2002 MINI Cooper S

Change Vehicle
2002 MINI Cooper S
Available in 1 styles:  2002 MINI Cooper 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$4,758–$10,054
Estimated MPG

24 city / 33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Mini with all of the amenities

by Traceylynn from Middlebury, VT | February 14, 2013

I recently purchased a 2002 Mini Cooper S standard with low mileage (believe it or not) for my Mom, I am currently her chauffeur due to her being in a wheel chair but she loves to get out of it and into a regular seat and she is short and wants to try and do things herself (she needed a lower to the ground car because she is short and stubborn) so the Mini came to mind, it is loaded and was garaged most of its life. The car is a dream and has been put through a lot of mileage from me due to my work travels and traveling to care for my Mom, it has not failed us and still looks great for how old it is. I recommend this car for anyone who loves a standard and to feel like you are on the road instead of wondering whether you are on the road. Mom and I became true Mini peeps!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


02 Mini Cooper S

by fleazilla from Roanoke | November 2, 2010

This car is a double edged sword, It is probably the coolest gadgety go-kart like mean machine i've ever driven and owned and still own.. Good gas Mph, great reflexes and even a DSC control to help stabilize driving, of witch you can switch off when you want to burn up the asphalt.. you will end up with a bit of MOD-ititas! there are so many ways to add your own personality and doing what ever you want with this car.. On the other hand I've had to replace a power steering pump and now my radiator fan is making a funny noise,had to replace a power window motor and I'm left wondering whats next? So reliability is questionable? To be fair it is an 02,But it only has 60,000 miles on it.. in the end I'm saying I love this car more than any car I've owned previously but if you can't afford something going up in it every so often and can't work on it your self I'd probably recommend A Mazda,Honda,or Toyota..but for the fun and passion in this vehicle you will not find it in any of these except the Mini and they keep getting cooler! Do your research on the Forums! theres a lot of bad as well as good..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned

by Cotton from Westchester, NY | April 22, 2008

I can't wait til my next drive. Overall: The Mini Cooper S is built excellently, inside and out. The car has a very solid feel to it (no cheap Honda sheet metal here). Even though it is technically one of the smallest cars on the US market, if not the smallest, when driving it has a very spacious feel to it. It really doesn't feel like you're driving such a small car. Cargo space is not tremendous, the rear seats do fold down to provide a lot more room, but let's face it, the car is a Mini (not meant to carry house and home). The car overall is certainly worth the money and I personally would consider it a steal as far as what you get for your money. Drivetrain: The supercharged 1.6L I4 supplies 163hp and around 150 ft lbs of torque, which are respectable numbers for such a small engine. Stock the Mini can hold it's own and the supercharger whine is addicting. There are tons of engine upgrades that can be added to enhance the driving experience, (reducing the size of the supercharger pulley can give 15-20 more horsepower) but in many cases are not required. The 6-speed Getrag manual transmission shifts beautifully. Great setup overall. Styling: Both inside and out the car has an expensive feel whose English and German roots can be seen quite clearly. Handling/Driving Experience: The car handles like no other, no if ands or buts. If handling is your forte, don't delay and buy a Mini. Very sporty, it can do things that other, much more expensive cars, can only dream about.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Unreliable car I've owned

by 02 MCS from Ft. Worth, TX | November 30, 2007

I haven't had this car for very long & have had nothing but problems with it. Research this car long and hard before you buy one. Search Mini Cooper forums online and see what kind of problems people have. Very costly to fix. If you just have money to burn then this would be a great car for you!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Zippy whiptastic handling

by Mini cooper driver from Salinas, CA | June 10, 2007

This car is quite zippy and with a very affordable pricetag and many standard features it is a very nice car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


wow is it a mini?

by The amazing car genius from indianapolis, IN | December 13, 2006

Wow ultra quick! Super popular! Mini. Great comfort! And Super features! Like sunroof and spoiler and its color and more! Add acessories! Stripes! Wow! 150 top speed. A bunch of horepower and Kaboom. You get the Mini Cooper S!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Wow... Mini is it!

by Roger from Washington, D.C. | June 4, 2006

"Live large, drive small" .. catchy phrase, but having a Mini Cooper S makes this a reality! I bought a used 2002 Cooper S from a dealer w/30K miles and I am loving every aspect of this vehicle! It drives unbelieveably well, the interior is very clever and interesting to look at, and BMW has brought real "rigor" and quality to the Mini. Many years ago I owned a '68 MGB roadster. The Mini, amazingly, has many of the same sensations as that car, but it is 21st century in all the important areas. Get one, you won't regret it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this MINI Cooper S

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.