2011 MINI Cooper Countryman

Change Vehicle
2011 MINI Cooper Countryman

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2011 MINI Cooper Countryman 4dr FWD Sports Activity Vehicle shown
Asking Price Range
$15,724–$24,092
Estimated MPG

27 city / 35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

The skinny on the Mini Countryman! Great Car!

by Mini Me from Louisiana | March 23, 2014

From the moment you slip behind the wheel you will love the Mini Cooper Countryman. It just has a great 'feel' to it. This car has great get up and go and if you need a little extra boost just flip the stick shift over into manual or push the sport button and you will instantly feel the extra power. The steering is tight and it will turn on a dime. It is a great car and is very roomy for a Mini. Great trunk space. Love the perks of the Premium package...especially the heated leather seats. If you haven't driven a Mini Countryman, take one for a test drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


MINI's do belong in the MITTEN

by First time MINI owner from Williamston, MI | November 19, 2013

Bought my first MINI Countryman and I love it. Don Massey Cadillac in Plymouth, MI had a 2011 used MINI and I drove it and loved it. Jack the salesman was wonderful. I went in to buy the SRX and left with the MINI. Have no regrets, loved the experience at Don Massey even Chris in finance was helpful and the manager Eric was making sure I was COMPLETLEY Satisfied. I am loving the gas mileage with the MINI. Thanks DON MASSEY in Plymouth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I LOVE Minis, but not this one.

by KGH from | September 19, 2012

I've been a Mini lover for years. I had a 2003 base Cooper for about five years and positively adored her. When the time came and she was just too small for my growing family it was a natural choice to move up to the Countryman. I bought a brand new 2011 base Countryman and within a week I sorely regretted the purchase. The biggest problem was the handling. Whenever i hit a bump at just the right angle and acceleration the car would lurch to the side. Not sorta bump, but move over a full foot. I took it back to the dealer and they said that's just how it's designed to handle. That's right, a Mini, who's reputation is built on it's handling was designed to bump you off the road when you hit a bump on a curve (think expansion joints on on-ramps). But i figured i was stuck with the car, so I simply adjusted my driving style. Every unfamiliar bump became scary. Also, the base Countryman has positively no power. I was getting passed on the hills by tractor trailers. No more racing in and out of traffic in this baby (ok, that's probably a good thing). Interior "styling"? Eh. I like the middle speedo that is a Mini signature, but the overall design made no sense. The moveable accessories for the center rail? They barely all fit, and only the sunglasses case fits under the e-brake, which takes up 70% of the front rail. The cup holders are obnoxiously large on the outside, but hold little on the inside. THey are probably 7 inches across, yet barely hold a soda can. PLUS, the prongs inside the cupholders seem to be upside down, making it nearly impossible to gently slide your cup in. And don't get me started on the windshield wiper controls. Twist for the back, but if you leave it "on" and turn off the car, you have to turn it off and then back on. Flick toward you for one swipe, flick away for intermittent, flick up for normal speed, flick up again for fast. 80% of the time i flicked the wrong way. Don't get me wrong, there are things about the car i liked. I like the Mini Speedo, and the concept of the center rail (not the execution!), the split back seats since i only transport adults it felt more grown up, and having more space than a base cooper was definitely a plus. And the sunroof. I'm a sucker for a big sunroof and Mini delivers. It is a very good looking car from the outside and definitely got some attention. Driving the car was very comfortable, but i did need a back boost because my upper legs were shorter than the depth of the seat (I'm 5'2"). The service of Mini dealers is pretty good. They put up with a multitude of complaints from me about the steering and gave me new tires (they didn't help). In the end, my love of not being afraid while i drove won over my love of Minis and after about 18 months I traded her in for a VW Tiguan. Would I recommend a Countryman? Only to someone who has spent a lot of time in one before committing to buy. You need to know that this car will work for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Well Designed Car

by Speedy from Lehigh Valley | April 18, 2012

This car was designed by the the owner who is in love with it. Unfortunately it only has 3 pass seats and 4 are needed. The drive, color, comfort is excellent- this from a 285 lb 6"4' man. The navigation is the best feature with quick traffic information and will automatically reroute if in a jam. Sirius XM is already in the car for long distances and auto dimming mirrors at night is the second to best feature. Overall in love with Countryman but addition of family member won't fit without the third back seat

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Run away. Run far, far away.

by My Last Mini from Upstate New York | January 5, 2012

I bought this car new, with AWD, after owning a 2007 Mini Cooper which I adored, and which was in the shop exactly once in four years. I sold that one and bought a new Countryman ahead of a move to more rugged terrain for which the AWD would be useful to have. I had second thoughts about buying a new car with no dealerships nearby for service, but my previous Mini was so reliable that I told myself not to worry about it. Ha. I'll spare you guys the order of events, but suffice it to say that my six month old car has now been in three different Northeast dealerships on five separate occasions for - gosh - six? different problems. These range from the annoyingly inconvenient (passenger side window won't go down unless button is punched repeatedly - a repair that two dealerships have now failed to make - one of which returned the car to me having also knocked out the satellite radio, which then needed to be replaced) to the totally ridiculous (black smoke pouring out from under hood due to clutch death - at under 10,000 miles). Upshot: it's an adorable car, it's very fun to drive, it's pretty great having four doors, and would be a terrific car if it weren't so frustratingly unreliable. My impression is that it's a new model that has been overdesigned/computerized, so that when one small thing goes wrong, it's both overly sensitive and difficult to fix. If you are determined to get one, I say WAIT. Wait, wait, wait another couple of model years. Also future model years are going to have five seats in the back, instead of two buckets. Do not, under any circumstances, buy a 2011 Countryman. Unless you want to buy mine.....?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great!

by Mini SUV from Md | January 4, 2012

Great, wonderful, Awesome, you must buy it! Snow, Rain, dry pavement doesn't matter, it handles like a top! Very Comfy great gas miles, stereo, roof!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


AWESOME

by Cars from Md | October 28, 2011

This car is a blast...You must try it and you will llove it. It handles very well and is like nothing else on the road. It is a cure to the board driver!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nicest Mini Yet!

by Kdragon from Austin, TExas | July 29, 2011

The last reviewer "GymBuddy" gave an excellent review. Very thorough and seems truely passionate about his new Cooper. As with any new model, there will be some quirks to work through. All in all I am happy with the car and expect Mini to address some of the concerns the last reviewer had.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Countryman drives and feels like a Jeep

by GymBuddy from Austin, TX | July 21, 2011

Here is the list rather than write a long explanation: BAD: -Stationary Cup Holder location (front)-too small for all but exact fitting cups. Spring loaded holders tear styrofoam cups. -Removable cup holders-too wide externally to fit in front rail. Emergency Brake cant fully engage. -Cell phone holder is a joke. Not very user friendly. Opt for different options- don’t get the cellphone, sunglass or cup holders-waste of money, mine came included at no charge but heard they are options. -Sun visors are too small and don't cover enough of side window. Are not adjustable to slide, like in a volkswagon or kia. -AC vents sit back in hole and when turned down to cool body, only hits upper chest and not the body. -Window controls are awkward and have to take eye off road to see which ones control which window. -Rear view mirror hangs lower than expected and not adjustable (move back up against glass) and blocks traffic light view- have to move my head to look around rearview. Plastic housing is too wide. I removed to increase view-helps some. -Glove box is square box and everything falls out when open unless its contents are completely flat. Dealer options include shelves, but takes up lots of space. AC in glove box serves no real purpose. -Difficult viewing out rear window with rear head rest. Dealer option is rear sensor-no camera, add another $1,000k -Rear seats do not fold flat and have to adjust front seats forward. Awkward method to engage. Have to reach into vehicle and pull strap from inside -Poor interior night time lighting in trunk. -RIDE: Very Choppy. Dont be fooled by salesman about performance. My Kia Rio had a smoother ride. Lots of pings, loudly, over small potholes and rough road. Lots and lots of road noise heard under the vehicle in the back seats while I was driving. Sounds like a tin can. -TRANSMISSION (Automatic) : There is a about a 1.5 second delay from complete stop to start if you try to jack-rabbit the gas pedal when, for example, pulling out into traffic or trying to make a quick turn from oncoming traffic. MUST have a rolling start in this situation. Tester Vehicle from lot has been broken in 10k miles. Mine new and still problem with delay at 3k(2 months). Test drive in stop and go traffic NOT just on the highway!!! I drive with the DSC (traction control) off, per salesmans’ suggestion, to increase responsiveness of transmission. Helps some but now a safety concern. -Next the car transitions between gears very rough when driving in downtown traffic that makes it feel like you’re in a stick shift. Don't be surprised if you think you’re getting motion sickness because until you get used to the vehicle, thats what happens. -Backing up, there is also a delay, almost like the vehicle is thinking before the transmission is engaged. -Side mirrors are position too low on the doors. They need to move up about an inch in next model. -City/Highway driving after 3000 miles is about 22 MPG. Highway driving is about 27 MPG. Far below what the sticker says. -Insurance rate will most like go up because parts are VERY expensive, per State Farm. -Not made for towing anything at all or worth the $600 bike rack option on the rear. Bike Roof rack decreases mileage significantly -Radio features are not touch screen but have to use a mouse-like dial. Takes some getting used to and still not all that great. -Sun roof has no panel to close off light from coming in just the screen. In hot sun car gets hot because it never covers completely. Don’t park in sun with moon roof or prepare to bake. Takes long time to cool down car. -Shifter panels on steering wheel are awkward. -Not enough compartment space in front or rear to hold stuff. -Rear brake lights lowly dimmed during the day. Hard to see brake lights if sun light is hitting them until you are up close. -No lock on glove box. -No beep on security door lock with remote, just flashing parking lights. -Opening door from inside, you have to pull twice. Overall-Definitely over priced. Try leasing, not buying. Opt for the 48 month lease if you can for lower payments. 1st generation model has room for lots of refinement. -Plastic on bumper really soft plastic. you can push your fingernail into plastic and make a mark. GOOD Overall styling and size. Looks cool. -Good for long distance driving. Seats are firm. -Signal lights are bright on side. -Lots of head room. -Windshield wipers will slow down if at stop light and return to fast speed once get moving-Great Feature.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2011 MINI Cooper Countryman.


Featured Services for this MINI Cooper Countryman

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.