2005 Mercury Sable

Change Vehicle
2005 Mercury Sable

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2005 Mercury Sable 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,170–$9,794
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 6 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-6 of 6 reviews

First Car

by Sable Owner from Detroit, MI | May 15, 2014

My Sable is my first car. My dad works for a Lincoln dealership, and was able to procure it for very cheap about a year ago. She was quite beat up when I got her, but I poured my heart and soul into restoring her. I take care of her, and she takes great care of me. She is super responsive and safe. I always feel comfortable driving her. For an older car, the Sable is pretty good looking if you take care of it. The interior is not all that stylish, but is extremely functional and comfortable. With the 3.0 DOHC, the car can surprisingly get up and go quite easily. As far as maintenance goes, there is little to none. A very reliable car. My only complaint is that the ride quality isn't so great when compared to some other cars. But, if you aren't in a state filled with potholes ( *cough, Michigan), you will be pretty happy. If you are looking for a great all-around used car for everyday life, I would keep the Sable in mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


much power

by mark from maine from Maine | April 24, 2012

This little car has a great deal of spunk and is well appointed. No problems yet. I would recommend this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent Car for the Money

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Indiana | October 7, 2011

This is the least expensive car I've owned in 20 years and it has been the most reliable one as well. Just a gret value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


good power

by spank from maine | August 12, 2011

The 24 valve engine will move this little car real well. They are costing what a regular taurus does and you get a lot more car. It is pretty well loaded. Sits pretty low to the ground which i do not like also I am a little tall and my head rubs the roof. But I do like the car and the way it drives

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A stylish, stylish car and a great running vehicle

by New to the scene car enthusiast from Syracuse, NY | April 26, 2011

My parents bought this car new 6 years ago. They bought a Fusion last year and they lent me this car for my senior year of college. I still drive this car to and from work and school and I am more than pleased with it. The first thing I can say is it is incredibly stylish. My dad and I stare in awe of it every time we look out the window to see it in our driveway. We love the exterior styling. I'm sure that in 20-30 years from now that people will turn their heads when this car rolls down the street. As for performance, I am also pleased. We have had few troubles outside of general maintenance. It has passed 78,000 miles and it still runs great. The gas mileage is about par for the course, I usually get between 19-21 MPG in general driving. The only real problem that bugs me is that the hubcaps, which are also stylish, started losing their paint almost immediately. Other than that no major qualms. I would recommend this car in a heartbeat and I will be sad when I have to give it back to my parents

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


waiting for something to go wrong

by nfmnh from New Hampshire | May 20, 2009

bought this car used in 2006 with 10,000 miles on it. Currently have 65,000 miles on it and have do nothing in the way of repairs. Only have changed the fluids and just put on 4 new tires. If Detroit built cars like this on the last 30 years they would have no problems, real or perceived, in regards to quality. would recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone. have the GS model with Flexfuel V-6

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-6 of 6 reviews

Featured Services for this Mercury Sable

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.