2006 MINI Cooper

Change Vehicle
2006 MINI Cooper
Available in 2 styles:  2006 MINI Cooper S 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$5,093–$12,909
Estimated MPG

27–28 city / 35–36 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

23 out of 25 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 25 reviews

LOVE MY CAR

by MINI COOPER S from Orlando, FL | July 24, 2012

I love my Mini so much. The exterior styling and overall performance are both outstanding. I upgraded the interior as I do not like the base trims. There are so many options. The car drives like no other (although, I do not recdommend run- flat tires as they provide a rough ride). I suggest getting the interior chrome package, double sunroofs and upgraded radio. I prefer leather or cloth seats, not vinyl. -- As soon as I am able - I am going to buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most fun on four wheels

by Gear Head from Pleasant Hill, MO | March 21, 2012

It isn't the car for everyone, but it has more room than you would think (I'm over six foot, and about 240lbs). The mileage is great, still about 32 on the highway. The fun factor is the best part. I did have to get rid of the run flat tires; too hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Like driving a Briggs & Stratton powered Skate!

by Demands Comfortable Performance from Blue Springs MO | January 2, 2012

You're like part of your Mini, going FAST exactly where you point it. ...and man is it FUN! Instrumentation and the on-board computer are sweet supelatives on this wildly exciting little pocket rocket. Premium fuel requirement? You won't mind; it's worth every couple of extra cents getting smooth 'meaningful' response to fuel injected; your Kumhos grippng ground like they are glued to it. Seat adjustabiity is great and with all of this you get amazing bragging rights to your fuel economy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


the best I ever own

by cccc from Riverbank,Calif | September 6, 2011

At the age of 62 , there is no other car for me , Ive had mustangs , vw . Both fast but not the quailty love my mini S with paddles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Funnest car... EVER!

by Dianne Mini from Denver, CO | August 30, 2011

All the bells and whistles my 2006 GT Mustang DIDN'T have. What a sheer pleasure it is to drive this car! I didn't get the turbo 'S' model, but am happy with the 34 mpg and the pep it has to get up the mountain. The only thing that 'bothers' me, if you will, is the narrow seating. Otherwise, it's a dream car. Everything I need to haul things back and forth to my business too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Love love love the Mini!

by Love British Cars from Virginia | August 8, 2011

Drivers seat adjusts very well so that long trips do NOT cause any back ache. Love the way the car responds. The only minus is the position of the front air vents. I average 30 mpg still after 5 years. The sun roof is massive, and more than compensates for not being a convertible. Fun to drive and surprisingly roomy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Took A Chance On A Mini Cooper

by Mini Lover from Dayton, Ohio | April 12, 2011

I've always kept an eye on a Mini Cooper, but would never move any further. In Dec. of 2010, started searching the internet and found a number in my region. Did the research, compared pricing and narrowed the field to an '06 Cooper. Drove it, loved it, bought it... I'm a very satisfied Mini Cooper owner :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good buy

by Footie from Washington DC | February 2, 2011

The mINI Cooper handles well. It grips the road on turns and does not guzzle gas. Cool looking and fits in any parking space. I love the car but tweaking the price would be nice for it being such a small car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2006 MCS

by jav from Phoenix, AZ | June 27, 2009

awesome car to motor in! Dumped the RFT's with some Goodyear Eagle GS-D3's! totally new car. the 06 MCS is "dialed" in!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Brilliant Little Car

by freakshow from Dallas, TX | March 11, 2009

Ever since I first saw a MINI years ago, I knew I had to have one. Well, just over 9 months ago I got my wish. I purchased a used 2006 Chili Red CVT Cooper with around 24K miles on it. Right off the bat, the handling was what I noticed. Turning corners are some of the most anticipated parts of jumping in the cockpit and turning the key. Acceleration (especially in Sport Drive mode) is acceptionally faster than most cars I've driven. Plus, it always turns at least a few heads while out and about. I don't know if they look because it's an updated icon, but I know that's what really gets me drooling. BMW really did an exceptional job in taking a legendary sports car and making it relevant, cute and sexy in the lightning fast 21st Century. Kudos. While the positive notes are always the most noticed by myself and passengers, there are a few down sides. Even though I use 93 Octane gasoline, there are some jerky moments. It's very noticeable in stop-and-go traffic. And I have had it checked, everything is perfectly normal with the car. Plus, the MPG is not that wonderful. I really have to take it slow to barely get over 30. One last thing that really bothers me is how easily the car gets dings. My windshield has at least 2 cracks and my bonnet (hood) has easily 4 times that many tiny chips. But overall, the good far outweights the negative when it comes to my bare-bones stock MINI Cooper. I honestly think I'll own it until I can't drive anymore.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 25 reviews

Featured Services for this MINI Cooper

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.