2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Change Vehicle

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 8 styles:  2006 Mercury Mountaineer 4x2 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,998–$14,462

Estimated MPG

14–15 city / 20–21 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Most reliable car great comfort and ride

by will from Florida | July 16, 2013

I thank Cars.com for helping me pick out this great car it runs great I love it the experience was great I would recommend anyone to shop with cars.com and the dealership Major Toyota of Newark in Delaware they made this so easy for me Thank you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


100K+ miles, and going strong.

by Laserbait from Twin Cities, MN | September 11, 2012

The ride quality is great, and is very comfortable & spacious inside even when packed up with 7 people. The 4.6l 3V V8 is really strong, and gives great passing power. The 6 speed transmission leaves a bit to be desired. I think it holds 1st gear too long, and has a tip-in hesitation (TSB 8-24-4 helps, but does not eliminate it).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Family Car

by Sign Man Joe from Manasquan, NJ | April 23, 2012

Had a family memeber close to Chicago inspect and drive my vehicle, prior to purchase. Great overall experience with the entire deal. Including shipment of vehicle from Illinios to NJ.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've owned!

by Sue from South Dakota | March 5, 2012

I love this SUV, it has lots of room, it looks divine and stylish. I have never had any issues.. Mine is now 120K and I have driven it everywhere in all weather conditions. When I started noticing it was not getting good gas mileage the mechanic tuned it and it keeps running very well. It drives smooth and has been overall the best purchase Ive ever made!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Mercury

by Flash Gordon from | December 6, 2011

This is a great family vehicle for my hectic life with three boys. I could give a 6'5" guy a little more room in the interior but it has been a great purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Suv for the family

by Lando from up north from minneapolis, Mn | September 12, 2011

I bought a used 2006 mountineer about 6 months ago. Mine has the luxury awd with the 4.0 v6. I get 17.5 to 18.8 mpg in the city and 21 to 23.2 mpg on the hwy. we recently took it to chicago from minneapolis..with 6 people in it and all their gear...doing 75 with the air on and we got 22.5 mpg down there and 22.9 mpg on the way back. If you get this rig, get the v6 as the mpg is great for an suv with a third row seat. this truck is very comfortable after i got new shocks put in rear...thats the only complaint is the rear shocks have to be replaced every 3years or 60k miles or the ride suffers...but on the other hand the awd is great....this is the best suv for the winter...its great in snow and rugged enough to take deer hunting...handles and offroads as good if not better then most suv including jeeps(as i pulled one out last hunting season)..best part of all with the styling and rear a/c or heat and third row its great transportation for the family..its comfortable, reliable,safe, and great in any weather!! i would buy another one for sure...but this one only has 74k so maybe when its got 200k...hope this helps...good suv for the family and winter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Yup

by Tron from Iowa City, IA | January 18, 2010

Not a bad ride. Handles way better than I expected. The gas usage is a bit high but you have to expect that with a V8.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BEST CAR I EVER OWNED

by SUV MANIAC from PISCATAWAY, NJ | May 9, 2009

THIS CAR IS THE BEST CAR TO EVER HAVE. IT'S GOOD ON GAS AND ITS GREAT FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY. I AM GOING TO PASS THE CAR DOWN TO MY SON.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great 1st impression

by Family Man from PA | November 1, 2008

Just purchased a used 2006 Mountaineer. Very comfortable ride, peppy V8 engine, loaded with features. Controls are well laid out and easy to read. Navigation unit is great. Incredible deals on these are all around. Who can complain about a $38,000 SUV for $16,000? Will follow up on Reliability after we drive it awhile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Would buy it again!

by Nana from Orlando | October 19, 2007

Overall we are pleased with all aspects of vehicle. Had trouble with seal on moonroof but seems to be fixed. Love 3rd row seating and overall style of car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Mountaineer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.