2005 MINI Cooper S

Change Vehicle

2005 MINI Cooper S

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2005 MINI Cooper S 2dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$6,615–$14,127

Estimated MPG

25 city / 32 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

Lemon

by spiderLemon from St. Paul Mn. | November 20, 2013

I would not wish a Mini Cooper on my worst enemy. We bought 2005 Mini new, and paid $6000 more than a comparable Toyota or Honda, but the styling and hype convinced us it was a good purchase. Eight thousand dollars, and 160.000 miles later we were just told that we need a new engine and catalytic converter to the tune of $9000. We have gone from one expensive break down to the next, do not buy this car!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


great car and fun to drive

by cb63sk from DALLAS TX | March 20, 2013

The only down fall I see to this car, is that it takes SUPER unleaded. ( and the fact i can't drive it right now. shoulder surgery ) I have read that the "S" are unreliable. But that, that is a hit or miss. It all depends on if it is a Monday or Friday built car ( ;( ) Or a Tuesday thur Thursday car. ( ;) ) And how you treat it. But i'm hoping this is the Tues-Thurs built car. And that I can put 200,00 + miles on it before it becomes a parts car for someone else. I have only had it for a month. So i will add more comments where I can. HAPPY MOTORING.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best car ive owned

by sport car enthusiast from Longmeadow,MA | January 11, 2013

not the fastest ive owned,not the most comfotable ive owned,but by far the most fun to drive car ive owned,i have owned over 100+ cars,so i have had a little experiance with various cars and trucks.well built,handles like an adult go-kart.don't judge until you drive one-AWESOME CAR!!!!!!......will never sell this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun, Fun Driving!

by Kitty from Louisville | January 6, 2013

I have only had my little 2005 Mini S for over a month, but this is the most fun I have had driving for a long time. It holds to the curves, is easy shifting, and gets stares all over town. I had been researching mini's for two years and finally traded in my nine year old Accord and have never regretted it for a second.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


fun car

by loco mini from Diamnd Bar, CA. | September 10, 2012

This car will fit in almost any spot. So much fun with a little zip to it. I cant go in the car pool lane by myself but getting through traffic is soo easy with the handling that it has.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Adult Gocart On Steroids

by Mopariam from Hoschton,Ga | August 14, 2012

Great vehicle. Fun to drive no negitive responces from other owners. I own several vehicles including a limited addition 09 G8 GXP 6.2 415 hp Pontiac. I like to drive my mini cooper s better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Sporty Convertible

by Scott F from Torrington CT | April 23, 2012

We have only had the car for a month or so after purchasing with 41k miles on it. This car is for my wife to drive during the summer to not put miles on her 3 Series BMW. So far the car is great, fun to drive and decent fuel mileage. We have only had the top down a couple of times but it's so simple to operate, it does everything with the push of one button. We just upgraded the stereo to a Pioneer so we can have blue tooth, ipod, etc.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun new sports car

by MINI FAN from Minden, NV | December 12, 2011

I purchased this car as a replacement for my 1989 Suzuki Sidekick, which has over 200K miles on it. I was considering getting another Suzuki (my third), but saw the Mini at a sports car event, and decided to test drive one. It was super fun to drive, and I was able to find one with all the options I wanted, plus a lot more for a really reasonable price, and it was within a 2-hour drive from my home. I have had it for almost 3 months, taken it on one long trip already, and it is a great little car, and comfortable to drive all day long! It would be nice to have a connection for an MP3 player, but other than that, it has all the features that I really wanted. Living in northern Nevada, we had to have the Cold Weather Package, and we also wanted the Sports Package. The car we purchased also has a sun roof and the premium sound package, which is pretty amazing. Having to use premium gasoline is a compromise, but it does get over 30mph as long as you keep your foot off the gas. We are looking forward to some twisty mountain roads and sports car event to test out the performance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bought for my wife as a birthday present

by MiniMan from Lancaster, PA | February 15, 2011

She loves it. Fast, low. Drives like a go-cart. Pretty stiff suspension, so you feel the road. We can even fit two car seats in the back for the kids, but there is not much leg room for them. Pretty nice in the front, though. Maybe, someday, she'll let me drive it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


JCW Cooper S Convertible - quick, fun, and cheeky.

by SHNOOL from Wilkes-Barre, PA | November 10, 2010

I use cheeky because, well even though it is 75% BMW, that 25% is so British.. Car is fast, fun, and well appointed. Looks great, always turns heads. People are amazed that my 6'2" self even fits. It is 0-62 in 6 seconds. That is pretty quick for an econobox. Mileage is over estimated. It is truly about 29 highway. I say about, but it is because I can't keep my foot off the accelerator. RUN FLAT tires - stink... brutal ride... sound horrible on the road. No spare. Battery in the boot (yep too much top gear for me). Otherwise a really fun car though, the 1 button top down is neat (even the 1 button on the remote). The sunroof option is also neat. Too many options and buttons to remember, but that is fun!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this MINI Cooper S

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.