottom line. This car is good car for a mom, this car is bad for fun. The engine isn't as exhilarating as it should be, but overall the car is decent if you don't need muscle. Its cheap but still is luxurious. The brakes are excellent on everything except snow and ice. Its PRACTICAL and because its a Ford it is very easy and cheap to repair because of it part although it hardly ever needs maintenance unless you crash it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


great for residential driving but not much else

by teen driver from Staten Island, NY | May 3, 2010

This full size sedan has a 3 liter v-6 engine that produces 203 horse power. This is enough power to drive comfortably residentially, but will leave you uncomfortable when trying to accelerate up to highway speeds and when trying to overtake another car. The car also has a very soft suspension which makes going over speed bumps and into pot holes surprisingly comfortable but at the cost of excessive body roll on the tuns. When equipped with all wheel drive the car handles well on slick roads in the rain or snow on the upside.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Value & Comfort

by Content from Glendale Heights, IL | January 30, 2010

The Mercury Montego is the perfect car for a family of five. Exterior lines are classic with a few modern touches. My model, the Premier, came with front wheel drive and 18" wheels wheel allow for good manuevering and quick response. The interior is two-tone leather with plenty of leg room for all passengers big and small. The cabin is slightly noisey to road, traffic and engine. The controls are easy to read and access while driving. The five speed CVT transmission is lacking response from the get go. The average mpg I've been getting is 21 to a full tank of gas if I don't challenge any yellow lights. Plenty of trunk space for luggage or long trips. Overall this vehicle could use a 3.5 engine with a six-speed trans.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very quiet and smooth driving

by Mike from Liitleton, CO | April 9, 2008

This car is spacious, handles well and was surprisingly quiet inside. The premier comes loaded with many convenient options. More importantly the gas mileage for this car was excellent.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Montego

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.