1993 Mercury Sable

Change Vehicle

1993 Mercury Sable

Available in 4 styles:  Sable 4dr sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
Get Value

Est. MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Reliable

by KK from Montreal | January 17, 2014

This car starts up every time. I just reached 300,000Km and it's still running strong. Original motor and transmission. Great winter beater. The interior looks amazing, and its very spacious, however the outside has begun to rust (lower trim and doors) but this is to be expected from an old car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Station wagons are cool after all!

by Judged a book by it's cover from New York | March 9, 2011

This car has been very reliable throughout a viscous winter. The previous owner said he had another he had gotten over 200k out of.He used this car to tow his tractor and said he ran it hard. Initially blew off the possibility of buying this car, thinking station wagons are so outdated.Body is in great shape except for some rusting near lower trim area.Grandkids love the 3rd row seat facing backwards.Can fit 4' by 8' lumber in it. Love that unlike newer model cars, you can judge parking distances easily by seeing the front and back of the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS CAR!!

by car_lover from Lansing | March 18, 2010

Very reliable, the paint chips off a little, but to be expected. Lasting a very long time especially with reg oil changes. I love all the features for comfort and it is inexpensive to fix! I own this car and my dad owns the 97 model. Keeps going and going.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


What a piece of garbage

by merc sab from | February 3, 2010

always had another problem and couldn't keep it out of the shop. i wouldnt give this car to my worst enemy. head gasket blew and then shortly after transmission burnt up. i hate this car with every bone in my body. but the interior was nice

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Car I bought for my family

by Family Man from kansas from Kansas | January 31, 2010

I had bought the car from a indivual back in October of 2009 for My family im starting. The man told me what all had been done to it an said there are a few minor things wrong like a hole in the exhaust but i could hardly hear it. two months after owning the car it started giving me problems so i replaced the egnition switch didn't fix it Started thinking it was the fuel pump. So i contacted the man I had bought it from and we discussed what other problems it had and found out it may be the fuel relay switch. So, Got the part and installed it in a short 15 minute job and since then the car hasn't gave a problem. Other than that the car is a very depenedable one does great on gas just wish it was a little bit spacery due to me being a tall man.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best money I ever spent

by flyingscot from New Jersey | November 27, 2009

I've had this car for several years. It's been the most reliable car I've ever owned. Made 3 long trips from NJ to Fla. this year without a problem. 151,000 miles now ! Still going strong. 27 MPG !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good value -- easy on gas

by grantsmanship from Texas | February 3, 2009

I have one of these for a commuter car. The V6 is fairly peppy, but noisy. Like all fords, there is steering pump noise, but not bad. No major problems, but it is an old car so you never know. I like a car like this to commute in because it's fairly safe and economical. When I wear this one out I'll go find another.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not the most reliable car I have ever owned

by Average Jane from Ohio | March 15, 2008

Bought this car used. Shortly after driving off lot after purchase, check engine light comes on. Their mechanic not find anything wrong, reset the light. Within six months, started having problem with the car not starting after going a couple places, turning car off, and then it will not restart for anywhere between 10 minutes and one hour. Had to have towed two or three times. Finally, replaced fuel pump. Did not fix problem. Had to replace water pump around same time. Still have problem occationally. Then yesterday, car totally died - no warning - while driving down the road. Pushed off into parking lot. Next day it started up and took it home. Now it sits until I can figure out what is wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Sable

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.