See Also: 2012 MINI Cooper

2012 MINI John Cooper Works

Change Vehicle
2012 MINI John Cooper Works

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2012 MINI John Cooper Works 2dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$12,781–$26,449
Estimated MPG

25 city / 33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Great Car

by gholley from Ontario, Canada. | November 6, 2013

Own this car for 2 years now. Driving in Ontario, Canada 1 hr drive every day one way. Never gets blown around in high winds, stuck to the ground through turns, and with winter tires makes this a mini plow. Never had any problems with engine or overheating. Had it on the track and only the high end BMW sport cars can keep up. Great on gas, fill up once a week for about $70 cnd. and runs for 700-800km off one tank. Super fun to drive, lots of looks, amazing car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2011 JCW

by patrick from Canada | October 23, 2013

This is my second Mini. I owned a Cooper S just prior to my JCW for 5 years. Overall Mini has the same engine issues and that they are just too lazy to fix. Example Temperature sensor which has been a quirk since earlier models. Bushings and associated parts on wheel assembly. They are fun cars to drive and hard to beat for handling. Zero trunk space though and very little room inside. The seats are like plywood and are not very comfortable. The styling though is second to none both inside and out. In terms of performance I don't see any big difference over the Cooper S and definitely not justified for the extra price. Example a VW GTI is very close on times/specs at considerably less coin. The new crossovers by Mini are plagued with Clutch problems. They kept the same engine and increased the size and weight of the vehicle and obviously on the weight transfer have clutch issues. Just being cheap. The JCW Countrymen is just a marketing ripoff altogether a definite DO NOT BUY. The hardtop JCW I own is OK and fun but in a few years I will dump it and it will not buy another Mini. After going on 8 years of owning a Mini combined, the novelty has worn off.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Fun car

by Ms mini from | July 14, 2013

The buying process was fast, was'nt there all day long. I'm very happy with my car! This is my forever car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


About My Baby

by Baby from Memphis, TN. | May 20, 2013

Have never had a car quite like a MINI Cooper before! For the price, gas mileage, safety and handling ability to "Hug The Road", this car has Got It! From the website to the showroom floor, MINI is Far Beyond the Rest. If you don't believe me, Go Test-Drive one for yourself & See!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2013 Base Mini Coupe

by orrink from Sherman Oaks, CA | March 20, 2013

Nice little car. Has bluetooth but cannot properly run an iPhone 5. Cute little sporty car for a youngster. Decent economy and easy to park.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


BMW 740I 1982

by skiball from Chicago | January 6, 2013

The car that fits everyone. I can load so much into it with seats down. It is a 6 speed which truly aquires 28 city and 38 Hy-way. Only has 4500 miles logged due to injury om my part. Willing to sell for another mini product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


terrible service and reliability

by never again from CT | November 20, 2012

Though very fun to drive and gets lots of positive attention, this car is very unreliable and has overheating issues. Buy extended warranty if your foolish enough to buy this car. DO NOT GET ONE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2012 JCW Hatchback

by Love the mini from New Jersey | October 1, 2012

This is my fourth mini, my first JCW, and I`d buy another. The best driving vehicle, even better than my old M3 and a lot cheaper. The biggest bang for the buck as far as I`m concerned. Also, I`ve been getting 40-41 mph highway...and I`m not a easy driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


best fun in great ride

by cs2009 from georgetown, sc | August 23, 2012

all good, some difficulty extracting 6'4" body from vehicle, but no worse than Karman Ghia I had for many years, and once behind the wheel, she is wonderful

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Mini Cooper junk

by frankb from Modesto | July 26, 2012

I rented this car just and over heated in the freeway never will buy one of this car just a pale of junk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this MINI John Cooper Works

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.