2003 Mercury Sable

Change Vehicle

2003 Mercury Sable

Available in 6 styles:  2003 Mercury Sable 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$4,350–$5,475

Est. MPG

19–20 city / 26–28 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Died after 100,000 miles.

by Mercury- Boo from Los Angeles, CA | December 28, 2013

Like every other American car I've owned, this one's transmission went out at 100,000 miles. Prior to that, it was noticeably a bit sloppy, which is a common complaint with these cars. I bought the car in 2010 and had it for under two years. The engine ran very strong. I had the LS Premium with the DOHC. It felt like it provided a lot more than 200 horses. I had no problems with the engine, other than some minor stuff--a leaky oil pan, for instance. Another thing--this car feels a lot bigger and heavier than it appears. The doors feel like they're 200 pounds when you open them. It's kind of a tank. I had the premium stereo and the multi-disc player. It was okay, but nothing special. A couple of the lights went out on the stereo and I would have had to replace the whole thing to fix them. Too much bass caused the speakers noticeable grief. Good for 2003, I guess. I also liked the adjustable pedals--pretty cool. There's a switch next to the seat that raises or lowers the gas and brake pedal. The seats are very comfy and the interior is roomy. It's great on the freeway and not bad-looking, but if you run into a major problem, it's not worth the cost of repair, so I can't recommend it. I ended up selling mine with a busted transmission for $500 or so to a mechanic. All things considered, you might as well buy an old Jaguar.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Reliability Extraordinaire!

by PumpkinHead from Raleigh, NC | January 24, 2013

Bought this Sable LS Premium in Spring of 2006 with 32,000 miles from a national used car chain CM. I now have 157,000 miles on it and have done nothing but maintenance. I have run Amsoil & Mobil1 oil in it since I got it and changed the oil every 6,000-9,000 miles This car has amazed me for it's value & reliability. It has plenty of get-up-and-go, has solid, stable handling, a reasonably quiet ride, is quite comfortable & roomy, has a big trunk and a nice complement of features. On the highway I get 25mpg and 21mpg combined even though I usually drive like i'm going to a fire ;-) I have kept good tires on it and gotten 65,000 from each set (65 from the orig OEM Continental Contacts, 65 from the Yokohoma Avid TZR and have almost 30 on this set of Toyo Versado LX and they still have lots of tread left). This Sable (and its counterpart, the Taurus) would make a great 1st car for a teen or as a daily driver for anyone. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Overall best car I've ever owned

by CLE Guy from Cleveland, OH | February 23, 2011

The 2003 Mercury Sable LS Premium Wagon offers a blend of practicality, reliability and comfort that is extraordinary. For a family, the car seats 8, more than most minivans and does it with style and capability. The LS wagon has great features including, leather, ABS brakes, traction control, 16-inch wheels, driver, passenger, side air bags, premium sound and many have a power moonroof. The car is also very reliable, it runs well in any weather.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


the worst vehicle I have ever driven

by unsatisfied customer from queens ny | September 11, 2010

this car was and still is a lemon to say the least. the ac,turn signal,locks and engine were no good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2003 Mercury Sable

by Joe from West Chester, PA | April 22, 2010

I own and drive daily, a 2003 Mercury Sable LS with 185,000 miles on it. It looks and feels like a brand new car. I have never owned a car that held up as well as this car has.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Real good car

by happy george from Ft. Worth, TX | January 23, 2010

Bought Sept. 08 very reliable. Only fault is the roof line could be 2 inches higher to make it easier to get into. Most newer cars have the same problem. Drove 86 Cad DeVille fo 12 years before this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I just bought it!!!

by sablette from Baton Rouge, la | August 23, 2009

It is very nice!!! Woodgrain and leather, the sound system is nice!!! It drives well also!! I feel I made a great choice!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


1 of the nicer vehicles out there

by penn-guy from Pittsburgh, PA | May 26, 2009

I dunno, I dig the styling of this car. Very complete design, a beauty in black and a rear spoiler. Lovely wheels. Nice quality and full of options, roomy trunk, great visibility, quiet efficient engine. What more could you want really? (One thing, at this point all the cars should have CD/mp3/ipod capable audio systems standard!)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Refined Automobile - Luxury Car

by Happy Owner of Sable from NY, NY | April 28, 2009

I have the Sable LS Premium. This is loaded with every option. Solid car is very quiet on the highway. It has a very good powertrain, very smooth and the steering is very precise. It is a fairly big car, but it is enjoyable to drive. I bought the car with about 45,000 miles on it, and it has been reliable, with nothing required by regular maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


excellent transportation

by happy1 from Fort Worth, Texas | April 17, 2009

Got rid of 86 Cad. had for 12 years. Drove this Merc. and knew it was the best value. Not as good riding as Cad. but, all cheaper cars don't ride good either. Merc. is solid, no rattles,etc. Has 112000 and as a used car its a good value. Owned for 2 yrs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Sable

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.