2000 Mercury Mountaineer

Change Vehicle

2000 Mercury Mountaineer

Available in 3 styles:  2000 Mercury Mountaineer 4dr AWD shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$3,350

Est. MPG

14–16 city / 20–21 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Best bang or your buck

by Ford Man from Locust Grove, Ga | January 18, 2013

The 2000 Mercury Mountaineer i recently purchased was for my daughter. I love the way the truck feels as far as safety. It has the 5.0 v8 which provides plenty of power and very reliable. I would strongly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


my best car

by car owner from | April 29, 2011

i have had this car for a while and it is the best. rides great, and is alll the luxury you need. thanks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great SUV!

by Texas Driver from Austin TX | November 16, 2010

We've owned Mountaineer for 10 years and have had only regularly scheduled maintainence - no major repair issues - totally reliable. Strong 5.0 V-8 engine, comfortable and classy ride, great sound system (Mach 1), leather - what can I say this is a great SUV. Zero complaints after 10 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best suv i've driven

by hoodlum from buffalo ny | February 12, 2010

i feel very secure in this vehicle, and whenever i give someone a ride, the first thing they say is(this is nice) and i say(i know). fuel useage is good for the size & power of the vehicle, i get 21-23 on the highway and 15-17 around town, driving in snow is the same as dry pavement(i have awd)just have to watch out for others, i will always own a merc, thanks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


king of the road

by mountaineer rules the road from ohio | October 27, 2009

I loved my mountaineer so much, unfortunatly i totaled it but its such a great car for the money. It offers luxery for half the price of other suvs and is reliable as well. The only downfall of it is its gas consumption with 5.0 v-8 but its worth it, it sounds like a muscle car at times and will blow away its competion. Some minor problems included fading display lights inside and rusting on rear bumper.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A loved SUV

by RJ from franklin wisconsin | December 21, 2008

I really love my Mountaineer the price was great and so is the performance and handling. My only complaint is the seat belts do not roll up with out getting stuck or twisted from the seat. It almost seems they are wound tight enough.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very good SUV

by Jay from Arlington Heights IL | November 22, 2008

I had this car for over 6 years and never had any major problems. The 5.0 engine is the best very powerful and reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliable, Solid and Powerful

by Love SUV's from North Aurora, IL | February 13, 2008

If you are looking for a good looking SUV for the money, this is a good one. One of the biggest selling SUV's except I think the Mountaineer is better looking than its look-a-like Ford Explorer. It's reliable and solid. The ride is comfortable on smooth surfaces but on terrain, well, its an SUV. V-8 has good power but it can guzzle just like any V-8. I average 13mpg city and 18mpg highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Mountaineer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.