2002 MINI Cooper

Change Vehicle
2002 MINI Cooper

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2002 MINI Cooper 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$4,371–$10,087
Estimated MPG

27 city / 37 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great Car

by Warmeat from | July 27, 2012

35$ fills up the gas tank, people always stare at this car and it drives amazing, it's like a hybrid but with power, anytime i pass another driver in my Mini they wave most of the time, i love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


sold on the minis

by Baileys Mom from Bassett,VA | June 11, 2012

Best downsize for the money. Reliability of the BMW and size and gas mileage of a VW Highly recommend for those who want dependability combined with fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


cant wait to get rid of it!

by mini sucks from Tampa FL | April 14, 2012

Have had to replace the AC system twice in 60,000 miles. Lots of electrical issues. Only good thing I can say is the fuel economy is great...when it runs. Always worrying I will end up stranded...I have been trapped in the vehicle 3 times due to AC and electrical failures. In 110 degrees interior heat from Florida weather I had to pull over and to get out of the car after shutting it off for ten minutes which allowed the electrical to reset...MINI service sucks just as much. They know they have the market on repairs and could care less about getting to your car anytime soon. They told me this year cant run the AC and struggles under HP when you do. Have to shut it off when stopped...and still cant explain the electrical defects in hot weather.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Not Japan Quality but fun to drive

by czrooster from Indiana | January 2, 2011

We have owned a 2002 for the last three years with less than 60,000 miles. Besides the basic tires etc. the car needed a seat repaired because of poor design and of course the price was very high, nearly $900. Front bearings are going out to the tune of $350 per side. These things dont happen on a Toyota or Honda let alone a GM car now days. The car is great fun to drive and being a cult car gives one a good feeling being a part of the community. Expect to pay for the lessor quality of the product vs. say a Toyota or Honda. Sad considering it is built by BMW. Now days one expects nearly years of flawless performance from a car. Nice start but needs further refinement.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by CB from | October 21, 2009

Awsome to drive! Fun and sport! Very responsive and furl efficient! Its a pleasure to drive, in the city as well as on the highway! A real head turner! Awsome fit for todays high fuel prices!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Fun car

by Fan from Louisville, KY | December 1, 2008

I appreciate this car's abilities and performance. When I bought this car it had a problem with the exhaust pipe, evidently a manufacture's flaw. I replace it and have had very little problems. I did have a factory recall though on the electrical for the air bags.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


I love my MINI!

by Mini Driver 2002 from Boston, MA | November 24, 2007

I am thrilled with my MINI! I have had it since 2002 with no major problems and excellent gas mileage. The MINI is a blast to drive, is very agile, responsive and quick. I elected for the automatic transmission, which also comes with a clutchless shifting option, should you wish to mix things up. The interior is deceptively roomy and I have been able to seat 6' 3" men comfortably. I also have transported bikes, ladders and furniture in this car. If you are looking for something fun, affordable, and easy to drive, look no further.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


All the fun AND efficiency

by Sacramennah from Sacramento, CA | August 15, 2006

Bought this MINI brand new in '02 and have never looked back. The BMW full-service was fully responsive for the two minor malfunctions (seat handle, dead battery) I've experienced. It's very roomy for the front seat passengers, very comfortable, though stiff and bouncy for long drives, and an absolute thrill on a twisty road or a race track. Good mileage, a dream to park. Wish the Cooper didn't burn premium, but it's a small price. The car is simple, ingenious, well thought out and reliable. Oh yeah - it's a ball to drive and a head-turner, too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this MINI Cooper

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.